Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2011, 11:15 AM   #21
EXI 450 Pro
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Washington
Smile Flymentor

Ok. I will try the neutral sliders and see what happens.
EXI 450 Pro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 11:31 PM   #22
427notch
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southaven, Mississippi
Default

The dx6i set up helped me alot because I now know that what was shown will work with Flymentor . I am a noob but I have heard that a 7 channel is really best for Flymentor but I do not plan on 3-d so i'm not worried about it and i dont know what the 7th channel would do anyway. The set up shown looks to have electronics cheap enough for someone serious that is a little less than noob..Flymentor has got to beat the idle up switch because the heli does not have to be upside down to fly while it's on the ground..
427notch is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 01:00 AM   #23
IvanB
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Australia
Default

Hey 427notch,
It might be better to have a 7 channel TX, that way you can have the Blue & green wire plugged in and control the gyro and stabilization gains via TX.
Its not so important to change the gain of the gyro (green wire) once you have it setup..set it (with software of programmer.. adjust with test hovers) and leave it...no real need to have green wire plugged in.

You do want the blue wire connected so you can switch between modes...therefore 6 channel is enough.

Dx6i just seem to be very popular as they come with RTF helis like the Blade 400 which is how I got mine...and I guess there fairly cheap, but still very good (some might disagree). The whole setup is as cheap as it can possibly get, but still be reliable.
IvanB is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 03:45 AM   #24
427notch
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southaven, Mississippi
Default

Right now I want what you have set up so I know it works so if I can copy a simple set up that will work
The last powered r/c that l have that flown if you want to call it that had a 2 strings and a .049 cox and that was over 25 years ago.
If I need to forget the dx6i and go for the dx7i just say so because the cx-ct6a I have now sucks so I need to upgrade anyway just use Flymentor.
I bought mt CopterX 450se v2 in 2008 and have spent $xxxxxxx to try to get it off the ground. and have failed. I have $xxxxxx spent on flymentor and xxxx spent just on servos. Now if there is a rtf heli to swap flymentor on to and use CopterX for parts plz let me know..
427notch is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 05:45 AM   #25
IvanB
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Australia
Default

I think you'll be fine with a DX6i...Dx7 could be handy but not necessary. You definitely have to make sure your heli is setup correctly ( ready to fly ) before installing FM.

Getting a RTF heli with dx6i or dx7 would be perfect, cos the heli's ready to go...not sure which one though...I have a Blade 400.

You can buy a heli already setup with flymentor....KDS 450v2 ready to go with TX. It might be more fun to set your own up.
IvanB is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 03:24 PM   #26
blade newbe
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Default blue/grenn wire confusion

Just got the Flymentor my manual shows the Blue Wire as Heading Hold. The video is different. Having trouble getting the tail to stop wagging and not having tail control in hover.
blade newbe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 07:16 PM   #27
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

The green wire controls tail gain, the blue wire controls stabilization gain.You must have an old copy on the manuel.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 04:24 PM   #28
ridgeback32
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dundee
Default

Hi guys
If anyone is out there I could do with a little help. I have installed a flymentor 3d on a HK450 stabilisation is great but I am unable to lock down the tail. TX DX6I RX Orange.
I have tried all settings from 0 - 80 all that happens is the wag changes speed. The only position with out a wag is with the slider set to 100 normal, no HH. The bird flew great using a 401 B gyro before the change. Any ideas?


Hi Guys
I tried fitting gel tape under the gyro no difference, so I stripped and rebuild the tail. The problem now seems to be solved all I found was the tail slider was a little sticky around 1/3 mark not enough to stop movement but just enough to cause a problem.

Last edited by ridgeback32; 04-27-2012 at 03:38 PM.. Reason: Problem overcome
ridgeback32 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 04:56 PM   #29
cruzroy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,571
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ma.
Default

dissable the FM rudder gyro and reinstall the 401 B gyro use both.......sometimes the FM gyro dont work well...try my install videos/ i run a gp750 and the fm in tandem http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=338694
cruzroy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 04:42 PM   #30
lumpy2080
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Default strange behavior

I may have missed something but I have gone through the setup (nice instructional vid by the way) three times now.

1.) No movement from swashplate when tilting heli by hand
2.) tail rotor moves full one direction (with stick) but does not go past "zero" in the other.
It also slowly returns to full by itself.

Everything reacts properly using the sticks....strange.
lumpy2080 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 07:11 PM   #31
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,765
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lumpy2080 View Post
I may have missed something but I have gone through the setup (nice instructional vid by the way) three times now.

1.) No movement from swashplate when tilting heli by hand
2.) tail rotor moves full one direction (with stick) but does not go past "zero" in the other.
It also slowly returns to full by itself.

Everything reacts properly using the sticks....strange.
1. Is FM displaying a flashing green. Is the balancer gain set to 70% in Helibal.
2. Have you set the tail up mechanically and then in Normal mode as opposed to HH mode. It is normal for Piezzo gyros to creep while on the bench.

Hope this helps.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:26 PM   #32
lumpy2080
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Default update

Zeroed everything out to original settings....Swashplate movement now but minimal.
The tail rotor still acting "strangely".

As mentioned...when i move the stick max to right it operates as expected.
When I move it to left it does not go past center. If I move it to left and it centers...and I let go of the stick...it slowly moves to full right even with stick centered.
I must be missing something simple, but as I'm sure you've guessed...I'm the latest n00b to the forum.

I appreciate any assistance on this...trying very hard not to get too frustrated lol.
I have hovered this Blade 450 3D a few times...even landed it once or twice.
Really enjoying getting to know the assembly process! hehehe
lumpy2080 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:45 PM   #33
lumpy2080
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Default strange behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by pril250 View Post
1. Is FM displaying a flashing green. Is the balancer gain set to 70% in Helibal.
2. Have you set the tail up mechanically and then in Normal mode as opposed to HH mode. It is normal for Piezzo gyros to creep while on the bench.

Hope this helps.
Rapid green flashin when (flap) switch set to "0" on my dx6i / solid red when
Solid red & green when (gyro) switch set to "1"
Balancer set to 70% - check
set up mechanically? Normal mode?
Yep, I'm a n00b - sorry I hope I don't frustrate you...the only part of that I "know" is HH.

I fiddled with a few things...one at a time and checked results each time.
I ended up with:
1.) tail servo reversed
2.) yaw rate 8
3.) servo travel 125 (way too much in proper settings I'm sure)

This has given me "some" travel past zero and of course added more to "right" stick.
I'll do some research on "normal & mechanical"
FYI - I have not physically manipulated the tail in any way.

I do appreciate the assist!

-Lumpy
lumpy2080 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 11:24 PM   #34
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,765
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

At this stage need more info. What heli, tx, rx, cyclic servos and tail servo.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:43 PM   #35
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

You should first set up FM with the blue and green wires disconnected and use the programme so you are shure incorrect TX settings are not causeing problems.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 05:48 PM   #36
lumpy2080
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Default more info

Quote:
Originally Posted by pril250 View Post
At this stage need more info. What heli, tx, rx, cyclic servos and tail servo.

e-flight blade 450 3d, spectrum dx6i, AR6115E, EFLRDS76 - cyclic servos, EFLRDS76T - TAIL SERVO

Everything looks right except for the action of the tail rotor. Flymentor seems to operate it fine...it reacts correctly when I move the heli around by hand. I removed the blue wire and checked the software settings...saved to heli then reconnected the blue wire. I just took it outside and after some blade leveling it spins up fine. I nudged the tail to the right and it just about did a full 360....luckily the control links popped off instead of breaking anything.

I'm beginning to think I should have left things well enough alone. Flymentor $$ could have gone towards spare parts.
lumpy2080 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:19 PM   #37
cruzroy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,571
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ma.
Default

thats why i run mine with a gp750 external gyro......i never had luck with the FM gyro........but i know others had and suceeded, but i went external..
cruzroy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 03:24 PM   #38
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lumpy2080 View Post
e-flight blade 450 3d, spectrum dx6i, AR6115E, EFLRDS76 - cyclic servos, EFLRDS76T - TAIL SERVO

Everything looks right except for the action of the tail rotor. Flymentor seems to operate it fine...it reacts correctly when I move the heli around by hand. I removed the blue wire and checked the software settings...saved to heli then reconnected the blue wire. I just took it outside and after some blade leveling it spins up fine. I nudged the tail to the right and it just about did a full 360....luckily the control links popped off instead of breaking anything.

I'm beginning to think I should have left things well enough alone. Flymentor $$ could have gone towards spare parts.
Why did the link pop off ?. It should not pop off regarless of how fast the heli turned you need to fix that.
Are you sure that the link coming off didn't cause the problem ?.
Look at the tail does the slider move a little when you move the stick a little ?, does it look like you have control over it ?.
Is the stick moving it the right way ?. Is the gyro moving it the right way.
Is the stick to sensitive, do you have expo dailed in the wrong way ?. That would make the tail fast.
Have you increased travel adjust on the TX rudder channel ? that will also increase rudder speed.
As I keep saying the first flight with FM should be done with the blue and green wires disconnected useing Helibal settings unless you are 100% shure you know what your doing with settings on the TX.
But as Cruz said if you cant get it to work use a seperate tail gyro.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:36 AM   #39
lumpy2080
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Default update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivor Hill View Post
Why did the link pop off ?. It should not pop off regarless of how fast the heli turned you need to fix that.
Are you sure that the link coming off didn't cause the problem ?.
Look at the tail does the slider move a little when you move the stick a little ?, does it look like you have control over it ?.
Is the stick moving it the right way ?. Is the gyro moving it the right way.
Is the stick to sensitive, do you have expo dailed in the wrong way ?. That would make the tail fast.
Have you increased travel adjust on the TX rudder channel ? that will also increase rudder speed.
As I keep saying the first flight with FM should be done with the blue and green wires disconnected useing Helibal settings unless you are 100% shure you know what your doing with settings on the TX.
But as Cruz said if you cant get it to work use a seperate tail gyro.

I ended up using a separate gyro for the tail and it is working fine...not sure why the FM gyro wouldn't work but things look good. The links popped off when it did the uncontrolled 360 on me...the tail hit the ground and things came apart a bit.
I apologize for the late update but I had both feet operated on again and I've been out of the house for a bit. Thanks to all of you that offered help on this. I really appreciate it!!
lumpy2080 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:15 PM   #40
brushless55
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Default

the more I read about this system the more I want to try it on my TRex-600 for AP work...
brushless55 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com