Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2010, 06:06 AM   #1
airskipper
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: norway
Red face Does someone not have problems with 3G FBL??

I have heard so mutch bad about the 3G!!:--((??

I have mounted one in my 700 nitro ,but not tried it yet!
I have:
trx700LE
os91hz
Rapicon 30%fuel
hatori pipe
reactor x with outrage 3600mah batt
switch glo pro
8717 servoes
8900 tail servo
ds 610 on throttle
fuelmagnet
align 690 blade
Multigov
3G FBL align system!!

do someone have some good to say about it??
I am alittle sceptical to take off or shoud i not be sceptical??
__________________
kjetil 79mod norway TREX 700 3G FBL
TREX 700 BeastXFBL
TREX 600 3G align
JR 11X
airskipper is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 06:13 AM   #2
Elgreco
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal
Default

Obviously there are a lot of reports about it but a lot more successful stories. Many have had good results.
I suggest you take it slowly, take the precautionary steps like securing the connectors (maybe some hot glue ?) and maybe powering the other 2 servos also from the rx, and you should be fine.

Unless you try, you don't know. I am setting up my first, have another in the box and a 3rd coming.
I rather see myself, than buy into all this. I am however doing the 2 things I mentioned just in case. It seems that these may be the 2 main reasons for what's happening.

My thoughts only ...
Elgreco is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:03 AM   #3
aussiemick
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,966
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brisbane Australia
Default

I have flown mine on my 600N for two days now, without any issues what so ever. I have watched EdvardR fly his 700 and 500 3G helis without problems of any kind, I have also flown his 500.

No reason for trepitation, fill er up and let it rip. Take the first flight a bit easy till you have the gains sorted, should only take 5 minutes. Then full steam ahead!!

I will be going out the next four days running and I reckon I will get at least 30 more flights on it by the end of the weekend.

For every bad story there are probably hundreds, if not thousands, of good stories.

Mick
__________________

aussiemick is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:35 AM   #4
heath9069
Registered Users
 
Posts: 343
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Default

I was a little worried after installing mine on my Trex 500, but after 5 flights and some fine tuning, I'm loving it.

Flips and rolls are quick, tight and locked in, not to mention the extra power from the reduced drag without the old flybar. On the whole the heli is a lot more nimble so its going to take a little time for me to adjust, but thats half the challenge/fun.

I'm just checking the plugs before every flight, but they seem pretty tight on my unit.

I get the occasion small oscialltion whilst hovering but I'm sure I'll tune it out eventually.

So far so good
__________________
TREX 450 SPORT - 3GX, SAVOX Servos, DS3400G
TREX 500 ESP - SK720, Hyperion HS3026-1600, ICE 75, BEC Pro, EDGE FBL, I2 Swash
TREX 550E/600 12S - SK720, Scorpion HK4025-630, ICE 80HV, WR Super BEC, 603 EDGE FBL, I2 Swash
heath9069 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:42 AM   #5
airskipper
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: norway
Default

what do you mine elgreco by( maybe powering the other 2 servos also from the rx, and you should be fine.)
__________________
kjetil 79mod norway TREX 700 3G FBL
TREX 700 BeastXFBL
TREX 600 3G align
JR 11X
airskipper is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 09:28 AM   #6
emilware
Registered Users
 
Posts: 225
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alabama/Michigan
Default

I love mine. I got about 12 flights on it , stil lgot some tweaking to do but so far is great.
__________________
T-REX 700E FBL 3G ICE HV 160 , T-REX 500 ESP FBL 3G , T-REX 450 PRO ,JR VENTURE CP30
emilware is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 10:09 AM   #7
chosen69
Registered Users
 
Posts: 977
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alamogordo,NM
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airskipper View Post
what do you mine elgreco by( maybe powering the other 2 servos also from the rx, and you should be fine.)
He means to power the elevator and pitch servo via the receiver to take the load off the single power wire into the 3G.

http://www.helifreak.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=270
chosen69 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 10:25 AM   #8
life2short1971
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fort White,Florida
Default

I have a dozen flights on mine and no problems so far other than the tail kicks10 degrees and goes right back once every 5 flights for a split second.
__________________
Scott

Trex 500 / /3026-1600/CC Ice75 /3G /Ds510's/Torsion 430 fbl's
Trex 450 pro/HK2221-8/ Ice 50 /HS-5065MG/325D's/Kbdd's
life2short1971 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 11:21 AM   #9
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 873
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

had about 20 flights with my rappy 50 with no problem , slung it in and it flew
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 11:36 AM   #10
grahats
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spokane
Default

10 flights so far on my 500 with no issues at all.
grahats is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:32 PM   #11
jetblue2135
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,242
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Connecticut/Georgia
Default

Just flew mine for the first time on my 700N, only had time for 6 flights but it was awesome. Didnt have to really do much in the way of adjustment, both aileron and elev are set to the 11 o'clock position and the gyro gain (futaba) settled in at 30%. Flies a bit different than the flybarred helis Im use to but man it is fun to fly.....love the extra power!
__________________
Team Futaba I Thunder Power I Castle Creations I SAB
jetblue2135 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:41 PM   #12
rubbersoul
Registered Users
 
Posts: 662
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Francisco
Default

never had a problem since day 1 except for a bad crimp job on a single connector. gone thru 4 gallons already on my T700. i did my first lawnmower job on the 3G a few days ago. it hovers inverted wonderfully.
__________________
Logo 6003D 12S VBAR
Trex 600 12S VBAR
Trex 700 3G FBL
rubbersoul is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:03 PM   #13
steph280
Registered Users
 
Posts: 541
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Default

Have over 40 flights on each of my 3 helis, not one problem since day one. With total of over 120 fligfhts, I think I am fairly confident of their reliability.
steph280 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:42 PM   #14
ForceFedDSM
Registered Users
 
Posts: 810
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

Running it in my 250 with no issues, haven't tried my 600 with it yet(snow), and I plan on finishing my 450 sport install tonight. Now I just need the funds to buy the 450 pro model or better yet the 700 3g combo.......anyone looking for a used gp750, and a new spartan quark(clear)?

Jared
ForceFedDSM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:03 PM   #15
CeeveeSiN
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,353
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston Texas
Default

I'm scared to even try either of mine again.

and a little jealous that so many people are having good luck with it..
yet noone can explain my issues with 2 units.

tried it with the 2in1 and a lipo.
tried it without a reg and a new 6.6 LiFePo.
sent in 1 unit to RMA. arrives back today.
second unit I'm scared to death to try again.
replaced RX, servos, and power system and afraid to try it again.

__________________
SAB USA Field Rep, Skookum Field Rep,
Team Lynx
.
Goblin 700, Goblin 630, Goblin 500
CeeveeSiN is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:18 PM   #16
Primus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 505
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lyon, FR
Default

I have 2 units, tried the one on my 500, 5 flights only due to the bad weather, no issues so far.
9 sec hands off hover, no trim. Can't wait to try the 600 LE.

Keep an eye on Align website, they will release the programming interface in a short time...
__________________
JR 11X | Powerlab V2 | Phoenix RC Sim

LOGO 400 VBar | LOGO 500SE VBar | Trex 600N LE VBar
Primus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 05:05 PM   #17
grahats
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spokane
Default

I just got back from 4 more flights with the 500. Really like how it tracks doing large fast circuits. Just goes where it is pointed with no ballooning or porpoising. Very much like flying a plane and closer to what the sim feels like. I am not getting any of the strange ocillations or bobbling some reported.

I am using 30c 2200 and 30c 2650 6S packs and flying for 6 minutes. Motor is the Align 500M. My 2200 are coming back at 3.8V per cell after 6 minutes of mixed flying in idle up. Have not measured how much capacity I am actually using. 6 minutes is plenty long for me even though I could go longer with the 2650's.
grahats is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 05:16 PM   #18
Anthony Herbert
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Orange, California
Default

I've have had the 3g on my 700 now for about 15 flights, and have not had any problems. i got it dialed in in about four flights and i'm loving it! I feel very confident with the unit. As far as the set up goes it very fast and simple to set.
Anthony Herbert is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 09:09 PM   #19
trainwreck
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,241
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Default

about 9 gallons through mine on the 700 just under 70 flights.. no problems
__________________
That's right Iceman, I am dangerous
trainwreck is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 09:30 PM   #20
layinitdown
Registered Users
 
Posts: 375
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Default

I don't have any problems at all,,, I sold mine last week and just got in my new VBAR 4.0,,,,
__________________
Team SAB Heli Division
Heli Werks Inc. Factory Team Pilot
Team Thomco. Factory Team Pilot
layinitdown is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.