Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Outrage RC


Outrage RC Outrage RC - and XP Li-Po Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2010, 08:33 PM   #1
Rob43
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,445
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Midland, MI - USA
Default Torq servos

Well, I smoked an elevator servo and dumped a new nitro - smack in the middle of the runway! Sunsabiches! Anyway, I started the search for my next servo set for cyclic and had to check out the Torq's again. I was shocked when I read the torque ratings. I won't claim to know the fine line between enough torque and overkill in favor of speed, but I was amazed when I read the specs. Even at 7.4 v, they're only rated at 112 oz-in. They are obviously lightning fast. The are absolute electro-mechanical jewelry, but I can't say I feel that warm and fuzzy, given the price for servos that they have the muscle for the heavy demand poeple seem to want for the swash. I also noted Charlie's comments about servo selection for the V90 as well.

Am I out of calibration here? I am sure the factory pilots are slick enough to fly the nads off of them, but I don't have their finesse. Any wisdom to share?

Thanks
__________________
= Rb43 =
Rob43 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 08:51 PM   #2
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,330
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I just picked up a set for my 50. Not sure how they fly yet but even if they suck Ill keep them cause they look so dang good.

This kinda brings up a good question, how much torque is really necessary ? Sure more is better but at what point are you better off with more speed than torque ? A lot of servo speed and torque requirements seems to be antidotal, with actual data being unheard of.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 09:50 PM   #3
R0t0R
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Default

I put a set on my flybarless Velocity 50 and they rock! Not only are they lightning quick with plenty of power even on flybarless, but they are very precise and center perfect. I had 8717s on the cyclic before and when I converted to flybarless, my milliamp draw per flight doubled with the 8717s. When I put the TORQs on, the draw dropped down to around 300ma per flight. MUCH more effecient servos!
__________________
Team Outrage RC
R0t0R is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 11:39 AM   #4
francis234
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaysia
Default

any idea run them on futaba ?
francis234 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 02:46 PM   #5
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,330
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I use my Torq servos on futaba, i use a Kiwi to run 8V.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 01:16 AM   #6
francis234
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaysia
Default

with torq tail servo as well? does the futaba receiver run on 8v as well.
francis234 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 03:21 AM   #7
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,330
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

The kiwi allows me to run my cyclic and tail servo on 2S directly but all the other electronics on 5V.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 10:17 AM   #8
francis234
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaysia
Default

wow thks for the idea i got it.... i dont need a HV for my throttle servo...
francis234 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 05:22 PM   #9
cvdiver
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando
Default

I am contemplating the Torq servos for my velocity 50 (Due from the big brown truck on Tuesday!), and have a couple of questions. So there is no problem running them straight from a 2s lipo? But then what is the best way to run the throttle servo and the rx?
cvdiver is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 08:22 PM   #10
Foxden
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,023
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Default

CV,

You can run the throttle directly to the rx or I run a MultiGov pro and run the throttle on
7.4 v from the jumper on the rx to the MultiGov and then direct to the servo, no problems
__________________
Clyde Fox
Port Charlotte, FL.
Team Rotorworkz/Outrage
Foxden is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 06:26 PM   #11
Holmquist
Registered Users
 
Posts: 966
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Why are the red 9080 cyclics no longer available at HD?

Austin
__________________
DX6, DX9be, DJI F550, DJI F450, Raptor 30, HK Sbach 342,
3dhs Edge 540, TechOne Neptune
Holmquist is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:17 PM   #12
H to the C
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,111
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Anderson, SC
Default

We got even better ones coming . The 9180 and 9188 series.
__________________
Bill Erickson, Did you crash again?? PENDEJO
H to the C is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:21 PM   #13
cvdiver
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando
Default

Sweet, answered my question also.
cvdiver is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:17 PM   #14
dunkonu23
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,352
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

That being the case, are those of use who bought the original Torq's out of luck for parts should they become necessary?

Scott
__________________
Team Manager
Spartan Vortex Inside, Cyclone Blades, Team Scorpion
OMGRCUSA Servos ):>
"I don't believe that we're in this alone. I believe we're along for the ride."

dunkonu23 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 12:04 AM   #15
Holmquist
Registered Users
 
Posts: 966
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Are the new models going to cost more?
__________________
DX6, DX9be, DJI F550, DJI F450, Raptor 30, HK Sbach 342,
3dhs Edge 540, TechOne Neptune
Holmquist is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 06:25 AM   #16
maizor
Registered Users
 
Posts: 363
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norway
Default

When can we expect the new servos in the shops?
__________________
JR Sylphide EX with Super Gracy
JR Sylphide with MB391
TDR jive120 4530-540 scorpion CGY750
Mikado Logo 600SE V-bar
maizor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 06:41 AM   #17
Foxden
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,023
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maizor View Post
When can we expect the new servos in the shops?

Haven't seen anything posted yet on delivery or availability
__________________
Clyde Fox
Port Charlotte, FL.
Team Rotorworkz/Outrage
Foxden is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 03:47 PM   #18
dunkonu23
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,352
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

9080's are still available... whew... had me goin' there. But how about parts?

Scott
__________________
Team Manager
Spartan Vortex Inside, Cyclone Blades, Team Scorpion
OMGRCUSA Servos ):>
"I don't believe that we're in this alone. I believe we're along for the ride."

dunkonu23 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 04:12 PM   #19
John Cook
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,457
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnebago IL Where the politicians are MORE corrupt-Thanks alot Blago/Burris/Daley etc...
Default

not sure about parts. Did they ever sell spares for the 9088's? Heck what would you break on them except horns? I suppose a terrible crash might take out a gear, but I don't remember ever hearing of anyone taco'ing a servo like that, well an outrage servo anyway.

I want some of the new 9188's or w/e they are calling the new high torque BLS servos. Hoping I can afford them when they release.
__________________
):>
KBDD
MKS Servos
Scorpion Power Systems/Batteries
Spartan RC
John Cook is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 04:36 AM   #20
dunkonu23
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,352
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

I was just primarily wondering about parts... not that I'd ever need them. Looking at vendors sites it stands out a bit to me. They are great servos, though. The new ones, I've seen in Detroit, but that was a while back.

Scott
__________________
Team Manager
Spartan Vortex Inside, Cyclone Blades, Team Scorpion
OMGRCUSA Servos ):>
"I don't believe that we're in this alone. I believe we're along for the ride."

dunkonu23 is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Outrage RC


Outrage RC Outrage RC - and XP Li-Po Factory Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.