Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2010, 07:10 PM   #1
delta2001
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alabama
Default Is the 3G USB worth getting?

Is the 3G usb and software worth buying? Is it very beneficial over the manual setting? Thanks for any input.
delta2001 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:34 PM   #2
mrich_30047
Registered Users
 
Posts: 189
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Default

Yes, the GUI and software offer you the ability to fine tune your settings. None of the Rudder, Bell Hiller setting are acessable without it.

Install the Y harness permanently on your heli.
mrich_30047 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:39 PM   #3
akamullen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,049
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Default

YES. Buy the usb link, You will be glad you did... Especially when new firmware updates comre out...
__________________
AnythingHeli.com OWNER/ TEAM PILOT
GAUI X5 / X7 *
GOBLIN 380/500-x2/630/770 * Swinging SWITCH/RJX/RAIL & SAB Blades * Microbeast/IKON * Castle ESC's on all * DX18 *
akamullen is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 06:21 AM   #4
phobix
Registered Users
 
Posts: 194
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

In my case, Without the USB interface I wouldn't have been able to get my machine running properly, I highly recommend it!
__________________
Trex 500CF, Scorpion 3026-1600KV, beastx, RJX Head, MKS 9660a, 9256
HV Trex 550e V2, 600mx 510kv, Align 3Gx, HW 70hv, DS610s, DS650
HV Trex 600ESP, Scorpion 4025-630KV, Align 3G FBL, CC ICE80HV, DS610s, DS650
Trex 700e, Beastx, DS610s, BLS251
phobix is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:09 AM   #5
delta2001
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alabama
Default

Thanks for the comments. I ordered one this morning.
delta2001 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:16 AM   #6
Jskrapper
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,484
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Default

Just be careful if you permanantley install the "Y" cable. It seems to me that the connectors have less clamping than the stock wiring harness. I had one shake out of the control unit upon liftoff causing a mild tail grind upon an instant piro. I am sure it would have been 100% avoidable had I just been more careful with placment.
__________________
-Joe
Yeah I call it a "drone", so what?? I'll call it a mega super deluxe awesome many plentiful if I want.
Jskrapper is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 02:12 AM   #7
ecupro
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Malaysia
Default

Hi,
Please get one for yourself or you groups.
You can modify the parameters like roll rate and so on...
You can monitor the FBL controller ( on stand but NOT Fly )

Bye.
ecupro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 02:46 PM   #8
markleyland
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,106
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colchester, UK
Default

Might buy one soon just to have a play but no real need as i'm happy having made small adjustments out of the box.
__________________
"Sort your head out and fly with your heart"
Trex 450 SE V2: 9257 tail, Spartan Quark, HS65mg cyclic, DX7-AR7000, NEU 1107h/2y, Jazz Esc,
Trex 550 FBL: Jive 100+LV, KDE/NEU 1907H/1/N42, Vbar 5.3, Futaba BLS 251
markleyland is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 09:54 PM   #9
CF_Machete
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,896
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Default

definitely get one. the align tx an button pushing is out dated in and in sufficient for a decent setup. the only problem with the usb interface is that you cannot fuly program your 3g through your pc and will have a few ridiculous button and blink steps. Honestly if my friend did not lend a hand in the programing, I'd have sold it long ago.

I'm not a newbie to fbl, but out of all the fble gyro's I've used, gu-365, gyrobot 700 & 900, skookum 360 & 720...the 3g's setup is by far the poorest conceived. Its analogus to using a tx to program your bec...when other bec's have card and/ or a pc interface.

Hopefully Align will get on the ball and release a firmware upgrade that is completely pc programmable and perhaps do the same thing for there esc's as well.

not trying to flame align or those who enjoy the programing lights and sounds show, but a "click yes" box is far easier and nearly impossible to screw up.
__________________
fbl furion 6, fbl gaui 200 v2, FBL Stretched Align 450 pro V2, fbl t-rex 500, fbl beater 450...and some planks.
CF_Machete is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 09:21 PM   #10
RyuuChi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 982
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: eastern PA
Default

LOL, it wasn't as bad as he says, but Alpha has a good point that it really should all be done on the computer once you get the USB interface going.
__________________
Thank god i have snowboarding to keep me occupied when its too cold to fly!
RyuuChi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 10:02 PM   #11
HiroboFreak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,037
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha_&_Omega View Post

not trying to flame align or those who enjoy the programing lights and sounds show, but a "click yes" box is far easier and nearly impossible to screw up.
Keep in mind that the 3G can be setup & configured without the use of a PC, & it flies reasonably well on default settings. Further tweaking can be done via the USB interface but it certainly isn't a requirement.
It's a Plug 'n' Play system with further options available to those who want them.

Many of us (myself included) were flying 3G V1 Plug 'n' Play with great success.

Too many editable parameters can be very confusing & have an adverse effects if you don't know what you are doing.
A good feature of the 3G is you can have the setup & configuration process as simple or as complex as you wish. It's up to the individual.

The "programming lights and sounds show" is very simple indeed.
If you find that confusing, steer well clear of the USB interface!
__________________
T-rex 700n VBar 5.3 Pro | T-rex 700e V3 VBar 5.3 Pro | JR DSX9 Limited
Team RCBits | Team Lynx
HiroboFreak is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:05 PM   #12
CF_Machete
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,896
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiroboFreak View Post
The "programming lights and sounds show" is very simple indeed.
If you find that confusing, steer well clear of the USB interface!
perhaps I was was just raised with modern computers. programing the 3g even with the usb is still flat out irritating. why is it so hard to make a decent/complete usb interface? yes you can program the gyro with out one, but you can also program some outdated computers with punch cards. check out a usb interface like Castle Creations uses for there ESC's, Then tell me you would rather go back to the old school "two beeps at mid stick means this" BS.

Clicking the "yes or no" box is always easier than reading a blinking light code off of your manual.
__________________
fbl furion 6, fbl gaui 200 v2, FBL Stretched Align 450 pro V2, fbl t-rex 500, fbl beater 450...and some planks.
CF_Machete is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.