Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos


MSH Protos MSH Protos Helicopter Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
pugdavey
Registered Users
 
Posts: 510
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon- UK
Default Need a new esc !! wich one??

Right just had my second align esc go pop
Got a hyperion 80a but the gov just isnt adjustable..
I'am running a hyperion 880kv motor now and liking it but also waiting for the total G come out over here to make it ggoooooo

What esc are fitting well, was thinking cc 75 or 100 lite?
pugdavey is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 04:11 PM   #2
alexf1852
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,172
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: FL
Default

You should also consider the YGE 60A which is the new stock ESC that comes with the Protos kits.
__________________
MSH Protos * 2, SAB 500, SAB 630, Logo 550SX
alexf1852 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 04:25 PM   #3
terrabit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,012
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Default

As a close second to the YGE, consider the ICE series. Mine has worked well for me. I say this after having spent literally thousands on Kontronik ESC's (I've popped a few Align ESC's too.). If you are sticking with 425mm blades the 75A will work. The 100A might be a better fit for the 470mm stretch kit.
__________________
vbar T700E v2 DFC head, Pyro 700-45L, Jive 120HV, BLS451/BLS251, Edge 693/115
vbar CF Protos Scorp 3026-880kv, Ice lite 75, 9650/BLS251, SAB 430/KBDD 82
terrabit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 04:38 PM   #4
pugdavey
Registered Users
 
Posts: 510
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon- UK
Default

Well the YGE isnt in the uk yet. I use the red devils 430mm (like the rotor disc in the air)
Think i might go for the 100lite as it only 10 more Iam after a decent gov as it running about 2800 - 3000 on a 13t with the hyperion !!
pugdavey is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 04:52 PM   #5
terrabit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,012
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Default

Oh, if you're gonna do the ICE series I would definately opt for the lite version.
__________________
vbar T700E v2 DFC head, Pyro 700-45L, Jive 120HV, BLS451/BLS251, Edge 693/115
vbar CF Protos Scorp 3026-880kv, Ice lite 75, 9650/BLS251, SAB 430/KBDD 82
terrabit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 05:10 PM   #6
pugdavey
Registered Users
 
Posts: 510
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon- UK
Default

Is the lite version upto the job?? or theres the scopion esc but think they have a bad rep?
pugdavey is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 06:10 PM   #7
rablett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 657
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
Default

I'm running the ICE Lite 75 in mine with a Scorpion 3026-1000 and no problems. Mine is pretty new and am still running the SAB 425 blades but I can't get it to draw over 50a, so plenty of reserve with the 75a ESC. The governor mode has performed flawlessly. So much so that I have converted all 5 of my helis to ICE ESC's.
rablett is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 06:54 PM   #8
whisperdancer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,878
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Porto, Portugal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pugdavey View Post
Is the lite version upto the job?? or theres the scopion esc but think they have a bad rep?
If you are going to throw your money on a new ESC, buy something on which everybody says good things.
Therefore, the most praised ESC's are the Kontronik, YGE and CC ICE. I also read good things about the JETI SPIN, but they are more focused to the domestic market (but hey, that's how kontronik and now YGE started...).
__________________
MSH Prtos CF FBL Stretch
E-flite HABU 32, Parkzone HABU 2
Ikarus F3A
Multiplex Parkmaster 3D
whisperdancer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 04:29 PM   #9
Melly
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Slovenia
Default

I was using Jeti SPIN 66, problems with overheating else the governor is very good...
No problems with CC ICE 75 now, very cool after flight, good governor, nice logger and very good customer support.
__________________
Melly

MSH Protos FBL AC-3X
Align T-Rex 250SE Gyrobot 700
Melly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 04:55 PM   #10
pugdavey
Registered Users
 
Posts: 510
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon- UK
Default

Right guys thanks for the replies.
Its going to be a cc100 ice lite or a 75ice but think it will fit as i have the carbon one??
would much appreciate if some one could just guide me to the right one before it click that button
pugdavey is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 05:58 PM   #11
Bit-Man
Registered Users
 
Posts: 210
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MA
Default

The ICE "LITE" 75 and 100 will both fit fine,,
__________________
2x Blade 400 - 2x Copter X 450 - 3x Trex450 SE v2 - 1x CA'ed mSR - 3x MSH Protos 500 Carbon - Raptor E550 building! :glasses2:
Bit-Man is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 10:18 PM   #12
terrabit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,012
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Default

I don't believe the ICE w/heatsink will fit. It would have to be the ICE lite.
__________________
vbar T700E v2 DFC head, Pyro 700-45L, Jive 120HV, BLS451/BLS251, Edge 693/115
vbar CF Protos Scorp 3026-880kv, Ice lite 75, 9650/BLS251, SAB 430/KBDD 82
terrabit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 08:00 PM   #13
markb
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,229
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Default

Have you guys with the ice lites got data logger numbers for temperature that you could share? If so, please also indicate ambient.

I'm basically planning to get a protos, and really like my ice50 lite, so I'm definitely looking at the 75 or 100 lite. But CC literature says the lites are not for low airflow applications like helis... My 50 has been trouble free, but their application recommendation still makes me nervous.
__________________
Mark
Logo 600se, Scorpion 5020-450, mini-V, Jive 80HV
Trex 600 ESP FBL, Scorpion 4025-740, cgy750, CC85HV
Trex 450 Vx FBL, Scorpion 2221-10, RJX head, mini-V, Ice 50
markb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 08:07 PM   #14
rablett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 657
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
Default ICE Lite 75

I am running an ICE Lite 75 w/ Scorpion 3026-1000 on a 6S 2600. After 8 minutes of aggressive airplane style flying and aerobatics the highest ESC temp I have seen has been 160F. That was on a sunny day with an ambient temp in the very high 80's.
rablett is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 10:40 PM   #15
alexf1852
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,172
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: FL
Default

My Jive 60+ LV was running at 65% throttle on 15T (about 2650 rpms) in 94 F ambient. The Jive never got hotter than 135F but the stock Lipotech motor was searing hot at 200 F at the copper wires. I am switching back to 14T and run a higher throttle maybe 80%.
__________________
MSH Protos * 2, SAB 500, SAB 630, Logo 550SX
alexf1852 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 07:54 AM   #16
markb
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,229
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Default

thanks rablett... that's what I wanted to hear.

anyone else looking at the temp figures; be aware that the ICE temperature reporting is from a sensor thats very close to the output transistors. So, it reads higher than you would with a heat gun looking at shrink wrap. My 50 has come down reading 140F, and I could barely feel it was warm on the outside.
__________________
Mark
Logo 600se, Scorpion 5020-450, mini-V, Jive 80HV
Trex 600 ESP FBL, Scorpion 4025-740, cgy750, CC85HV
Trex 450 Vx FBL, Scorpion 2221-10, RJX head, mini-V, Ice 50
markb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 08:33 AM   #17
popokatepetl
BD Forum Support
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Earth
Default

I know Kontronik's JIVE is quite expensive but I think you all look at it from the wrong perspective.

1) How much is you heli in the air?
2) How many times you've crashed just because of malfunctioning electronics?
3) Is everything working 100% after many hours of tweeking it?

Do you still think JIVE is way too expensive? I don't! Just think about it.

On the other hand you just plug it in set the throttle and up to the sky.... everything works just perfect. You don't have to think about timing and such silly stuff ever...
popokatepetl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 09:22 AM   #18
rablett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 657
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
Default

I have no experience with the JIVE ESC so I can't express any opinions about them, but the CC ICE is a "no brainer" to set up for a heli and takes just a few minutes with the computer to have it performing perfectly. Governor mode is flawless. Soft start, auto rotation enable, spool up rate are all easily set from the computer and after just a few minutes set up, I have never touched it again other than - did I forget to mention it does data logging? I don't know how anyone can properly set up a heli without it and no need for an Eagle Tree anymore. I have over 100 flights on one of them without ever readjusting it. I never touch it unless I plug it into the computer to have a look at data after chaning blades and so on. With the new Quick Connect I find myself looking at data with more regularity than before.
Roger
rablett is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 09:58 AM   #19
wespen
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Default

I wouldnt call buying USB dongle and fiddling with settings for 10 flights to get rid of governor wag plug and play.

CC governor is good, but you have to play with settings to get it right.
Logging in new ICE line sure helps.

Kontronik and YGE are just one step above, depends on your credit card limit if its worth it
__________________
www.flyfreak.net - Croatian RC forum
wespen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 10:10 AM   #20
rablett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 657
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
Default

USB dongle is free, at least here in the USA. Took me exactly 2 flights to get it right, not 10 and haven't touched it since. If it took you 10 flights, I cannot understand why. No wag, no RPM variation. How much more does the Kontronik cost?
rablett is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos


MSH Protos MSH Protos Helicopter Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.