Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2011, 10:18 AM   #1
1800BIGK
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cleveland
Default Beastx on 2S

Getting ready to do a build with AR7100R receiver and Beastx with HV servos, is there anything I need to worry about or adjust when running a 2S lipo? I saw this post on rr and just wondered if it still applies.

http://rc.runryder.com/helicopter/t619223p1/
1800BIGK is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 12:55 PM   #2
nexgen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,422
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brainerd, MN
Default

I think that is old news, currently I am not aware of any issues setting up like you are planning on doing.
__________________
GAUI Field RepbeastXTeam Empire Hobby
Gaui 200 •Gaui 550 •Gaui X5
BeastX Castle Scorpion Hyperion Spektrum JR
RC Heli Nation Podcast
The Front Porch, Nexgens Lounge
nexgen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:47 AM   #3
nwmtech
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,696
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bellingham, WA
Default

Nope. I run all mine on straight 2s.
__________________
Team RCHN #2, Team SAB, Team Scorpion, V-Team, Team Optipower
nwmtech is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 08:36 PM   #4
jasonr
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: lunenburg, ma
Default

v2 says right in manual its 2 cell lipo ready out of box
__________________
trex 600 esp- stretched, 12s scorpion 4025 630- hv 85, trex 550e microbeast, flybarless-ice 100-553 edge fbl blades-scorpion 4025-1100, dx7 SE, mcpx stretched- bone stock
jasonr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:19 PM   #5
Helico-pteron
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Glenview, IL
Default

Run an extra power supply to the SYS port and you'll be fine.

As noted above, the MB will run on 2S lipo unregulated. The issue is that only the elevator lead supplies power to the cyclics.
Helico-pteron is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:43 PM   #6
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,992
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Elevator and one other? I have a third lead supplying power through the Sys port.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 08:00 AM   #7
Helico-pteron
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Glenview, IL
Default

Yes, both ail and ele carry power.

With any single line Rx, elevator is the only power source.
Helico-pteron is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:00 AM   #8
Mikey D
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Carmel Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexgen View Post
I think that is old news, currently I am not aware of any issues setting up like you are planning on doing.
Hi, could you further expand on what you mean about this being old news? Are you saying this was addressed in a SW update? I am getting ready to install on a Rave ENV with all HV servos including tail, I'm using Beastx Ver 2

It sounds like people are saying 2S is fine and to add a second Pwr Source?, but what about the high current demands of HV servos?

I've read the sticky on high current setups about 10 times.

I was planning on a Kiwi Regulator

Do I not need to use the regulator with HV servos on Cyclic and tail, and wire straight out of the manual? I am using JR8917HV Cyclic and OutRage BL9188
Mikey D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 10:37 AM   #9
nwmtech
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,696
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bellingham, WA
Default

It's my personal opinion that people made a big deal out of something that didn't need to be. All of my 50s and 90 have ran straight 2s and nothing else. Even nitros so that's one more servo. I wire all mine the same... Dual power leads out of my power source (BEC or failsafe switch depending on N or E heli) . One power lead goes to a port on the RX and the other goes to the SYS port on the beastx. Those combined with the AIL/ELEV patch cables provide plenty of current carrying capabilities and redundancy.
__________________
Team RCHN #2, Team SAB, Team Scorpion, V-Team, Team Optipower
nwmtech is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.