Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Outrage RC > Outrage 550


Outrage 550 Outrage 550 Helicopter Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2010, 10:02 AM   #1
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default Kontronic built in BEC

I cant believe i'm considering this, but given light to what i have seen over the last several weeks, if I switch my ESC over to a Jive100, would the built in BEC be sufficient for high speed digital servos and FBL such as Align DS610 or Inolab 760mg or even JR8717?
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 09:55 PM   #2
Volcano
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Default

Well I did a little more diagnostics, my ice 100 is bad. I hooked it up via internal bec, and a different rx out of my 450. My brownouts are even worse, and still get the same 5 bleep error code.
So if you can afford it vs having a crash maybe the 400 dollar kontronic is a solution, but an expensive one.
Volcano is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:21 PM   #3
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

I'm sorry to hear your ICE100 is bad. Mine caught fire the 2nd week I owned my Outrage! Almost lost it if not for my cat like reflexes. Basically I think we might have seen Castle at their worst the last 3 to 5 months. Hopefully its over. I only wish there were other quality brands to choose from. I just want to know that if I go with to the Kontronic, which i may have purchased, will the built in BEC be ok for either my INOLAB 760mg or Savox 1258(align ds610).

I mean I'm really pissed when 150 to 200$ esc fails but I'm going to be livid if 300 to 400 esc fails and causes me to crash too or better yet sets my new heli a blaze!
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 11:09 PM   #4
Volcano
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Default

Yeah, I bought my 550 used and then had to buy the electronics. I bought the castles stuff new, and I thought I was buying good (and expensive in my opinion) stuff with the castle gear.
Honestly, im not gonna spend 400 bux on an esc. Id sell my stuff and quit the hobby if things cost that much. hopefully I can get an ice 100 soon since they are having other problems. Ill call cc tomorrow and talk with someone and see what they have to say.
Volcano is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 11:40 PM   #5
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EveryThgHeLis View Post
Is your ICE under warranty..if it is get another one. When installing mount it on the canopy. If anything happens your canopy will be damaged as oppose to your electronics. CC will not ruin there rep.
I have about 7 castle ESC's plus BEC's etc. I am a castle fan. Castle is still the only group to offer a program to update your ESC with built in logger. But i'm a very busy person and when I only have a couple hours to fly on the weekend, I want to fly not fix or pick the broken pieces off the ground. I"m actually quite positive castle will get this sorted very soon. Till then i'm going to try my luck at something a little different. Also the one thing i never considered originally is the fact that Kontronics have 15amp BEC which is actually safe to use with standard size digital servos opposed to CC 5 amp built in BEC. Remember this wasnt supposed to be a Castle bash thread or a pro KONTRON thread, but a Kontron information gathering.

Ok back to my original question does anyone have any comments on how the Kontronics BEC will work with Align DS610's or Inolab760mg, jr 8717 etc...
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:01 AM   #6
klamp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,094
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boston
Default

I run a Jive 100LV but I also use a WR Hercules BEC, so I don't know first-hand if it will run. Popular consensus is to run an external BEC regardless of the ESC. From previous research, Kontronik tends to under-rate their products, so I'm sure the internal BEC is adequate and if I had to, I wouldn't have a problem running it. I just prefer to compartmentalize everything so that I can run it down in my head and troubleshoot it.

SV, as for the cost of the Jive, if you can find a used one for around $200, snatch it up. You just have to keep an eye out. I bought a used one that was partially melted for $120 and sent it in for repair because the battery leads were too short. Kontron couldn't repair it, but sent me a new one for $100. So I was out of pocket $220 for a new Jive. Probably a little more than the ICE, but they don't have nearly the troubled history as the Castles. However, it does have its own issue, which I won't expound on here, but it's not nearly as bad as spontaneous combustion.
__________________
600G Helibug: Vbar 5, Torq 9080s, Torq 9188, G290RC, GV1, Jewel

Trex 450 Pro: Vbar 5, Hitec 65s, JR 3500G, Scorpion 2221-8, Kontronik Jazz 40
klamp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:42 AM   #7
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

I have a Scott Gray ReactorX and Western Herc Super Mini BEC. Both of them are nice but I have to admit I perfer the design of the CC BEC PRO that i'm sending back to castle. The western lets you pick from 5.3 or 6v which ends up acutally being 5.2 and 5.8 v on a fresh battery according to my telemetry . The Scott Gray is either 6v or 6.8 out and 5.2 to the gyro/tail....which isnt ideal because I have tail servos that support HV. This is why i originally chose the CC BEC PRO. I liked being able to choose 6.5 or 6.2v. Granted I know its not much of a difference but I lke the flexibility. Really I want a western with the features of a castle. Because of this I was really looking forward to using the built in BEC of the Kontronic for pure simplicity which I thought most people were using hence I bought it.... Now i'm back at a loss...Damit Castle, why cant your products just work!!! Now i have 2 BEC PRO's , 1 reactorX, 1 western Herc, 1 Kontron Jive 100, 1 ICE100 and a CC110HV..

I am at a loss what combos i should be running for best reliability. I have had 5 crashes over 2 different helicopters last month all caused by malfunctioning equipment, none by my hands. Each crash has easily cost me on avg 75 to 100$ to repair plus hours of time chasing down the problems which is the highest cost to me.

I now understand why everyone buy HV servos now...this hobby is starting to get a little expensive...
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 12:36 PM   #8
LogoFreak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,320
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Default

I run the internal jive 100lv bec on my new logo 500se with bls 451 and 251 plus mini v-bar without any issues. The jive 100lv is an awesome esc.
__________________
Logo 500SE mini V-Bar 10s
3DHS 48" edge 540, HK P-47 63", HK Cessna 182 73"
DX8 (Waiting for DX18)
Skype: LogoFreak
LogoFreak is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:07 PM   #9
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

So far I have 3 yes for internal BEC and 1 no. I will give it a try and see. Maybe I will get some logging to monitor my voltage or setup my cyclics on the bench with my tester and stall them to see how much voltage one draws. Boy i am looking forward to getting in 2 consecutive flights without me cursing out Castle!
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:38 PM   #10
Eyefly
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

I have had my 550 for over a year using the internal BEC to run three 8717s and a DS8900 through the Vbar system. Works great!
Eyefly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 10:27 PM   #11
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyefly View Post
I have had my 550 for over a year using the internal BEC to run three 8717s and a DS8900 through the Vbar system. Works great!
I'm sold on the internal BEC!!
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:45 PM   #12
klamp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,094
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boston
Default

So do you have any feedback on the internal BEC? I'm thinking of running it on mine so that I can move my Super BEC over to a second ship to run with a YGE controller.
__________________
600G Helibug: Vbar 5, Torq 9080s, Torq 9188, G290RC, GV1, Jewel

Trex 450 Pro: Vbar 5, Hitec 65s, JR 3500G, Scorpion 2221-8, Kontronik Jazz 40
klamp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 03:53 PM   #13
seemore74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,270
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: london
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyefly View Post
I have had my 550 for over a year using the internal BEC to run three 8717s and a DS8900 through the Vbar system. Works great!

It was a similar setup on a friends rex700e conversion with vbar that convinced me to run my 3 inolabs (said to be power hungry) + mks tail & microbeast on the jives internal bec & its all good. I have however set the bec to output 5.8v as i heard some time ago that running 6v was causing some issues on the v7 escs. Mine has been updated to v9 but i'm sticking with the evil i know, 5.8v & she still flies like a beast.
__________________
Shape 9.0, Trex 700 DFC pro** MKS Cyclics & Rudder Servos all round. Kontronik Pyro 750 Drives, Kontronik ESCs
Futaba SBus Rx, Futaba 8FG** transmission
.
seemore74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:10 PM   #14
klamp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,094
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boston
Default

I didn't realize you could specify voltage by tenths. I thought it was either 5v or 6v. Do you need the card to do that?
__________________
600G Helibug: Vbar 5, Torq 9080s, Torq 9188, G290RC, GV1, Jewel

Trex 450 Pro: Vbar 5, Hitec 65s, JR 3500G, Scorpion 2221-8, Kontronik Jazz 40
klamp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:18 PM   #15
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klamp View Post
I didn't realize you could specify voltage by tenths. I thought it was either 5v or 6v. Do you need the card to do that?
Yes you need Prog Card 2 to choose voltage. I ran the internal Jive BEC without issue at 6v. I was a bit nervous at first but I've learned that if you cant trust the German electronics what can you trust!! lol If I am going to run a bec it will be the Kontronic one else i'm going unregulated.
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:04 AM   #16
seemore74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,270
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: london
Default

6v? cool, think i'll step mine up & see how she goes.
__________________
Shape 9.0, Trex 700 DFC pro** MKS Cyclics & Rudder Servos all round. Kontronik Pyro 750 Drives, Kontronik ESCs
Futaba SBus Rx, Futaba 8FG** transmission
.
seemore74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:03 AM   #17
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seemore74 View Post
6v? cool, think i'll step mine up & see how she goes.
I had not heard of any issues with 6v, but i do have a v9 jive so I guess i wouldn't matter anyway. I cant see what difference 5.8 vs 6v would make regarding problems.
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:33 AM   #18
Blades345
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Default

I have the Jive 80HV on the verison 9 and I am running the internal BEC, but have thought about running a separate battery just to be safe. I know the German made stuff is great, but is it really safe to use the internal BEC? Also, I thought the default was 5.6v not 5.8v. I am using the default settings on it at the moment since I don't have a programming card.

I am running 8717's on cyclic and a 8900G on the tail, so I think I should be ok. Also, can anyone tell me the difference between the verison 7 and verison 9? What changes were made? I ask because my buddy has the 7 and I was curious!
__________________
When you don't feel like soaring through the wind with a plane,, BEAT IT INTO SUBMISSION WITH A HELI!!!

No helis right now!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Maybe I'll be back in another year!
Blades345 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:35 AM   #19
seemore74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,270
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: london
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blades345 View Post
I have the Jive 80HV on the verison 9 and I am running the internal BEC, but have thought about running a separate battery just to be safe. I know the German made stuff is great, but is it really safe to use the internal BEC? Also, I thought the default was 5.6v not 5.8v. I am using the default settings on it at the moment since I don't have a programming card.

I am running 8717's on cyclic and a 8900G on the tail, so I think I should be ok. Also, can anyone tell me the difference between the verison 7 and verison 9? What changes were made? I ask because my buddy has the 7 and I was curious!


Yes the default is 5.6v but if you have the program card2 then you're able adjust the bec voltage as follows: 5, 5.2, 5.4, 5.6, 5.8, 6v.
Believe me & the many others out there, you are perfectly fine using the internal bec even if you were running a FBL unit as i am.
The Kontroniks have a safety feat to aviod damaging the esc, this feature on some of the v7 units not all the cutout was triggered prematurely causing motor shut down also some units were losing settings when unplugged so you had to reprogram in the settings. This was solved with the v9 update, fortunately i never experienced any of these problems.
__________________
Shape 9.0, Trex 700 DFC pro** MKS Cyclics & Rudder Servos all round. Kontronik Pyro 750 Drives, Kontronik ESCs
Futaba SBus Rx, Futaba 8FG** transmission
.
seemore74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 01:18 PM   #20
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blades345 View Post
I have the Jive 80HV on the verison 9 and I am running the internal BEC, but have thought about running a separate battery just to be safe. I know the German made stuff is great, but is it really safe to use the internal BEC? Also, I thought the default was 5.6v not 5.8v. I am using the default settings on it at the moment since I don't have a programming card.

I am running 8717's on cyclic and a 8900G on the tail, so I think I should be ok. Also, can anyone tell me the difference between the verison 7 and verison 9? What changes were made? I ask because my buddy has the 7 and I was curious!
I hear the 8717 are not bec friendly but if there is a safe bec then its a jive. If you aren't comfortable just go unregulated then. Iam running my jive with a receiver pack but can switch back if needed



Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Outrage RC > Outrage 550


Outrage 550 Outrage 550 Helicopter Factory Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com