Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information

Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.

Old 03-07-2011, 12:20 PM   #1
mpackio1970
Registered Users

Default Best rc heli for 6 year old starting out?

Hi all,

I'm new to the hobby and wanted to see if you have any recommendations on make/models for my son who is 6.

My main criteria are probably similar to what you'd expect:
  • Since I'm new to flying and he's young the heli has to be able to take a beating.
  • Less than 100 bucks
  • Relatively easy to maintain
  • Easy to fly
I've spent some time reading some beginner guides that are linked to from the forum and I appreciate the information.

Thanks,
Manny
mpackio1970 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 02:38 PM   #2
ChrisH
HF Support

I think the E-Flite Blade mCX2 would be a perfect fit for you and your son. It's super easy to fly and will teach you orientations and flying simple circuits. It's $119 for the Ready to Fly version, which comes with a radio, batteries, and charger. To be honest, you're not really going to find something "hobby-grade" for cheaper than that!

BTW, welcome to HeliFreak Manny!

450 Pro V-Bar
130X
ChrisH is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 02:47 PM   #3
AverageJoe
Registered Users

If you need to save a few bucks, the Blade mCX is $100 RTF.
http://www.bladehelis.com/Helis/
To me, this forum is about the love of flying R/C helicopters. It is about the sharing of information and, on a good day, some humor. It is not about post count, brand of heli, or any other superfluous labels that lend themselves to a false sense of superiority. Respect one another, Try to pass on accurate information. Fly safe.
AverageJoe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:18 PM   #4
rotormonkey
Registered Users