Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > 4G6 / V120 Series


4G6 / V120 Series Walkera 4G6 / V120 Series Helicopter Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2010, 06:53 PM   #1
C R Mudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 277
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Send lawyers, guns...,, and money!
Default rx2610s Swash setup

Hey guys

I'm looking for a some setup tips. I have a 4g6s with an rx2610s and I'm using a 2810


I'm trying to set the arms to 90 and level the swash. Any way to disable the gyros?


Thanks!
C R Mudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 08:40 PM   #2
Jeff_Barrett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,178
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Turn the gyro pots as far CCW as they will go. This will effectively turn them off.

Love the username btw...
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 09:26 PM   #3
Intact
Registered Users
 
Posts: 156
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C R Mudgeon View Post
Hey guys

I'm looking for a some setup tips. I have a 4g6s with an rx2610s and I'm using a 2810


I'm trying to set the arms to 90 and level the swash. Any way to disable the gyros?


Thanks!

You can also turn them off through your transmitter.

You know the gyros are off when the red light on the receiver is out. It also means the rx is in rate mode.

One more thing i learned with with the stabilisation on the 2610s is to not use trim to level the arms and swash! They arms just dont go perfectly 90.. Trim will make it look level but when u turn stabilisation on......

It'll have weird characteristics when flying because of stabilisation.


Level it mechanically, then use trim to correct for slight drifting. There isnt really much trim needed cause of the gyros work good when they're on
Intact is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
C R Mudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 277
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Send lawyers, guns...,, and money!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intact View Post
You can also turn them off through your transmitter.

How do you do that on a 2801 ?
C R Mudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 09:37 PM   #5
C R Mudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 277
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Send lawyers, guns...,, and money!
Default

Turn the gyro pots as far CCW as they will go. This will effectively turn them off


I didn't see that reply!!!!


Thanks!
C R Mudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 09:22 AM   #6
Jeff_Barrett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,178
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

No problem.
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:36 PM   #7
ado1974
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: melbourne, australia
Default

crm

the easiest way to disable the elev/ail gyros is to turn them off at the switch on the Rx.

the 2610s Rx should have two DIP switches. the one closest to the front of the heli will switch the elev/ail gyros on and off.
by using the switch you can keep all your Tx and POT settings where you like them.

cheers
a
ado1974 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 10:01 AM   #8
C R Mudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 277
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Send lawyers, guns...,, and money!
Default

Swash Set up done ..... Thanks guys!
It flys nice now....



But I just got in a V120D02 FBL head. If the weather sucks this weekend I'm going to build it up and put it on.
C R Mudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 11:33 AM   #9
schumy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C R Mudgeon View Post
Swash Set up done ..... Thanks guys!
.
Did you get them "close" to 90 like Intact said, or did you use subtrim to get them to exactly 90. (like Finless Bob does in his vids)

Also, mind if i ask what length your linkage are ?
schumy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 12:55 PM   #10
C R Mudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 277
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Send lawyers, guns...,, and money!
Default

Got them "close" to 90 and adjusted the link lengths... I used a 4g6 frame with a swash plate glued to the bottom as a swash leveler. ( prob not the best but pretty close, just an aid to the old eyeballs)

The swash is pretty close to level but not absolutely level. Good enough for the flying I do. ( Hovering, slow circuits )


Sorry the lengths are a bit uneven But I'll measure them when I get home.
C R Mudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 02:19 PM   #11
schumy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C R Mudgeon View Post
Sorry the lengths are a bit uneven But I'll measure them when I get home.
Thanks for info! IF they're uneven then don't worry about measuring them, since my servos will not be the same size as yours.
schumy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 04:39 PM   #12
Jeff_Barrett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,178
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C R Mudgeon View Post
But I just got in a V120D02 FBL head. If the weather sucks this weekend I'm going to build it up and put it on.
Careful. Word is that they are made of very soft metal and bend easily in a crash.

I bought dkfuji's head from www.rchobbyhelicopter.com and can vouch that it's a quality part.
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:58 PM   #13
C R Mudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 277
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Send lawyers, guns...,, and money!
Default

So far the machine work on the "Stabilizer Holder" sucks. The drilling and tapping for the arms is just plain bad.
C R Mudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 10:00 PM   #14
Jeff_Barrett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,178
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

That doesn't sound good.... keep us in the loop and take some photos if you can.
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 06:53 AM   #15
ado1974
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: melbourne, australia
Default

i have already tried fitting the factory fbl setup to my 4g6s

the quality is very poor
i bent the swash before i finished the install, and it broke when i tried to straighten it

the factory parts are the worst quality i have seen from walkera(several years).... very disappointing
cheers
a
ado1974 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 12:28 AM   #16
JossyRC
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO,ON,CA
Default

...
JossyRC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 09:03 AM   #17
C R Mudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 277
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Send lawyers, guns...,, and money!
Default

Sorry Been on Vacation....

Put together the FBL head.

Things that I like..
The blade grips. Like the was they are designed. they look good But they may be a little light weight as they may bend easy.

The links. They go on Ok and are the correct length and have good adjustment range.

I like that they finally packaged screws for the "Main Rotor Shaft" or feathering shaft. I always break those F'ing screws and have to buy a whole pack.



Things that are not so good.

The stablizer holder. The Drilling and tapping on the holes for the arms are not good at all. One was not drilled and tapped deep enough. And the other was not drilled to the correct size and was not tapped.

Things that I'm not so sure about......

The swash "LOOKS" like the 4g6 swash so no diff there. But people have said they have problems in this thread. But it went on no sweat.

The main mast has a notch for the stabilizer holder to lock into. Great Feature. But I'm not sure because of the problems that I have with the stab holder. It "LOOKS" when locked into that slot I do not have a full range of pitch. This could be because I have only one arm on the stab holder and it's wiggly.


I am not going to try to get a new stab holder and finish this head and put it on my bird. My 4g6s is flying great for me now with the rx2610s and 2801 tx. I would like to go FBL but I thing I'm going to wait a bit till they get things sorted out. Or wait till the rchobbyheli one is in stock.



I'll try to take some picts tonight of what I have.
C R Mudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 09:42 AM   #18
JossyRC
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO,ON,CA
Default

You could convert the stock head to flybarless not too much work.
JossyRC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 12:31 PM   #19
Jeff_Barrett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,178
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JossyRC View Post
You could convert the stock head to flybarless not too much work.
I've seen a few real nice setups like this both on RCG and here.... if mine had come with an alloy head, I would have done this myself.

timewerx did it successfully with his plastic head as well...
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > 4G6 / V120 Series


4G6 / V120 Series Walkera 4G6 / V120 Series Helicopter Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com