Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video


FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2011, 02:42 PM   #1
tomcarpenter
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: west mids
Default My Trex 500 FPV setup

My FPV heli.

Started on a Quad, then to 450, now Trex 500.

CF frame (not good I know, but this heli was originally my small 'LOS' 3D heli).
AR9000 with 3 satelllites. + Data logger
1.5W, 1.2GHz video TX with home made dipole
EZOSD/GPS OSD
6S power
3S, 500mah video lipo.
Sony WDR700 camera
Trex 600 skids.
Not shown, but I use onboard video recorder Drift HD170.

The setup looks messy, I know.
But I think it's a waste of time hiding wires away. Makes crash repairs a pain, plus I swap things around a lot!!


http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=54993

http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=54992


http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=54991


http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=54990

http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=54989

http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=54988


http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=55000

http://www.helifreak.com/album.php?a...ictureid=54999
tomcarpenter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 06:28 PM   #2
l14m
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

Hi Tom, just be careful how far out you fly. I would seriously recommend adding rssi from your Rc rx to your osd. You will then be able to watch your Rc signal strength (0-100%) and be able to stay in range safely. I wish I'd known about rssi a year and a half ago as it would of saved me a few hundred quid and a hell of a lot of walking lols.
Regards Liam
l14m is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:09 PM   #3
petter268
Registered Users
 
Posts: 548
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norway, Kragerø
Default

If you got OSD, you should just do a range test, and then watch the telemetry. But RSSI is best, ofcourse.
__________________
Don't drink and drive, just smoke and fly!
petter268 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:23 AM   #4
tomcarpenter
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: west mids
Default

You dont get RSSI with Spektrum.

But when I use my UHF, eventually, then I will.

Remember guys, with heli flight times typically 4-7 mintues, you can't actually go very far!

My heli is for flights typically under 800m, for aerobatics.

I check my spektrum after a typical flight and get zero holds and fades. That's even when flying low or behind trees.

I know I am safe.

LOS I can easily go 1Km, again zero holds and fades.

But I cant fly further than about 1.5Km otherwise there is not enough juice to fly home any way!!

RSSI etc is of course vital in a plane when you have 10-30 mintutes flight time
tomcarpenter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:06 PM   #5
l14m
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

I may be wrong but I'm sure Eagletree osd pro has spectrum rssi function. If your not flying to far out and the distances your covering don't give you any glitches then that's good news. I my self am looking into rock solid Rc link out to approx 2 miles. At the moment however I'm happy with just getting some flight time in at around 600 to 800 meters out. I've just recalibrated my rssi on my Thomas near range rx as It was showing about 75-85 % when out at 600 meters which was incorrect. Flight times do vary and for the most, are around 4.5 to 7 mins and pulling around 20 amps in fff. For this reason I switched to flybarless and 4s. I now can easily run for 10 mins and fff hits on average 12-14 amps.
Regards Liam
l14m is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 03:18 PM   #6
tomcarpenter
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: west mids
Default

last time I researched, Eagletree still hadnt sorted out their special cable to connect spektrum data log port (on their receivers) to their OSDpro

It was mentioned on forums, but that was about a year ago. Nothing seems to have materialised.

Even so, I have EZOSD so wont work on mine setup anyway.

But if EagleTree do sort this out then I do have an eagletree OSDpro sitting in a box I could use.
tomcarpenter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 04:38 PM   #7
tomcarpenter
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: west mids
Default

Always trust your instincts!

If you think something's up with your heli, stop, go home and fix it!

But I was so desparate to fly, as windy all week!

Put a new lipo in and now the heli is blindingly fast!

Anyway, I had previously removed the sony camera to change the landing gear. Normally I add some hot glue to stop it slipping. Didnt.
So it slipped.
It was gradually pointing downwards! So to see the horizon the heli was pitched back.
Pretty unflyable, so did my best to make an emergency landing



Shockingly virtually no damage. I must have hit throttle hold jsut at the right time and got down fairly flat.
Just stripped tail gears (it's a TT. when that fails I shall put a belt in!), broken servo are, and bent push rod.

My own fault, avoidable.

Funny thing is I was excited to see what state the heli would be in.
It was OK!
tomcarpenter is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video


FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com