Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Electric Helicopters


700 Class Electric Helicopters 700 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2011, 10:00 PM   #1
silas3d
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,572
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default Trex 700e Photo Shoot (Wiring, Batteries, etc.)

I finally had a chance to maiden my 700e yesterday morning and it was SWEET! Many thanks to everyone on helifreak that helped me get it ready to rock and roll.

It's true, my 500 now feels like a toy...

Now that I've officially joined the 700 club I thought I'd post some pics showing my wiring harness setup as well as the method I used for the battery trays, etc. Hope it helps someone the same way that you guys helped me!

For those that might wonder I wired the series connection underneath the bottom tray. The goal was to keep the total harness length as short as possible including connectors and battery leads. The side benefit is that I can plug either pack in from either side and both packs have even length leads. It works really well!

The strapping tape combined with the KDE battery trays works wonderfully and I was able to easily swap packs without removing the canopy.

I'm running a 2S LiFePo straight in the vBar using two servo-type leads instead of just one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_1.jpg
Views:	1603
Size:	69.8 KB
ID:	205542   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_3.jpg
Views:	1947
Size:	66.5 KB
ID:	205543   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_4.jpg
Views:	1704
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	205544   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_6.jpg
Views:	1798
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	205545   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_8.jpg
Views:	1963
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	205547  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_9.jpg
Views:	1583
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	205548   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_10.jpg
Views:	1653
Size:	87.8 KB
ID:	205549   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trex700_11.jpg
Views:	1628
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	205550  
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

TDR | Goblin 770, 630, 500 | Coast Guard UH-60
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:33 AM   #2
Cirkus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 971
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yuma, AZ
Default

Can you please show a pic of the Rx battery input lead, from the EC connector to the Vbar? What size wire are you using. This is my only concern, I'm switching from the SK-720 to the Vbar soon.
__________________
FlightCam
http://ryanbarnes.smugmug.com/
Cirkus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:55 PM   #3
Dogdocphil
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bay Shore, New York
Default

I kinda feel that the wire from the speed controller is a bit too long. I guess I need to see the battery, speed controller and motor all wired up
Dogdocphil is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:07 PM   #4
silas3d
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,572
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirkus View Post
Can you please show a pic of the Rx battery input lead, from the EC connector to the Vbar? What size wire are you using. This is my only concern, I'm switching from the SK-720 to the Vbar soon.
I didn't shoot a closeup of that but I can tell you that I wired TWO 20 awg servo extensions in parallel to ONE EC3 connector (simply soldered two leads into each bullet...). I then plugged both servo leads into the vBar. The full size vBar has a common power bus... Does that help?
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

TDR | Goblin 770, 630, 500 | Coast Guard UH-60
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:10 PM   #5
silas3d
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,572
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogdocphil View Post
I kinda feel that the wire from the speed controller is a bit too long. I guess I need to see the battery, speed controller and motor all wired up
Yeah, that concerns me a little too. I haven't had a chance yet, but am going to pull the voltage ripple data from the ICE and see how it looks. The leads on the Turnigy 5000 mAh packs are pretty short too...
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

TDR | Goblin 770, 630, 500 | Coast Guard UH-60
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:26 PM   #6
Cirkus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 971
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yuma, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silas3d View Post
I didn't shoot a closeup of that but I can tell you that I wired TWO 20 awg servo extensions in parallel to ONE EC3 connector (simply soldered two leads into each bullet...). I then plugged both servo leads into the vBar. The full size vBar has a common power bus... Does that help?
Yes. That's what I figured. Thanks
__________________
FlightCam
http://ryanbarnes.smugmug.com/
Cirkus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:30 PM   #7
$teve
Registered Users
 
Posts: 342
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kansas
Default

Bragging about not having to pull the canopy to change batteries is funny seeing you have $40 worth of RCbooya quick release mounts, just kidding . I like the EC5 connectors as I'm tired of wearing a welding helmet and yelling "Clear" at the field before I plug my deans in.

I like the 2S setup myself, just don't trust a bec at that voltage.

Nice looking 700E, hope you enjoy it. There are many, many upgrades available to empty your bank account. First off, buy the Quick UK tail.

You got talent, threading that tape thru the battery tray, I think I would have trouble doing that without wasting alot of tape sticking to everything.
$teve is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:42 PM   #8
nuclearchip
Registered Users
 
Posts: 338
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chesapeake, Virgnia
Default

What tail servo are you running? I would like to eliminate my voltage regulator (although I have never had an issue), but I am concerned with my tail servo at more than 5.8 volts -DS650-.
__________________
SAB Goblin Speed, Quantum 4535 500, Scorpion HV160, iKon. SAB Goblin Scorpion 4525 520, Jive 120 HV, Beastx. Team HeliDirect
nuclearchip is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:48 PM   #9
silas3d
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,572
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by $teve View Post
Bragging about not having to pull the canopy to change batteries is funny seeing you have $40 worth of RCbooya quick release mounts, just kidding . I like the EC5 connectors as I'm tired of wearing a welding helmet and yelling "Clear" at the field before I plug my deans in.

I like the 2S setup myself, just don't trust a bec at that voltage.

Nice looking 700E, hope you enjoy it. There are many, many upgrades available to empty your bank account. First off, buy the Quick UK tail.

You got talent, threading that tape thru the battery tray, I think I would have trouble doing that without wasting alot of tape sticking to everything.

LOL - Yeah I was more interested in the "quick release" mounts because of how securely they hold the canopy on. The irony does not escape me...

Regarding the tape - it was actually pretty easy. What you can't see in the pics is that I have a strip of velcro holding each pack onto the tray too. This was to give a little more room for the trays to slide on the rails and to hold them still while I was threading the tape. I used 10" strips of 3/4" strapping tape per a fellow helifreak's suggestion and it wasn't all that hard!

(I have the blue Quick UK tail on it already - first thing to get replaced - thanks again to you guys!)
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

TDR | Goblin 770, 630, 500 | Coast Guard UH-60
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:51 PM   #10
silas3d
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,572
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuclearchip View Post
What tail servo are you running? I would like to eliminate my voltage regulator (although I have never had an issue), but I am concerned with my tail servo at more than 5.8 volts -DS650-.
I'm also running a DS650 with the Align step down regulator on it. I probably don't need it at the 6.6V the LiFePO pack is supplying, but decided to keep it on just to be safe...
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

TDR | Goblin 770, 630, 500 | Coast Guard UH-60
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 07:09 AM   #11
Brett74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,854
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Malmö, Southern Sweden.
Default

Here is my setup. All 610's and Vbar running on 8V from the BEC Pro (running on 6S), gryphon reg. taking the 8V coming out of the Vbar and stepping it down to 6V for the DS 650.

I just change the wiring harness on top of the packs, last photo, in between the packs, two EC 5's and two straps, easy. Motor wires go between the two main bearing blocks back to the ESC, nice short run.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0257.jpg
Views:	983
Size:	90.1 KB
ID:	205864

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0258.jpg
Views:	866
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	205865

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0259.jpg
Views:	810
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	205866

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0260.jpg
Views:	813
Size:	77.6 KB
ID:	205867

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0261.jpg
Views:	700
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	205868

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0262.jpg
Views:	902
Size:	57.9 KB
ID:	205869
__________________
Goblin 770 4540 395 Sig 16S YGE 160UHV VBar (gov)
Goblin 700 4530 540 LE 12S Ice 2 160HV VBar (gov)
Brushless MCPX
Brett74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 06:52 PM   #12
TTRAPTOR903D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 421
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Default

Where did you get those skids?
TTRAPTOR903D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 09:38 PM   #13
nuclearchip
Registered Users
 
Posts: 338
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chesapeake, Virgnia
Default

Probably the same place I got mine... RC-Carbon.com. It takes a few weeks, but they are worth the wait.
__________________
SAB Goblin Speed, Quantum 4535 500, Scorpion HV160, iKon. SAB Goblin Scorpion 4525 520, Jive 120 HV, Beastx. Team HeliDirect
nuclearchip is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:11 PM   #14
silas3d
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,572
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default

Brett74: Thanks for posting more pictures! A picture really is worth 1000 words. I like how you wired your batteries too.

What's your opinion of the nanotechs?
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

TDR | Goblin 770, 630, 500 | Coast Guard UH-60
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:13 PM   #15
Cirkus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 971
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yuma, AZ
Default

Nano-techs are living up to the claims for me.
__________________
FlightCam
http://ryanbarnes.smugmug.com/
Cirkus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 09:04 AM   #16
Brett74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,854
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Malmö, Southern Sweden.
Default

The skids are from RC-carbon, great for flying in the cold, I landed on ice with the standard stuff and they snapped off, cost me a set of tail blades ! The new one are much wider and much sturdier.
The Nano-techs are great, I bought 1 set of Turnigy 40C and 3 sets of Nano-tech 25-50C, can't notice any difference in performance but the Nanotechs are smaller and lighter, makes mounting them easier, let's see how long they last....
__________________
Goblin 770 4540 395 Sig 16S YGE 160UHV VBar (gov)
Goblin 700 4530 540 LE 12S Ice 2 160HV VBar (gov)
Brushless MCPX
Brett74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:57 PM   #17
robertsm
Registered Users
 
Posts: 864
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA, Az., Scottsdale
Default

Looking very nice. I was just going to ask how accurate the size and weight ratings from HK were so thanks. Too bad they don't have them at the USA wherehouse yet.
robertsm is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 09:47 AM   #18
TTRAPTOR903D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 421
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett74 View Post
The skids are from RC-carbon, great for flying in the cold, I landed on ice with the standard stuff and they snapped off, cost me a set of tail blades ! The new one are much wider and much sturdier.
The Nano-techs are great, I bought 1 set of Turnigy 40C and 3 sets of Nano-tech 25-50C, can't notice any difference in performance but the Nanotechs are smaller and lighter, makes mounting them easier, let's see how long they last....
Are you Happy with those Savox servos. Are they the HV series. I was looking at those . The specs are incredible . Just curious. I do like those skids. Im going to order the Extra clearance ones so that I can run a longer tail blade.
__________________
700N DFC 3GX OS91HZR
700E DFC IKON KDE XF700-505 CCHV160
600E PRO 3GX 450 PRO 3GX KDE BLING
RAPTOR 90 3D OS91HZ 1ST HELICOPTER
TTRAPTOR903D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:34 AM   #19
Brett74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,854
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Malmö, Southern Sweden.
Default

The savox servos I have are identical to the Align 610's, they were sent to me as replacements when my BEC Pro fried all my electronics, they work just fine, very noisy though, just like the Aligns off course. I think the best way to protect your tail blades is to have a longer tail skid, I extended mine by about an inch. Savox make HV servo's ?
__________________
Goblin 770 4540 395 Sig 16S YGE 160UHV VBar (gov)
Goblin 700 4530 540 LE 12S Ice 2 160HV VBar (gov)
Brushless MCPX
Brett74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:40 AM   #20
TTRAPTOR903D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 421
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett74 View Post
The savox servos I have are identical to the Align 610's, they were sent to me as replacements when my BEC Pro fried all my electronics, they work just fine, very noisy though, just like the Aligns off course. I think the best way to protect your tail blades is to have a longer tail skid, I extended mine by about an inch. Savox make HV servo's ?
Yes, I want to try one. and they are far less$ than any other HV .. I hope this link works... If not ...go to Amain and search Savox

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_info.php/cPath/61_100/products_id/183317/n/Savox-SC-1267MG-Ultra-Speed-Digital-Steel-Gear-Servo-High-Voltage[/URL]
__________________
700N DFC 3GX OS91HZR
700E DFC IKON KDE XF700-505 CCHV160
600E PRO 3GX 450 PRO 3GX KDE BLING
RAPTOR 90 3D OS91HZ 1ST HELICOPTER
TTRAPTOR903D is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Electric Helicopters


700 Class Electric Helicopters 700 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com