Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 550 Class Electric Helicopters

550 Class Electric Helicopters 550 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Old 05-04-2011, 10:26 AM   #1
AlistairHowie
Registered Users

Default Tail blade balancing

I'm a newbie and having balanced my stock Align main blades, I thought I would balance my tail blades as well for good measure. I was using the small Align blade balancing tool, but depending on which way I fixed the blades on the balance, I got mixed results. Putting the blades the same way around e.g. leading eadge to the top of the pivot balance tool thing, I got one result, turning them the other way with the trailing edge upwards seemed to give another, and opposing the blades gave a third result.

In the end, I balanced the blades when they were opposing, figuring that's the best way since it's how they spin on the machine. They now appear perfectly balanced, but I'm now having second thoughts about whether I should just take the tape off and leave them the way they were because of the ambiguious results I was getting doing it the other ways. (I was careful to ensure the blades were level with each other, using the straight edge of a table to fix them to the balancer). They didn't appear to be that much out of balance in the first place.

In all the Trex 550e photos that I've seen in the sticky to this forum, I don't think I've seen balance tape on any of the helicopters. Should I take it off, leave it on, or try balancing another way?? I haven't got my lipos yet so I can't spool up to check. I presume if they are out of balance, it will be very evident on spool up, but is that the case as well if they are even just a little bit out?

Thx for the input.
AlistairHowie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:23 AM   #2
Chris_M
Registered Users

My HF Map location