Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics


JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics JR and Spektrum Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2010, 09:03 PM   #1
hunterz
Registered Users
 
Posts: 199
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Default Spektrum DS821

I have just got a trex 600e its got 3 DS821's servos on the cylics after a 5 min flight I am putting 350mah back in the RX battery.on my raptor it has 3 futaba servos on the cylics and 1 throttle and I only put 130mah back in the RX battery after 20 mins use.both helis use the same gyro and tail servo.are the spektrum servos power hungry or do I have a problem
__________________
Trex 600+flymentor 3d,,,Trex 250+beastX
Gaui 330x quad,,,,,,,-Raptor Titan, MINI TITAN SE/
Eflite blade cx3,msr, mcx,mcx s300
Hirobo shuttle plus x2,,,,,,,,sjm 400 pro-c
hunterz is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 02:09 AM   #2
lavi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,192
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Haifa Israel
Default

350mAh per flight doesn't sound too much to me...
what futaba servo do you have on your other bird ?
in general digital servos (as are 821) are more mAh hungry then analog ones.
lavi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 06:52 AM   #3
hunterz
Registered Users
 
Posts: 199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Default

hi the futaba are digital aswell I think they are 3152? I just cant understand how they use more considering there is one less servo than on the raptor I just did'nt know if they are power hungry servos or if there is somthing wrong
__________________
Trex 600+flymentor 3d,,,Trex 250+beastX
Gaui 330x quad,,,,,,,-Raptor Titan, MINI TITAN SE/
Eflite blade cx3,msr, mcx,mcx s300
Hirobo shuttle plus x2,,,,,,,,sjm 400 pro-c
hunterz is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 02:02 PM   #4
BarracudaHockey
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,362
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville FL
Default

I wouldn't use those on a 600 size heli.
__________________
Andy
AMA 77227
Jacksonville FL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BarracudaHockey is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 04:49 PM   #5
Ah Clem
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,633
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

I would not use DS821's in that size machine either.

Unless they have upgraded the gears (the amplifier, and the motor).
__________________
KBDD-Team Pilot/ Team Compass/ ProStar Hobbies/ Team JR Americas/ Gens Ace Field Representative/ Robird Demo Pilot / Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50
Ah Clem is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 05:08 PM   #6
hunterz
Registered Users
 
Posts: 199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
I wouldn't use those on a 600 size heli.
why whats wrong with them
__________________
Trex 600+flymentor 3d,,,Trex 250+beastX
Gaui 330x quad,,,,,,,-Raptor Titan, MINI TITAN SE/
Eflite blade cx3,msr, mcx,mcx s300
Hirobo shuttle plus x2,,,,,,,,sjm 400 pro-c
hunterz is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 05:57 PM   #7
Ah Clem
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,633
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

If you do a search, this comes up quite often.

The main issue is that the gears fracture-not all the time, but there have been many posts/threads where this has happened. People have even reported the gears failing on throttle.

Some of this was traced back to people using locktite to secure the servo arm screw, but most of it did not appear to be (locktite can destroy plastic).

JR recommends them for no larger than .30 sized glow machines, and no larger than .50 (600) sized electrics).

I still have three of the four that came with my DX7 (I gave one away), and only use the others for bench testing. I might put them in an airplane, at some point.
__________________
KBDD-Team Pilot/ Team Compass/ ProStar Hobbies/ Team JR Americas/ Gens Ace Field Representative/ Robird Demo Pilot / Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50
Ah Clem is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 11:35 AM   #8
hunterz
Registered Users
 
Posts: 199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Default

I'mconfused if the manufactures say they are ok for this size and ther seems to be a few people using them and recommend them in other threads?
__________________
Trex 600+flymentor 3d,,,Trex 250+beastX
Gaui 330x quad,,,,,,,-Raptor Titan, MINI TITAN SE/
Eflite blade cx3,msr, mcx,mcx s300
Hirobo shuttle plus x2,,,,,,,,sjm 400 pro-c
hunterz is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 06:45 PM   #9
phoenixheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Apollo, PA
Default

You need to clarify your flying style, hard core, acrobatic or casual flyer. This is what causes difference in opinions.
__________________
CPv3, Axe 400, Exi 450, Franken Heli 450, mCPx, Swift 16, Blade 450x Thumbs Only!
phoenixheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 03:54 PM   #10
hunterz
Registered Users
 
Posts: 199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixheli View Post
You need to clarify your flying style, hard core, acrobatic or casual flyer. This is what causes difference in opinions.
just a bit of gentle flying
__________________
Trex 600+flymentor 3d,,,Trex 250+beastX
Gaui 330x quad,,,,,,,-Raptor Titan, MINI TITAN SE/
Eflite blade cx3,msr, mcx,mcx s300
Hirobo shuttle plus x2,,,,,,,,sjm 400 pro-c
hunterz is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 02:03 PM   #11
heli_high
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: usa
Default i just lost my 3d knight,and I had ds821 servos

I bought a used but nice 3d knight with ds821 servos on cyclic,I lost it due to a faulty elevator servo .it went into full down at 5 feet off the groung,
only did about 150.00 in damage.
These servos will work but it is risky ,now I wish I had known all of this before,also if the wires look old and faded,and are stiff,gett them off.
later.
heli_high is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:45 AM   #12
freakinnovice
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,256
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Default

Damn it! I don't want to have to buy new servos.
__________________
LOGO 500, V-Bar 5.1, 4025-890, HW-120, 3X 620, 251, 10S A123
LOGO 500SE, V-bar 5.1, 4025-890, HW-120, 3X D760MG , S9254, 8S2P A123


OMG!!! It's plastic.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
What was I thinking! :-)
freakinnovice is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:58 AM   #13
dingfangle
Registered Users
 
Posts: 114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Default

I've seen someone plant a brand new 600E into the ground on about it's 5th flight using DS821's. All he did was a simple roll and the servo's drive train could not handle the stress, stripping the gears. I am not sure if that heli ever flew again. It was pretty bad.
__________________
Needs to be updated. I keep buying more stuff, Damb this hobby!!!
dingfangle is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:10 PM   #14
Ah Clem
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,633
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

Gentle or harsh flying style has nothing to do with it (again, they have reportedly failed on throttle).

I would not use them. Probably the only JR product I stay away from (I use their servos in almost everything).
__________________
KBDD-Team Pilot/ Team Compass/ ProStar Hobbies/ Team JR Americas/ Gens Ace Field Representative/ Robird Demo Pilot / Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50
Ah Clem is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:07 PM   #15
phoenixheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Apollo, PA
Default

Buy some spek h6010's or h6040's. the 10's are about $40 ea and the 40's are about $80.
__________________
CPv3, Axe 400, Exi 450, Franken Heli 450, mCPx, Swift 16, Blade 450x Thumbs Only!
phoenixheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:00 PM   #16
thewarbirdlover1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 142
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Default

The vibration from the heli takes a toll on the 821 servos too. My opinion, "DO NOT USE THEM."
__________________
Pantera 50
T-Rex 450 Sport
thewarbirdlover1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics


JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics JR and Spektrum Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com