Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
johnr3942
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colorado
Default bad vibration during spool up and down

I just built my 500 3g and am experiencing a bad vibration about halfway through spool up and spool down. it only lasts for a second or two and then goes away. it does not vibrate during flight at all. Any suggestions?
__________________
T-Rex 5003g
T-Rex 700e 3g
johnr3942 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 06:29 PM   #2
T/CHunter2009
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,055
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Trumansburg New York
Default

Check blade tension, if there a bit too tight in the grips then you'll be getting some vibrations until they swing into place . Also re-check blade balance both main blades and tail.
__________________
Changing direction in my R/C Hobby : Getting into FPV Quad Copters. TBS Discovery
T/CHunter2009 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 07:35 PM   #3
ILoveMicroHelis
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scandinavia
Default

Is it a vibration or a shake?

If it is a shake it is pretty normal, and is often caused by to tight blades. If you tilt your heli to the side the main blades should stay straight but you should be able to "shake" them out of position.

Pete
ILoveMicroHelis is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 08:41 PM   #4
kouasupra
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,854
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Default

Check your feather shaft and main shaft. Even thought it looks straight it might not be.
kouasupra is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:03 AM   #5
johnr3942
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colorado
Default

I guess it is more of a shake than a vibration.
__________________
T-Rex 5003g
T-Rex 700e 3g
johnr3942 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 03:21 AM   #6
scoti333
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,464
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: austin,TX
Default

Yea could be main shaft if it's on spool down and spool up... BUT, I recently installed a 3G into my 500 and saw the same thing happening, however a couple of guys at my field said this is fairly normal for a 3G FBL setup? I've just now put a new main shaft on since I bought it used but haven't had the chance to fly it yet
__________________
-Goblin 700: Crashed but re-building, still needing electronics
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Goblin 630: CC Ice 120HV, vBar
scoti333 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:01 AM   #7
im4711
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,596
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoti333 View Post
Yea could be main shaft if it's on spool down and spool up... BUT, I recently installed a 3G into my 500 and saw the same thing happening, however a couple of guys at my field said this is fairly normal for a 3G FBL setup? I've just now put a new main shaft on since I bought it used but haven't had the chance to fly it yet
Wow -> should not be caused by FBL system. I use MicroBeast and it does not shake during spool up. So blade tension sounds like a possible option as stated by some already. Also make sure you straighten out the blades OK.
If it is the main shaft I believe it might not stop that quick.

Last edited by im4711; 10-29-2010 at 06:01 AM.. Reason: spelling
im4711 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:42 AM   #8
dannylightning
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,253
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Default

mine shakes a bit when the blades are spinning at low RPM if its not shaking when the blades are at full speed you are probably ok depending on how bad the shake is..
__________________
7hv, torq, yge, xera, beast x.
gaui x5,torq, yge, hyperion, v bar,
warp360
mks, yge, scorpion, beast x.
dannylightning is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:55 AM   #9
Larry227
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,889
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Creston, BC (Canada) Porthill, Idaho (US)
Default

Mine will shake the odd time halfway during spool down if the collective is in just the right spot. Giving a little collective one way or the other usually smooths it out immediately. It's only happened 5 or 6 times all summer and just once since I went FBL last month.
__________________
Trex 700 DFC - Compass 6HV - Trex 500 ESP - Vergnugenstabi
DX8 / Phoenix / Persistence
Larry227 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 10:09 AM   #10
dannylightning
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,253
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Default

i should mention that my friends 450 does the same thing. he does like tight blades tho..
__________________
7hv, torq, yge, xera, beast x.
gaui x5,torq, yge, hyperion, v bar,
warp360
mks, yge, scorpion, beast x.
dannylightning is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:24 PM   #11
ualdrivr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,432
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Default

IMO, barring any crashes and any bent shafts or other equipment on the heli, the main and/or tail grips are too tight on the blades.
__________________
At the precipice, we change!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Team GrandRC
ualdrivr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 03:52 AM   #12
johnr3942
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colorado
Default

Problem fixed, I replaced the mainshaft and loosened the blades and problem went away. Thanks for all your help.
__________________
T-Rex 5003g
T-Rex 700e 3g
johnr3942 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 04:06 AM   #13
ILoveMicroHelis
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scandinavia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnr3942 View Post
Problem fixed, I replaced the mainshaft and loosened the blades and problem went away. Thanks for all your help.
Was the main shaft bend?

Pete
ILoveMicroHelis is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com