START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization

Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization

Old 07-14-2010, 02:23 AM   #1
Navigator53
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default My first day with CPII, followed by Helicommand, all I can say is Wow!!

Well I finally had a chance to go to the field today to dial in the CPII, all I can say is OMG I shortened my learning curve by 6 months.

Had to pour myself a Scotch when I got home (still shaking) and told my Wife, "This will be my Summer to get to the next level"

I'm a novice flyer and haven't flown 20 minutes since last summer due to weather in the Pacific Northwest and work demands.

My goal was to run a gallon of fuel over several flying sessions before I tried what I've been doing on the sim...NOT! that changed once I got CPII dialed in on the T-Rex 600n.

After a few tanks to get the rust off the ol' fingers and get the cobwebs out of the brain, I started doing fast forward flights and hard banked turns to warm up.

I need the first tank of fuel or battery to get connected.

I had Emergency bail out on the gear switch and practiced over and over trying to get used to flipping it on and off.

After I watched the CPII right the bird from any thing I threw at it, I was confident and just went for it.

Throwing the Heli around, flips, loops, rolls and inverted I hadn't been so relaxed since I was buddy boxed by a pro last summer.

I flew 3 mistakes high and as such had some difficulity inverted with visibility with all the smoke, if I couldn't see it, I just flipped the switch and there she was.

Twice I would have crashed, after a fast fly by and let it get too far away and lost orientation, flip the gear switch on and just brought it back... upright.

2nd time I tried a funnel, hard for me to get into on the sim, but once there I can hold and control it pretty well.