Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography


Aerial Videography and Photography Aerial Video/Photo from R/C Helicopters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2011, 08:56 PM   #1
BruceHuang
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bristol
Default Jive 80HV with buffer pack

Hello, I have got my buffer pack today. I do connect the slave port to my rx. However, I would like to use a buffer pack as well. Can I just plug in a 4.8v Nicd/NiMn battery in any open channel even with the slave cable connected, that wouldn't do any harm, right?

Also, can I use the align external voltage step down a 2s battery to 4.8v instead of a Nicd/NiMn buffer pack? I don't really like Nicd/NiMn packs.

Cheers
BruceHuang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:17 PM   #2
FSAMedia
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orange County
Default

Either port will work but you shouldn't use a lipo as a back up, as the BEC voltage may vary from your lipo pack. Someone else chime in if I am incorrect.
FSAMedia is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:58 PM   #3
PhotoShip One
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,287
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

do NOT use a regulated lipo pack!!.

Use a 4 cell nimh or nicad. It doesn't matter if you plug directly into the slave port on ESC or an extra channel port on RX.
__________________
DJ Vegh
PhotoShip One

PhotoShip One is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:34 PM   #4
BruceHuang
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bristol
Default

Thanks guys.

So DJ, am I doing right by plug in slave cable to the rx and also connect buffer pack directly to the rx?

Regards
BruceHuang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 10:48 AM   #5
onlocation
Registered Users
 
Posts: 541
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceHuang View Post
Thanks guys.

So DJ, am I doing right by plug in slave cable to the rx and also connect buffer pack directly to the rx?

Regards
Yes, this works fine. What we do is have the buffer pack on a normal RC switch that then plugs into the Rx. This way you can easily power up the Rx and servos with the switch to do a preflight check before you plug your main packs into the ESC.

Also if you are running a FBL unit, then depending on what unit you have, you may want to plug the slave from the ESC into the FBL unit, since the servos actually draw the power from this unit.
onlocation is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 12:11 AM   #6
BruceHuang
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bristol
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onlocation View Post
Yes, this works fine. What we do is have the buffer pack on a normal RC switch that then plugs into the Rx. This way you can easily power up the Rx and servos with the switch to do a preflight check before you plug your main packs into the ESC.

Also if you are running a FBL unit, then depending on what unit you have, you may want to plug the slave from the ESC into the FBL unit, since the servos actually draw the power from this unit.
Hello onlocation,

Thanks for your suggestions, the switch and plug in to FBL unit does make a lot of sense to me.
BruceHuang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 05:04 AM   #7
BruceHuang
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bristol
Default

Btw, guys, I couldn't find the right length tail rod, can I cut it down and glue it to a ball link? Is it safe to do? Regards
BruceHuang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 08:10 AM   #8
raytang
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HONG KONG
Default

I do This Now

Jive can charge to 4.8v Battery Pack
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BEC.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	235189  
raytang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 08:53 AM   #9
BruceHuang
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bristol
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raytang View Post
I do This Now

Jive can charge to 4.8v Battery Pack
Thanks Ray, I see only one cable from the ESC to rx. Do you also connect the slave?

BTW, the HKUST process applications really slow. Iooking forward to check out your work in HK.
BruceHuang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:32 PM   #10
POWERFTK
Registered Users
 
Posts: 209
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US CA LOS ANGELES
Default

http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=304140
POWERFTK is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography


Aerial Videography and Photography Aerial Video/Photo from R/C Helicopters

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.