Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2004, 04:50 PM   #1
blakka_1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 743
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Enfield, London
Default extension on 401 gyro

i have a 401 gyro, and basically the wires coming from the gyro arent long enough to reach my receiver. is it ok to use an extension wire? will it affect my gyro performance in anyway??


plz help :cry:
blakka_1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 05:04 PM   #2
WillJames
Registered User
 
Posts: 42,723
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

I can't tell you 100% but I have used a short, I think 6" extension with one of my 401's and it worked better than I could fly.

HTH,
__________________
William James
Team "Wife" sponsored pilot... Thanks Baby!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 06:06 PM   #3
Hotshot Charlie
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tupelo, MS
Default Should be fine...

I had five 12" extensions in my Ultra Stick plank, no problems. I know heli's are different, but I would think it would work with no problems.
__________________
Cheers, Rob
Hotshot Charlie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 07:15 PM   #4
blakka_1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 743
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Enfield, London
Default

thanx alot guys
blakka_1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 07:43 PM   #5
ImRich
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern NH
Default

I'll advise that you be sure to use the newer 'heavy duty' extensions. Don't just pick up any old wire.
__________________
Rich

X-Cell Gas G231PUH (for sale), Raptor 50V2 OS50, Blade CX
ImRich is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:40 PM   #6
Hotshot Charlie
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tupelo, MS
Default

I agree, I used the Heavy Duty Extensions. They were $9.95 at my local hobby store.

Have fun and stay safe !
__________________
Cheers, Rob
Hotshot Charlie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:45 PM   #7
Clintstone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,235
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Statesboro, GA
Default

Futaba says not to but I have done it with Heavy Duty ext. and I was very carefull and used the ext. secure fasteners. It will work but you may loose so voltage but it will work as mine did on my other 90 machine which had the servo on the boom.
__________________
Clint Akins
Clintstone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 11:46 PM   #8
Sar
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ulster County, NY
Default

You can also find 'buffered' extensions if your worried about signal loss. They basically include a schmitt trigger(do a google search if you want a detailed explanation). The chip basically takes a noisy or soft-edged signal and puts out a a clean square wave.

There are companies that make multichannel buffers for use in large RC planes where the servo runs are pretty long.
Sar is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 06:06 AM   #9
ImRich
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern NH
Default

Just so you understand why I said 'heavy duty' extensions. It's not 'signal loss' that is the issue here. It's the heavy current draw of the digital servos when it needs to move fast. Lighter wire means more voltage drop due to I2R losses (that's amps squared multiplied by the resistance of the wire).

So signal buffering may help some issues, but it wont fix the voltage drop issue. Also, adding additional connectors makes this worse. So if you want minimal voltage drop, cut off the connector to your servo and one end of the extension and solder the wires together properly.
__________________
Rich

X-Cell Gas G231PUH (for sale), Raptor 50V2 OS50, Blade CX
ImRich is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.