Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos > MSH Mini Protos


MSH Mini Protos MSH Mini Protos Helicopter Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2011, 04:48 PM   #1
akiyoshinosato
Registered Users
 
Posts: 130
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Japan
Default Battery size

Hi,

I fly a stretched FBL Mini Protos with a 3S2200 batteries, but, since it's tail heavy, I'm thinking of going to a bigger battery. What would be the largest size that I can use on
my Mini? I have a KYPOM 3S KT2600, which is 15mmx45mmx133mm and weighs
210g.

My current setup is
Motor: stock
Pinion:15T
ESC: CC Phoenix ICE50 Lite
Mains: 350mm
__________________
Akira Taniguchi from Osaka, JP___Compass Atom550 with TracX、 T-REX550DFC with CGY750, T-REX250DFC with G31
akiyoshinosato is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:54 PM   #2
rablett
Registered Users
 
Posts: 648
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
Default

I am flying my stretched Mini Protos with ProTek 3S 3300 packs which fit OK under the standard canopy.
rablett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:04 PM   #3
exit44rc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 933
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Default

One of these ought to weigh the nose down pretty well:

3s 3800mAh
http://www.xheli.com/98p-25c-3800-3s1p.html
Size: 135.67 * 42.83 * 26.16mm (L * W * H)
Weight: 322.35g

I saw them this week and was curious as to how they would do.
__________________
Prtos 500, Nano CPx
exit44rc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:26 PM   #4
akiyoshinosato
Registered Users
 
Posts: 130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Japan
Default

Hi, Rablett

Thanx for a quick response. According to info on the Web, the one you mentioned is 45mmx133mmx24mm in size and weighs 300g

I test fitted two Hyperion 3S1600's and found the two in parallel are very good CG-wise,
and they are nearly that weight.

So, I think ProTek would be a perfect choice, though I'm not sure if the shops in Japan
carry those.

Akira
__________________
Akira Taniguchi from Osaka, JP___Compass Atom550 with TracX、 T-REX550DFC with CGY750, T-REX250DFC with G31
akiyoshinosato is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:28 PM   #5
akiyoshinosato
Registered Users
 
Posts: 130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Japan
Default

Hi, Exit44rc

3800mAH? That is huge for a Mini, isn't it? And a bit too heavy, maybe?

Thanks anyways. I appreciate your input.

Akira
__________________
Akira Taniguchi from Osaka, JP___Compass Atom550 with TracX、 T-REX550DFC with CGY750, T-REX250DFC with G31
akiyoshinosato is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:09 AM   #6
Thunder Fighter
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne Oz
Default

Why not go 4s2200, I am thinking of going this way with the stock motor an 14 tooth pinion on the stretch when I get one, but might swap to the new 2000Kv motor if the head speed is too high.

//Dennis.
__________________
SAB Goblin 500 x 2 : SAB Goblin 700 : SAB Goblin 770C : Jeti DS-16
Mini Protos FBL Stretch : Logo 600 : CYE Stingray

Team RCBits | SAB & KBDD Field Rep | www.rcbits.com.au
Thunder Fighter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:15 AM   #7
akiyoshinosato
Registered Users
 
Posts: 130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Japan
Default

Hi,Thunder Fighter,

Yes, I'm afraid that the headspeed would be too high with a 4S battery even if I use 14T pinion. If the stock motor is replaced with another one with the lower KV, that will not be a problem, though.

The new 2000Kv motor? I'm interested to know more about that new motor.
__________________
Akira Taniguchi from Osaka, JP___Compass Atom550 with TracX、 T-REX550DFC with CGY750, T-REX250DFC with G31
akiyoshinosato is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 04:03 PM   #8
exit44rc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 933
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Default

Another fairly popular capacity for 3s is 2600mAh. Those might be around a 250g weight which would give you a little more than a 3s 2200mAh.

EDIT: I read your original post again after I wrote this. Maybe something in the 3300mAh range would work.
__________________
Prtos 500, Nano CPx
exit44rc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 08:18 PM   #9
akiyoshinosato
Registered Users
 
Posts: 130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Japan
Default

Before actually stretching the tail on my Mini P, I thought that a 3S2600 battery would be enough to make it balance out. However, it turned out that only 20 - 30g increase would not be of much improvement CG-wise.

Meanwhile, MicroBeast is doing a good job and gives me a good hover even with 3S2200, so I'm not really pressed to buy larger batteries at this moment.

When I do batteries with larger capacity, I will report back.
__________________
Akira Taniguchi from Osaka, JP___Compass Atom550 with TracX、 T-REX550DFC with CGY750, T-REX250DFC with G31
akiyoshinosato is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 10:45 PM   #10
AusAnt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 424
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

How badly is the stretch out of balance with 3s 2200?

I have one on the bench now and was intending to re-use my 3s 2200 packs (190g) from my Pro, but if it will be impossible to balance should I just stick to the 325 setup?

Also, when those packs die I was thinking of replacing them with 6s, and I can only find the Voltz 1300 6s, and that's only 210g, and even that doesn't seem like it would be enough.

Cheers,
Ant
__________________
Logo Xxtreme
Mini Protos stretch - Mini VBar
AusAnt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 11:39 PM   #11
akiyoshinosato
Registered Users
 
Posts: 130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Japan
Default

AusAnt,

I'd say it's quite bad -- so much so that I'd probably have to lengthen the battery tray more than 7 or 8cm.

I'm not sure how you can balance your Mini Protos using a 6S pack, but probably you'd
be using a different motor and the weight of the replacement motor would hopefully help.
__________________
Akira Taniguchi from Osaka, JP___Compass Atom550 with TracX、 T-REX550DFC with CGY750, T-REX250DFC with G31
akiyoshinosato is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 12:16 AM   #12
AusAnt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 424
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

Thanks. I might set it up as 325 to start then.

I'm not sure but I'm guessing the upcoming MSH 1300Kv motor for 6s setups would probably be based on the same motor as stock, but a different wind. So weight is probably not much different.

Another option would be a 4s pack with the upcoming 2000Kv or so motor, at least there would be more packs to choose from.

Cheers,
Ant
__________________
Logo Xxtreme
Mini Protos stretch - Mini VBar
AusAnt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 08:06 PM   #13
hakiem
Registered Users
 
Posts: 191
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akiyoshinosato View Post
Hi,Thunder Fighter,

Yes, I'm afraid that the headspeed would be too high with a 4S battery even if I use 14T pinion. If the stock motor is replaced with another one with the lower KV, that will not be a problem, though.

The new 2000Kv motor? I'm interested to know more about that new motor.
well, i'm thinking of running a 4s batt using the stock shown in the video. can I use a 40 C batt or should I use a 25C batt ?
the only thing i'm wondering is, how much can the stock motor take with a 4s batt in the long run...

__________________
MSH Mini Prtos
DJI FlameWheel 450
Futaba 14SG
My Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by hakiem; 07-04-2011 at 10:32 PM..
hakiem is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:26 AM   #14
rino2
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Italy
Default

The one in the video is Protos 500 not Mini Protos.....

On Mini Protos using 3S after 3 minutes of moderate 3D flight you have a very hot motor (stock) and I don't think you can go up to 4S without changing it...

My 2 cent opinion.
Rino
rino2 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:41 AM   #15
Ride
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: US
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rino2 View Post
The one in the video is Protos 500 not Mini Protos.....

On Mini Protos using 3S after 3 minutes of moderate 3D flight you have a very hot motor (stock) and I don't think you can go up to 4S without changing it...

My 2 cent opinion.
Rino
Its a mini, just a prototype before the final version was released I believe.
__________________
MSH Mini Protos 4s stretch with Beastx!
Ride is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos > MSH Mini Protos


MSH Mini Protos MSH Mini Protos Helicopter Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com