Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2011, 12:47 AM   #1
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default Castle Vertigo 1717/Y1 1500KV / Castle ICE100 user's setup's ect..

I know a bunch of us 600E/6S flyer's bought the Castle 1717-1500KV motor and Castle ICE100 so thought I would start a thread being as I started this mess .Well one person had it before me but hasn't really posted much about it but hope he does here .Let's share gear ratio's as one ot two said they might try a 15T pinion.Also all setting,logging graph's with a video if possible or say what kind of flying your doing,what 6S lipo's you use,cyclic life from the pack's before dropping in power and whatever else you can think of.Not sure about everyone but im kinda new to building electric's but not flying them so if someone see's something in the setting's that should be changed for me or anyone else,please point it out..

I would like to keep the pic's of graph's,setup and video's posted in here for this setup only so please.No other setup's but please feel free to give advice/help if you see something that should be changed or might work better in the setting's ..
__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 12:52 AM   #2
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default

Here's my ESC setting with a video and graph from today..













__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:52 AM   #3
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

good idea chap

mine at present using the said castle motor
164 mod 0.7 main gear
14T pinion
85% flat curve on throttle
align 75amp controller ( castle in the post )
550mm mains (600 in photo now bust )
6s 40/50c turnigy packs

GOES LIKE A ROCKET

ps , mine in a 550 with 600 boom, can i still post on here once the CC turns up ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zzzzzPhoto0112.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	287.5 KB
ID:	220937  
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 02:07 PM   #4
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default

ady,
That's awesome bro ,can't wait to see some graph's .Yup,the heli is all good and doesn't matter,just want this to be about the Castle motor and esc.Could even be another esc running the motor.Just hoping to learn something from this and hope it help's the other guy's that bought the motor/esc..
__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 02:51 PM   #5
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

cool , todays flight log was as follows

this mornings first flight ended instantly with a stripped rex 700 main gear (my fault)

returned a short while ago with a rex 600 maingear fitted and a new 14T pinion

had two perfect 4min flights and one un timed flight which ended with the controller cutting out , the li-po was 3.30v per cell and is now on recharge , the other two finished on 3.60v per cell , managed to put 6130ma back into my 5000ma pack , eek , must remember to use a timer

all 3 flights were very strong and this motor is a serious bit of kit
once the CC logging starts i`ll try some narrow cord 600mm blades but would like to keep to a 4 min flight

cheers ady

Last edited by ady; 04-10-2011 at 04:04 PM.. Reason: recharge data
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 03:17 PM   #6
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

castle ice 100 fitted , 3 fllights done
set as above but using fixed endpoints and 550 main blades
first flight proved that when using the original 85% throttle the motor made a bad noise and upset the works , turned this to 75% and she ran silky smooth
the log showed on first flight that the headspeed touched 2900rpm , 202 amps and 4300watts , but on the tweaked throttle flights , was 2600rpm , 190 amps and 4000watts , i now can not update my cc cos it says unhandled exception but i do have 600 blades and want to set the gov up
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 03:25 PM   #7
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

ok , gone back to castle 3.29 and i can now program the contoller , have used fixed rpm , set to 2250 , one question , my ff6 only has one idle up , the cc program has 3 headspeeds , is 1 normal and 2 my idle up , cheers ady
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 03:31 PM   #8
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

soooooo , looking at the 3 boxes , box 1 , 2000rpm = 30% flat throttle
2 , 2250rpm = 70% thro
3 . 2250rpm = 100% thro

so why in box 2/3 is the headspped the same but has a different %

best just fly it really

ady
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 04:30 PM   #9
Nko15
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,485
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hoorn (NL)
Default

Thats because you are giving it a MODE instead of a input throttle. either run 70 procen TH in idle 2 to get it into mode 2. or 100 precent TH to get it to switch in mode 3.. doesnt matter.
__________________
Designing/Building the HEX Helicopters
Sponsored by Gens Ace Batteries, Gryphon Rotorblades, RCbearings.co.uk,
Nko15 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 04:57 PM   #10
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,779
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

You will always have three governed speeds available and the one in use depends on the throttle curve. So flat 30%=1st=2000, 0ver 50%=2nd=2250 and 100%=3rd=2400 as an example.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:37 PM   #11
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default

ady,
Set your ICE100 up just like I have mine in the pic's above.Remember,your ALWAYS going to use throttle hold to start the motor and turn it off.Set your throttle curve's up like this..

Normal--> 0-30-30-30-30
Idle 1 ----> 70-70-70-70-70
Idle 2 ----> 100-100-100-100-100

Remember to set your throttle hold pitch curve so it doesn't change.When your ready to land,you don't want to be hovering 2ft off the ground and have the heli pop up or pop down and hit the ground from too much negative pitch.
I go right into idleup on both my electric and nitro so I set my throttle hold pitch curve up just like I have my idleup curve so the pitch stays the same no matter what.
Also,make sure the magnetic poles in motor is set to "4" poles.If it's not,your headspeed will be higher or lower than it should be.
__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:46 PM   #12
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default

Also,if you want the higher headspeed for the Trex 550,you'll need to change the pinion.If you don't,you'll drain the lipo faster.The 14T pinion is for a max 2300RPM headspeed..
__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:10 AM   #13
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default

Here's another video and log from today..
I only put 3646mAh back in my pack..


__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:28 AM   #14
philipfrank
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: ft, worth
Default

who sells these motors. didn't see them on the castle website.
philipfrank is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:46 AM   #15
superjoe83
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,022
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon City, Or
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philipfrank View Post
who sells these motors. didn't see them on the castle website.
they were on the castle clearance page, but i looks like they sold all they had
__________________
T-Rex 450PRO V2, T-Rex 700E V2, T-Rex 500EFL Pro ICE100 Vertigo motor T-Rex 550 FBL BeastX, KDE/Neu, ICE100
superjoe83 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 04:40 AM   #16
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

thanks everyone shes now fitted with 600 blades , the rpm is set too . i`ve some time off this week and once the wife n kids are happy i`ll pop out n try it out , will put the log pics on too
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 06:28 AM   #17
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

one very quick flight , due to broken main gear and horrendous tail wag , kept going till the gear went bald , for a bit of a log , max watts 4680 , max current 215amp , rpm 2517 , i have a cnc gear coming and will try again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rex 550 castle 600 blades.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	221572  
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:00 AM   #18
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjoe83 View Post
they were on the castle clearance page, but i looks like they sold all they had
Yup,they sold out..
__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:12 AM   #19
flyinghigh450
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,087
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shelby Twp,Mi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ady View Post
one very quick flight , due to broken main gear and horrendous tail wag , kept going till the gear went bald , for a bit of a log , max watts 4680 , max current 215amp , rpm 2517 , i have a cnc gear coming and will try again
ady,
I would do something to get the current down,215amp's is really pushing it.I got mine up to 207 but I REALLY tried because I wanted to hit max watts.I got the heli going as fast as I could in forward flight and walled it but kept full pitch when I did the wall.

As for tail wag,im sure your gain is up way too high.With this setup,were more headspeed so you'll have to turn the gain down.I had to turn mine down about 27%...

Can you please take pic's of your ESC setting like I did in the first post?
__________________
Team Align
flyinghigh450 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:43 AM   #20
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

here goes
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com