Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite)

Blade Helicopters (eFlite) Blade Helicopters (eFlite) CP, CX, mCX CX II, CX III. and others

Old 04-06-2010, 11:06 AM   #1
Pigskin
Registered Users

Default Setting up blade sr tail and gyro

Hi, this is my first post after reading up for the last few weeks. First my thanks to everyone who has posted up before, it has helped me a lot while learning.

I’m very new to this hobby. My dad and I both got Blade SRs last week, and over the weekend we set mine up on the bench. I thought I’d share what we did. Please give me some feedback on the approach, if I got anything wrong, or did anything silly.

The aim was to get the heli set up so that switching from gyro heading hold to rate mode did not cause the heli tail to swing about. Set up was all done using the stock transmitter, with the ultimate aim of the control through DX6i gyro switch.

All of set up was done on a freely moving turntable with the helicopter bolted to it. The turntable is from an old record player attached to a wooden board. I guess something similar could be done on a low friction surface like a tiled floor but to achieve hover speed a turntable is best and safer.

We first did a few experiments to determine how the gyro works. The 50% position (12 o’clock on the transmitter dial) to 100% give you a heading hold mode with weak (51%) through to strong (100%) gyro input. The 50% position to 0% gives you a rate mode with weak (49%) through to strong (0%) gyro input. At 50% there is minimal input from the gyro.