Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2010, 01:13 PM   #1
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default Can I charge my dx7...

through my hyperion eoso606i charger? I dont have my dx7 charger with me and I wantto charge my dx7 while at work right now. I have a plug that fits the dx7 but I dont know what to put the charger on to get it to charge
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:26 PM   #2
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

Ummmm I dunno if what I did is bad but my battery wouldnt turn on at all on my dx7 bc it was completely dead and I didnt wait for a reply and just tried charging my dx7 anyway and within 3 mins I have 10.3 on my radio. I think I super charged it. I took it off for now but I hope I didnt mess anything up
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:27 PM   #3
Jasmine2501
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In deep space, abandoned. Any crew? Negative.
Default

You can charge the battery if you take it out of the radio. It's a standard 8-cell NiCad pack.
__________________

jazzyflight.blogspot.com
Jasmine2501 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:30 PM   #4
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasmine2501 View Post
You can charge the battery if you take it out of the radio. It's a standard 8-cell NiCad pack.

How??
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:32 PM   #5
Jasmine2501
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In deep space, abandoned. Any crew? Negative.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SleeveofWizard View Post
How??
Well you can make a charge plug out of a servo wire, but I don't like that method. Better off to look for the female plug like what's inside the radio. Hook that up to your charger, set it to charge NiCad, tell it 8-cell pack, let it charge at 1C whatever your capacity is. I think the stock pack is 900mAh, but I'm not positive about that.
__________________

jazzyflight.blogspot.com
Jasmine2501 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:35 PM   #6
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasmine2501 View Post
Well you can make a charge plug out of a servo wire, but I don't like that method. Better off to look for the female plug like what's inside the radio. Hook that up to your charger, set it to charge NiCad, tell it 8-cell pack, let it charge at 1C whatever your capacity is. I think the stock pack is 900mAh, but I'm not positive about that.
its a Spektrum---Ni-MH aa1500mAh 9.6v
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:44 PM   #7
Jasmine2501
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In deep space, abandoned. Any crew? Negative.
Default

Then you can charge it at 1.5 amps. It should only take about an hour to charge at that rate. Check it frequently to make sure it's not getting hot.
__________________

jazzyflight.blogspot.com
Jasmine2501 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:55 PM   #8
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasmine2501 View Post
Then you can charge it at 1.5 amps. It should only take about an hour to charge at that rate. Check it frequently to make sure it's not getting hot.
I put it in as Nim 1500mah 1.0 a with a futaba connectore that I have (it plugged right into the remote) But it was literally 3 mins and up to 10.3 but now since I unplugged it and shut it off its at 9.4

I just hope I didnt mess up the battery or RX
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:57 PM   #9
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasmine2501 View Post
Well you can make a charge plug out of a servo wire, but I don't like that method. Better off to look for the female plug like what's inside the radio. Hook that up to your charger, set it to charge NiCad, tell it 8-cell pack, let it charge at 1C whatever your capacity is. I think the stock pack is 900mAh, but I'm not positive about that.

Im trying again now under Nicad and it only asks for the amps? I put it to Nicad 1.5 amps and started teh charge
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:03 PM   #10
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

I was charging under Nimh before bc thats what it says on the battery but you said Nicd??
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:13 PM   #11
Larry227
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,109
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Creston, BC (Canada) Porthill, Idaho (US)
Default

Right after I got my DX7 I pulled the crappy 900mah stock battery out and installed 8xAA 2450 nimh rechargables. I can go over a week now between charges and can still use the stock charger.
__________________
Trex 700 DFC - Compass 6HV - Vergnugenstabi
DX8 / Phoenix / Persistence
Larry227 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:15 PM   #12
Jasmine2501
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In deep space, abandoned. Any crew? Negative.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SleeveofWizard View Post
I was charging under Nimh before bc thats what it says on the battery but you said Nicd??
Yeah that is fine. My Hyperion charger only has one setting... they are basically the same. Don't plug it into the radio - this goes through another circuit and messes up the charger sensors. You have to plug the battery directly in the charger. The DX7 charging port expects a constant voltage, whatever the AC adapter does, but the charger operates differently. Do not use the charger to plug into the radio. I thought I made that clear when I said take the battery out?
__________________

jazzyflight.blogspot.com
Jasmine2501 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:17 PM   #13
Jasmine2501
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In deep space, abandoned. Any crew? Negative.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry227 View Post
Right after I got my DX7 I pulled the crappy 900mah stock battery out and installed 8xAA 2450 nimh rechargables. I can go over a week now between charges and can still use the stock charger.
Yeah I went to the JR 2500mAh pack on mine, but I keep the old pack in my flight box, and I can swap them out on a long day, and charge them with my charger while I'm using the other one. My 2500 pack runs out after about 3 hours of the TX turned on, and since I usually fly fairly constantly on the weekends, it does run down. That is one nice thing about these Hyperion chargers, they are really good with Lipos, but easily handle other types as well.
__________________

jazzyflight.blogspot.com
Jasmine2501 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:26 PM   #14
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasmine2501 View Post
Yeah that is fine. My Hyperion charger only has one setting... they are basically the same. Don't plug it into the radio - this goes through another circuit and messes up the charger sensors. You have to plug the battery directly in the charger. The DX7 charging port expects a constant voltage, whatever the AC adapter does, but the charger operates differently. Do not use the charger to plug into the radio. I thought I made that clear when I said take the battery out?

Ut OH!!! I did charge it via the remote. I dont have anything to fit into the battery direct. It only fits in the radio. I hope I didnt mess anything up. When I go home Im just gonna charge the radio with the normal charger throughout the night
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:54 PM   #15
Jasmine2501
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In deep space, abandoned. Any crew? Negative.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasmine2501 View Post
You can charge the battery if you take it out of the radio. It's a standard 8-cell NiCad pack.


Be careful when you go back to the normal charging method. You might have fried something, although it's not likely.
__________________

jazzyflight.blogspot.com
Jasmine2501 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 03:04 PM   #16
SleeveofWizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey
Default

I ran outside real quick and I wasd able to get the 250 up in the air. So at least I know its working as of now. I just hope that IT will charge with the real charger and stay charged bc the charge isnt holding right now....went from 10.3 to 9.2. Im really hoping that its doing that bc it charged so quickly and the charge wasnt constant and that after I charge normally it will hold the charge
__________________
-MSR--Stocked out--with Aluminum skids
-Trex 450 V2---HiTec---HS65mg's and HSG5083
HG5000 gyro
-Trex 250-Align gp750 gyro, ar6100 reciever, Align servo's
-Dx7
SleeveofWizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 03:48 PM   #17
spootman
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,826
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Worcester, MA
Default

With the stock chargers, you have to let them charge overnight.
spootman is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:30 PM   #18
n6nev
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,914
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Torrance Calif
Default

I bought a small LED lite and was going to install it on the off /on switch, then drill a small hole in the case , it was a blinky lite, till I opened the dang thing and the off/on switch is tied into a circuit board .. o well! I left mine on also , but not overnite......
__________________
2 DJI 550 , both with naza, fatshark, ET OSD "You can always tell a pilot,but not much"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
n6nev is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:49 PM   #19
Cailid
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,955
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Abbotsford B.C.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n6nev View Post
I bought a small LED lite and was going to install it on the off /on switch, then drill a small hole in the case , it was a blinky lite, till I opened the dang thing and the off/on switch is tied into a circuit board .. o well! I left mine on also , but not overnite......

How to add an led to the DX7....

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=49174
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves" - Albert Einstein
Cailid is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:57 PM   #20
Geardaddy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,664
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Default

Set it up as a Nimh.. I don't like to charge Nimh batts at 1C.. some of the smaller cells don't like a 1C charge rate.. Your wall charger probably charges at 500mAh or less.. I wouldn't go higher than 1/2 amp or so.. You should be able to enter in the number of cells, and then define the max charge rate..

Also be carefull with the spectrum radio because the polarity is backwards (at the charge plug) from a futaba or similar.. You may want to get an extra charge jack, and make it up with bananna plugs so that you can charge this way on a permanent basis..

You'll also have a better Idea of the health of your battery as you know how much mah went back into it each charge cycle..
__________________
TRex 700DFC CC 120HV/VBar
TRex 500 ESP/FBL CC Ice100, MiniVBar
TRex 600LE/ OS50/ Full Size VBar/ Arizona Regulator , FrankenBlade 400/Sonic head and tail/CF Frame, Blade MSR, Bunch o' planks.. DX7/Futaba 9C
Geardaddy is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com