Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2011, 12:10 PM   #1
banditpowdercoat
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,756
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 100 Mile House BC Canada
Default What's ur Expo%??

I'm running 40% expo, well in the SIM anyways. I'm wondering what do people run? I kinda feel like higher is cheating, but can't get a smooth hover with anything lower.
banditpowdercoat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 02:27 PM   #2
nice,whatdoesitdo?
Registered Users
 
Posts: 327
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: united kingdom
Default

im running 30 on everything at mo, but plan on dropping to about 15 soon, as i want more response. if you go to high on it, youll end up over correcting. try 30 out
nice,whatdoesitdo? is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 02:41 PM   #3
seanrock
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Benicia, Ca
Default

I started at 20 and I'm down to 10, it's just a learning curve.
seanrock is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 04:17 PM   #4
Helisun
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Default

I'm still at 30. Sometime I go 20 depending on wind condition.
Helisun is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 04:21 PM   #5
Jeff_Barrett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,178
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

I don't use expo.... I feel too disconnected with it.
__________________
Jeff Barrett
Team Synergy / Bavarian Demon / MKS Servo

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 06:06 PM   #6
CACN
Registered Users
 
Posts: 935
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Illinois, USA
Default

I have -10% on all Aileron, Elev and Rudd.
__________________
Calvin
Henseleit TDR / Minicopter Diabolo S / Align Trex 550 / Hirobo SRB Quark
CACN is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 06:13 PM   #7
CoolKD
Registered Users
 
Posts: 766
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Default

Running 25% cyclic and 13% on tail(GY520)
__________________
Blade MSR, MCPX v2 & 400 3D NightRig
Align Trex450 pro.
Align Trex700LE N.
SAB Goblin 700Comp.
CoolKD is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 07:33 PM   #8
newflyguy1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal
Default

Can't you just lower your swash % for elevator &/or aileron? That will smooth out your stick inputs & slow each one down a bit but you won't loose stick range. I usually set my elevator swash % about 5-10% higher than my aileron when I plan on doing forward & back flips. That way the roll is less likely to tip the heli & I can flip pretty quickly. Or the other way around for rolling 360's.
I do have a little expo on my rudder though on a couple models in my 7c Tx, 15% set to a switch for when I do anything more than hovering.
Varies on each model but my swash %'s are:
Ail: 55%
ele: 65%(up to 70 for really fast flips)
pit: 50%
For really smooth/tame hovering I'll drop ail & ele down to 40-45%, then each stick movement very slightly effects the heli.
But if you get into trouble you really can't slam the stick to recovery because you only get so much swash travel! Maybe that's the big difference between adding expo & lowering swash %...
newflyguy1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:19 PM   #9
banditpowdercoat
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,756
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 100 Mile House BC Canada
Default

YOu changew your Tx every time you wana fly a different style? I like keepin the Swash full range for those times you need it. But ya sounds like Theres alot of different styles of setup, and I also need more stick time, I guess ALOT more stick time
banditpowdercoat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:47 PM   #10
newflyguy1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banditpowdercoat View Post
YOu changew your Tx every time you wana fly a different style? I like keepin the Swash full range for those times you need it. But ya sounds like Theres alot of different styles of setup, and I also need more stick time, I guess ALOT more stick time
Yeah I guess I would have to change the swash % in my Tx everytime I want more or less swash travel but lucky for me I have a few different birds & each is setup to do different types of flying! Really though it doesn't take more than a few seconds to bring up the menu & dial in a few % more or less, of coarse you have to land first. It's much quicker & easier to flip a switch that changes the expo rates but again I don't like losing my full stick range with expo.
Just personal preference really & to each their own. More stick time will probably equal less or even no expo eventually...
newflyguy1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:41 PM   #11
banditpowdercoat
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,756
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 100 Mile House BC Canada
Default

Oh does anyone run a - expo on the rudder? I'm finding in the SIM atleast, my rudder seems slow for me for gentle movements. I have at -20 for rudder and +30 for Aile and Elev. Am I weird??? LOL
banditpowdercoat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:59 PM   #12
Dazhim
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,050
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA, Md., Capitol heights
Default

@ newflyguy How do u lose stick travel with expo I know u lose some servo travel with short swash %'s could you explain?

I use 10 cyclic 0 rudder anymore n the heli starts feelin to me like if i sneeze its outta there lol
__________________
Dx7s, exi 450 pro(I swear its a trex by now lol)
Big Rexy 600 R.I.P(rest in pieces)
MSH Prtos: 500 fbl,MSH Prtos 450 fbl
mcpx real life SIM

Last edited by Dazhim; 01-23-2011 at 01:34 PM..
Dazhim is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:19 AM   #13
tacomaster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 951
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Near Knoxville, TN
Default

none. sim is way more responsive. hovering the 400 is a piece o cake
tacomaster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 12:51 PM   #14
Capt.Chip
Registered Users
 
Posts: 508
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Augustine, Florida
Default

I like 20 on cyclic and 10 on the tail in Idle Up and regular flight mode.
__________________
Blade 400 3D, 3-HS65MG, GY520, S9257, Traxxas Y on "Heads Up RC" 3 amp BEC, Stealth CF Blades, 2200 25C, T-Rex 500 LG, Phoenix Sim.,
DX6I, DX8, Blade MSR MCPX V2
TRex 600 ESP
AR 7000, DS610's cyclic, Quark gyro & DS620 on tail
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Capt.Chip is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:46 PM   #15
desertblade400
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Default

I started with 30% and now don't use any expo.
__________________
Trex 500 ESP
desertblade400 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com