Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > FMA/Revolectrix Product Support


FMA/Revolectrix Product Support FMA/Revolectrix Factory Product Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2010, 08:34 PM   #41
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

One way to check, is to do a stationary piro, If the heli remains flat and level your setup is good
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 09:28 PM   #42
MatLi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 129
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Wink

Thanks for the tip. Will do that today - but first I had to take a photo - just in case things go wrong today
Check out my album if you like.



__________________
- Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vimeo: http://vimeo.com/rclogger
- Twitter: http://twitter.com/rclogger

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MatLi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 09:45 PM   #43
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Very nice bird

Might I make a suggestion or two...

Firstly. I would hot glue the connection of the VBar main sensor to the controller. They are noted to work loose during flights and if it does, there is no hope of saving your heli

Secondly, remove that mesh covering from the main sensor wire, it makes it too rigid and will transfer any vibrations back to the sensor.

This is how I laid my setup out...







__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 10:48 PM   #44
MatLi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 129
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Default

Yes, I did that modification on the sensors connector (http://www.helifreak.com/showpost.ph...9&postcount=52) and also added two cable ties to secure the sensor cable to the main frame in order to avoid vibrations to get transferred to the sensor module as much as possible.

Yesterday I had a huge amount of luck as I noticed some strange roll without stick input and after managing to get the bird down without hitting ground I figured out that the cable connecting my aileron servo to the vBar unit was very loose and forced the aileron servo to act strange. I have no idea why this could have gotten loose since there are one connector each on its left and right side. Maybe it happened during transport - but for sure I will keep an eye on it before I get the bird up in the air next time.

My main sensor connector sits very tight in the vBar unit so I am confident that the mod I applied should work just fine
__________________
- Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vimeo: http://vimeo.com/rclogger
- Twitter: http://twitter.com/rclogger

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MatLi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 10:20 PM   #45
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Thumbs up OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok folks,

Here's the skinny....

Finally got a decent enough day to test out the CPII/VBar Flybarless Stabilization system...

By the heli gods it works, this system is scary stable, it will level out your bird albeit a bit slower than a stock flybarred head and CPII, due to the gyro's controlling the swash.

But it functions quite good and is well behaved.
I'll be doing more flight testing but as of this moment I can say YIPPPEEEEE IT WORKS!!!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 10:28 PM   #46
neavissa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Default

YIPPPEEEEE!!!!!!! GOOD JOB AND THANKS, you are plowing the road for many of us! (is that too dramatic??? )

thanks,
G

p.s. do you think you can shoot a video at some point?
neavissa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:13 AM   #47
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neavissa View Post
YIPPPEEEEE!!!!!!! GOOD JOB AND THANKS, you are plowing the road for many of us! (is that too dramatic??? )

thanks,
G

p.s. do you think you can shoot a video at some point?
As soon as I get accustomed to this new system I will try to video it, for the moment I need to focus on how it flys and reacts.
Still some tweaking to do.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:16 AM   #48
neavissa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Default

Makes sense...
neavissa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 10:41 PM   #49
teb1963
Registered Users
 
Posts: 192
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Regina, (city that rhymes with fun)
Default

Hi Night, do you have anymore updates on CP2 working with FBL, you have helped me in the past with my 450 and I Love it . I have ordered a TREX 600 3G that shows to be delivered in the next couple days, and I am hoping to use another CP2. Any input is apreciated. Terry
teb1963 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 02:44 AM   #50
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teb1963 View Post
Hi Night, do you have anymore updates on CP2 working with FBL, you have helped me in the past with my 450 and I Love it . I have ordered a TREX 600 3G that shows to be delivered in the next couple days, and I am hoping to use another CP2. Any input is apreciated. Terry
I have already installed a 3G my 650 stretch along with a CPII and it has been functioning quite well.
My first suggestion would be to get the 3G setup and tuned before you try to hook up the CPII to it.
I am assuming your going to install this on a 600 class bird, take your time and triple check everything with the 3G installation
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 07:36 AM   #51
teb1963
Registered Users
 
Posts: 192
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Regina, (city that rhymes with fun)
Default

Thanks, I am relieved to here that it will work properley..Terry
teb1963 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:20 PM   #52
gobase
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Florida
Default

Im planning to install this on a Furion 450 that is already FBL with a Mikado Mini Vbar.
Im a little nervous, the wiring is a little intimidating to me.
And my bird is kind of small.

Have you guys tried the CPII with Mini VBar on a 450 heli?
__________________
Manny

MA Furion 450, Mikado Mini V-Bar, Scorpion 2221-8, 13T, CC Ice Lite 75A, --- Walkera 60#B, Stock Motor, Stock Servos, Stock Blades and Futaba GY520 (yes!) Spektrum DX7se.
And, CRAVING for a HENSELEIT TDR!!!!
gobase is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:29 PM   #53
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Sorry I haven't....
It was tough enough to fit all the hardware and configure the wiring on my 650 and 700.

But you have my blessings to try it on 450

Best of luck
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 10:54 PM   #54
SFACV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 808
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Default

nightflyr

Haven't been looking in the AP forums for a while now and just stumbled onto this thread. Great work integrating the 2 systems. You will be very happy with it once you get the kinks worked out. I have been using a L600 for the past year with V-Bar and that alone makes a world of difference. Just set up another L600 V-Bar as a backup, and for play. I won't own a flybar again. I was considering the HC Rigid when I went Flybarless but after doing some review it appeared that after 20 or so feet up the sensors didn't really help, it was more like heading hold gyros on the roll and pitch axis. I figured if that was the case I might as well stick with V-Bar because that is essentially what it is, only it is the most refined and tuneable one on the market. If you put the heli in a stable hover at 5 feet and climb till it is out of sight, it will not drift without wind. You can tame the heli far easier than a flybarred heli.

As for getting the recovery time a bit faster, bump up the cyclic agility a bit and hold on. You can make it respond as fast as you want. You could also set up bank switching and run it off the same channel as the one that activates your copilot, when the copilot is engaged it responds one way, when you are in control it responds another, depending on what is needed. I would suspect the copilot would want the heli a bit more responsive than you do. With a flybar you are dealing with expo and rates in your radio. The copilot doesn't see those, it has full access to normal rates. With the V-Bar, expecially if you dumbed it down, the copilot sees the same rates you do.

Have a great day.
__________________
Conway V
Scene From Above Photography

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gaui X7 Cameraship
SFACV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 03:05 AM   #55
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Thx for the info,

I did raise the agility a bit and also increase the gains on the CPII to compensate, I have to keep in mind that these are 700's and that they do not react as quickly as 450's, but I managed to get it to recover fairly quickly now.
Though to watch this 700 just sit where ever you put it is pretty funny, so stable now it will stay in place till the the timer goes off.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 11:04 AM   #56
SFACV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 808
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightflyr View Post
Thx for the info,

I did raise the agility a bit and also increase the gains on the CPII to compensate, I have to keep in mind that these are 700's and that they do not react as quickly as 450's, but I managed to get it to recover fairly quickly now.
Though to watch this 700 just sit where ever you put it is pretty funny, so stable now it will stay in place till the the timer goes off.
Technology is awesome isn't it, I was out beating on my Logo yesterday and just with the V-Bar I had it in an inverted hover approx. 6 feet up and literally took my hands off the controls for about 15 seconds before it started to drift. Had to see what it could do. I can't imagine what an actual position lock would be like. I am interested in the DJI stabilizer, I will be running the V-Bar as a stand alone until I am able to get my hands on one of those.
__________________
Conway V
Scene From Above Photography

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gaui X7 Cameraship
SFACV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 11:12 AM   #57
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wbird View Post
Technology is awesome isn't it, I was out beating on my Logo yesterday and just with the V-Bar I had it in an inverted hover approx. 6 feet up and literally took my hands off the controls for about 15 seconds before it started to drift. Had to see what it could do. I can't imagine what an actual position lock would be like. I am interested in the DJI stabilizer, I will be running the V-Bar as a stand alone until I am able to get my hands on one of those.
I read up on that unit, interesting ,BUT very costly, I'm holding out for something else
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 03:42 PM   #58
xxq111
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: norway
Default

preseting for v-bar ?
xxq111 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 04:25 PM   #59
nightflyr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,828
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxq111 View Post
preseting for v-bar ?
You'll need to install and set up VBar according to your helicopter and sensor placement.
Once test flown then you can move forward to adding the Copilot II
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 03:51 AM   #60
Elios000
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Springfield MO
Default

nice work sir
What you have just built is basicly a 3 axes Fly-by-wire system very cool
Elios000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > FMA/Revolectrix Product Support


FMA/Revolectrix Product Support FMA/Revolectrix Factory Product Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com