Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2011, 01:41 AM   #1
n8Leon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 262
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cupertino, CA
Default Spartan ds760 mounting orientation

I am switching out my JR G770 3D for a Spartan ds760 on my TRex 500,
and am wondering if people mount the gyro so the FlashLink / connectivity port on the gyro is still accessible?
e.g. is everything cool if I mount the gyro sideways in the usual place on the TRex 500 so the port is facing out the back?
or if I mount it so the main cable is going into the heli and the connectivity port is facing the side frame, will I be able to plug in the USB cable over / around the frame?

It sure seems like I will want to be able to access that port in the future (e.g. firmware upgrade, tweaking settings) but I haven't seen anybody with the port facing out the back, and am wondering if there is a reason.

Thanks,
Nate
__________________
TRex 450 SEv2 : 430XL / Phoenix 35 / 12T / 325 woodies / HS-65MG / GY401 / S9257 / TP PP 2250 / DX-7 / AR6100
TRex 500 GF : BL500L / Align 75 / Castle BEC / 13T / Mavrikk G5 Pro / HS-225MG / Spartan DS760 / BLS 980 / Turnigy 6s-3000 / AR7000
n8Leon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 01:47 AM   #2
lankey
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,574
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St Ives, Cambridgeshire, UK
Default

That's exactly what I do with my DS760- mount it so that the data port is accessible. If I took a photo the port would be pointing aft on the heli!

Being a single axis gyro, It doesn't matter which orientation you mount it, as long as it's square to the main shaft.
__________________
450 PRO, 500 ESP

Due to economic circumstances, the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off until further notice.
lankey is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 07:23 AM   #3
snjbird
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kissimmee, FL USA
Default

+1

That's how I have all of my 760s

__________________
No Plankers were injured in the making of this post!
TOY BOX contents Mcp x, 450 Pro VBar, 500 VBar, 12S 600CF VBar... Mikado Logo 6003D VBar Proudly flying KBDD, MKS, Castle, Scorpion and some planks too
snjbird is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 03:44 PM   #4
n8Leon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 262
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cupertino, CA
Default

Cool, thanks for the re-assurance, that's how I'll do it.

I think the trick will be to keep the main cable from hitting the frame right where it goes into the gyro, as the manual says to "not fix the cable to the helicopter for the first 2 inches from the gyro end to reduce transmission of vibrations through the cable."

Thanks,
n8
__________________
TRex 450 SEv2 : 430XL / Phoenix 35 / 12T / 325 woodies / HS-65MG / GY401 / S9257 / TP PP 2250 / DX-7 / AR6100
TRex 500 GF : BL500L / Align 75 / Castle BEC / 13T / Mavrikk G5 Pro / HS-225MG / Spartan DS760 / BLS 980 / Turnigy 6s-3000 / AR7000
n8Leon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 07:02 PM   #5
snjbird
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kissimmee, FL USA
Default


I added a bit of Hot glue to keep it off the edge of the frame... I did sand my frames before I built the heli, but better safe than sorry!
__________________
No Plankers were injured in the making of this post!
TOY BOX contents Mcp x, 450 Pro VBar, 500 VBar, 12S 600CF VBar... Mikado Logo 6003D VBar Proudly flying KBDD, MKS, Castle, Scorpion and some planks too
snjbird is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 05:22 AM   #6
maraispc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 193
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cape Town
Default

As an alternative:

I mounted the DS760 on the bottom plate with the wires exiting the frame towards the rear. The dataport is accesible through the rear frame cutout on the RHS. The wires are passed under the bottom plate (the length of loop before the wires are tied to the bottom plate under the landing gear is 5cm). With this arrangement I have nothing mounted on the boom block, Rx on upper tray. Gyro on bottom plate. ESC under battery tray.

Not necessarily better, but an alternative.
maraispc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 08:28 AM   #7
DonDuc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 268
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany, Bavarian tribal area
Default

+1 on the wires exiting to the rear and looping forward. Keeps them clear of any parts that could transmit vibration.
I put the gyro below the (Tarot aluminum) receiver tray with the data port facing left. (Rx sitting on the bottom plate)
Alternatively, if you find you want to mount the gyro with the data port inacessable, you could run a short servo extension to some place easier accessed.
__________________
TRex 500 ESP
several hybrid 450s with bits from Align 450SEV2, CopterX, BEAM E4 and Outrage G5
Walkera 4G3 dbl BL
DonDuc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 09:51 PM   #8
n8Leon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 262
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cupertino, CA
Default

Those are all good ideas...
I considered the bottom plate, but rotated w/ the data port to the back which would have pushed the harness against the frame so I dismissed it. I didn't think about lining up the data port w/ an existing frame cut out.
I also never thought of the servo extension, which is kinda' funny, cuz sometimes I do that for the Rx bind port so I don't have to pull it out of the model to rebind.

In the end, I realized I could keep the data port accessible if I kept it right on the rear of the boom block with the extra height from the foam tape. Of course, I'll have to redo it every time I change the belt so the bottom plate is better in that regard. Guess I'll move it there with a servo extension wire after my next crash. ;-)

For posterity here are a few pics:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	side2.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	70.2 KB
ID:	208292   Click image for larger version

Name:	diag2.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	208293  
__________________
TRex 450 SEv2 : 430XL / Phoenix 35 / 12T / 325 woodies / HS-65MG / GY401 / S9257 / TP PP 2250 / DX-7 / AR6100
TRex 500 GF : BL500L / Align 75 / Castle BEC / 13T / Mavrikk G5 Pro / HS-225MG / Spartan DS760 / BLS 980 / Turnigy 6s-3000 / AR7000
n8Leon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 02:00 AM   #9
DonDuc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 268
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany, Bavarian tribal area
Default

I found that the boom block transmits quite a bit of vibes of the TT but since you have a belt, that might not be a problem and the Spartan is not too sensitive anyway.

Here is my setup. To the left there are the access ports, one to the CC quick link and a second short extension to power the reciever with a Rx pack for setup.

The data port of the Spartan is under the velcro strap which can be shifted back a bit to access the port.
The wire bundle on top of the tray is the excess wiring of the gyro so that only two short leads run to the Rx on the bottom tray.

FWIW...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Spartan.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	80.2 KB
ID:	208325  
__________________
TRex 500 ESP
several hybrid 450s with bits from Align 450SEV2, CopterX, BEAM E4 and Outrage G5
Walkera 4G3 dbl BL
DonDuc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 02:26 AM   #10
gfdimopo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 236
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greece
Default

sorry for my question....

I have seen many people use a net for the wires (as the picture above). Where can found this net?
gfdimopo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 07:31 AM   #11
DonDuc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 268
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany, Bavarian tribal area
Default

I got this from Hobbyking (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=9551)

but you can get it from many different places either online (e.g. http://www.wirecare.com/) or you may be able to source it locally from a car audio specialist.
__________________
TRex 500 ESP
several hybrid 450s with bits from Align 450SEV2, CopterX, BEAM E4 and Outrage G5
Walkera 4G3 dbl BL
DonDuc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:45 AM   #12
gfdimopo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 236
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greece
Default

Nice....Thank you for the information!
gfdimopo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:09 PM   #13
ualdrivr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,436
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Default

I always had my Spartan and the RX on a Rick Lohr's tray. It works great.

Here is a recent pic:

Click image for larger version

Name:	T-Rex 500 New CanoMod 02.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	81.0 KB
ID:	208627

Click image for larger version

Name:	KDE Neu Motor 03.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	208628
__________________
At the precipice, we change!

Team GrandRC
ualdrivr is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.