Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2007, 01:56 AM   #61
h-shot
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SHEPHERDSVILLE KY
Default

is it ok on a 3s batt when the first cell reads 4.170 and the second cell reads 4.175 and the third 4.170 and the red leds have no blinking is that balanced or do the numbers need to match perfect?
Thanks
Tony
h-shot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 08:00 AM   #62
s9joe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 368
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: uk sunderland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h-shot
is it ok on a 3s batt when the first cell reads 4.170 and the second cell reads 4.175 and the third 4.170 and the red leds have no blinking is that balanced or do the numbers need to match perfect?
Thanks
Tony
hi no thats fine
__________________
ĴŐĔ ĞŔĔČĨŃ
-------
HIROBO SHUTTIL BLINGED UP
T-REX 450 SE
T-REX 450 SE V2
REAL FLIGHT G3
FIELD FORCE 9
s9joe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 08:01 AM   #63
s9joe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 368
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: uk sunderland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless
Congrats on figuring it out! I hope the new one works....

Bob
thanks bob for the help the new one works great

thanks agen joe
__________________
ĴŐĔ ĞŔĔČĨŃ
-------
HIROBO SHUTTIL BLINGED UP
T-REX 450 SE
T-REX 450 SE V2
REAL FLIGHT G3
FIELD FORCE 9
s9joe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 10:02 AM   #64
surfanarchist
Registered Users
 
Posts: 140
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Default

Bob,
Will the TP 210 work with a charger other then the 1010 for balance charging? I want to get a balancer that I won't need to up-grade later (TP 210 is good to 10S) but I have an Orbit charger I really like.

Thanks so much for doing the videos. You've saved my countless hours of fiddling and frustration (not to mention money) on my Swift and Trex 600. I REALLY appreciate it.
__________________
"A man's only as old as the woman he feels."
Trex 450 V2, Logo 500 3D, Trex 600E, Minicopter MiniJoker, Minicopter Joker 2, MinAir Spectra G
surfanarchist is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 10:07 AM   #65
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

I cant say for sure but yes it should..... BUT unlike the TP1010 charger the balancer doesnt talk to any other charger so you dont get the shut off safety or cell readings on the charger.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 12:29 PM   #66
LITHIUMSTATIC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,683
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: McKinney TX
Default

Hi Bob! I got my Evo 25 packs and I wired them in series and it looks great! However, I do have a question... Does it matter what battery balancer tab is plugged into bank A or Bank B on my TP 210? Is it going to blowup if they are wrong?

Thanks,

Jeremy
__________________
Just a guy and his heli....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LITHIUMSTATIC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 02:40 PM   #67
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

DONT use both Bank1 and Bank2 at the same time! That will fry it (so I am told as does the manual).

Now as to your question. What size packs are these and how do you have them wired in series? Trying to figure out exactly what your trying to do..,...

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 03:05 PM   #68
LITHIUMSTATIC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,683
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: McKinney TX
Default

I have 2 Flightpower EVO 25 5s 5000mah. It's done like this.

http://www.thunderpower-batteries.co..._manual_R3.pdf

I thought I could Charge & balance it as a 10s pack using my TP 210 balancer & TP1010 charger....

Am I wrong in this?

EDIT* Data cable is being used too. And I meant Bank 1 & Bank 2 oooops

Does it matter what bank Group A or B is plugged into? Or do they have to be a certain way?

Hope that makes sense as to my what I'm trying to comunicate....
__________________
Just a guy and his heli....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LITHIUMSTATIC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 03:19 PM   #69
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Unfortunatly it is NOT that simple. You cant just plug one 5S pack in Bank2 group A and the second pack in Bank2 group B. It wont HURT the unit if you do but you will see that it will NOT show up as a 10S pack if you do.

Look at the PDF page 4 5S/5S lower right corner.

Pin 6 of group A is direclty tied to pin 1 group B (e.g. there is NO cell between those pins). Two 5S packs WONT be wired this way. A real 10S pack the balancer plug in the pack IS wired this way.
So you need to make a kind of adapter or buy one to charge 2 5S packs as a 10S pack.

Also dont take the easy way out! If your going to run this as a 10S pack they DO NEED to be balanced together NOT seperatly. The reason is is becasue this is a discharge balancer and one pack stand alone will balance differently than another. They need to all balance together so all the cells match each others voltage.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 03:27 PM   #70
LITHIUMSTATIC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,683
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: McKinney TX
Default

I think i get it Bob.... sorry I just have a hard time describing things in written text.
__________________
Just a guy and his heli....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LITHIUMSTATIC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 03:43 PM   #71
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Understand.... all you need to do is make a jumper wire from Bank2 group a pin 6 to Bank 2 GroupB pin 1. It's better to have a adapter cable but I have done it this way in a pinch.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 03:47 PM   #72
LITHIUMSTATIC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,683
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: McKinney TX
Default

I got it Bob! Thanks!
__________________
Just a guy and his heli....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LITHIUMSTATIC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 02:27 AM   #73
LITHIUMSTATIC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,683
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: McKinney TX
Default

I made a cable and it works perfect! However, I have another TP210 question.

I've been balacing for over 8 hours now.... the red lights are flashing and everything is looking good. The 210 got really hot earlier for a few hours ad now it's hardly warm at all but it's still balancing. When in world is this going to end? Is it normal for it to take this long to balance 10s wired in series?

thanks,

Jeremy
__________________
Just a guy and his heli....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LITHIUMSTATIC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 06:35 AM   #74
hopntod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 634
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Default

Sorry I cant help you Jeremy but I just wanted to thank Bob for this vid.Never would have figured it by the directions.todd
__________________
I'm here to learn
hopntod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 09:47 AM   #75
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Jeremy, it can be a little tuff getting mixed packs to balanced and understanding what the lights are telling you.

The 210 is a discharge balancer and if it has to do a LOT of discharging to get all the cells matched then it may take the voltage below the point the yellow status light will come on. Remember the yellow status light does 2 things:
1) Shows the cells are within .010
2) shows the pack is charged to 4.18 per cell
The light will NOT come on unless both conditions are true.

Now you dont have to wait until all the red LEDs stop doing thier thing... Mixed packs like this might never stop. But you DO want to get a yellow status light at some point. So if the balancer did a BUNCH of balancing you may have to start the charger again to get the cells up to 4.18 again.

Also make sure the charge for now is set to 100% charge... Restart the charger and let if finish again. Let the balancer do it's thing again and by now you should get the yellow status light and the 6 beeps.

Again mixing packs you might have to do this cycle more than once.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 02:13 PM   #76
LITHIUMSTATIC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,683
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: McKinney TX
Default

I do have the solid yellow light. I will give it one more final charge and balance then I'm off to fly!

**EDIT Here is a pic of the wiring harness my buddy made for me. Thanks for your help Bob!!! :thumbsup2:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg att00023.jpg (57.3 KB, 122 views)
__________________
Just a guy and his heli....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LITHIUMSTATIC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 11:34 PM   #77
odieser
Registered Users
 
Posts: 505
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Default

my 1010c sometimes stops charging because of a imbalance of over .2V but when I check the batteriy by reading the 205 balancer it only shows a imbalance of .005 volts what could be the problem
Mark
odieser is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 11:42 PM   #78
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

OK sometimes the balancer screws up communication with the charger especially if you restart the charger! If things arent making sence the best thing to do is unhook the batt from the balancer (DONT JUST USE THE BUTON) and reset everything.

If you still have a problem after that then something is either wrong with the balancer (mostly the failures I have seen) or the charger (rare).

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 11:47 PM   #79
odieser
Registered Users
 
Posts: 505
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Default

Thanks for he reply Bob
So if the imbalance that I am reading of the charger is .005v I should not have to charge at the recomended .30A rate or should I just restart the whole procedure
of charging normally
Mark
odieser is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 12:04 AM   #80
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Well if all is working well I would say yes... but make sure your balancer is not screwed up!

Under known circumstances I would say YES but you brought up a issue so please be careful!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com