Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2011, 11:06 AM   #1
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,024
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default Helijive

I bought a heli jive and watched the videos on kontronic and vbar gov so I installed it yesterday when it showed up .I programmed mode 8 and set it up with the vbar gov I was really excited as this is my first kontronic. The 700e that i installed it on was working perfectly with the castle.so i ran it on the bench and it was working great all the sudden the motor just stopped an xera 4035 480kv and my servos were unresponsive bls 253s no smoke or anything I disconnected everything and the esc is dead and my servos are junk too the vbar seems fine i tested with my other vbarred 700e so i sent it back to ready heli today and i have another being delivered monday for the other bird but now im a little gunshy there was no installation errors and all the setup info i got from mr mel on RR I hope Kontronic will step up and pay for the damage to my servos but i doubt they will Its been a terrable experience.
Magneto is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:59 PM   #2
Luisito
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abilene, Texas
Default

Is the LED blinking? If so, how many times? It should give you an error code. I'm curious since I'm about to purchase one.

Luis
Luisito is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:03 PM   #3
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,024
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

There is no led on the heli jive.
Magneto is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:23 PM   #4
flybar-les
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belgium
Default

damn that is f**ed up

anyway, the helijive has a clear case, is'nt there any led on the inside ?
__________________
SAB Goblin 630 12s Vbar
mCP-X + 130X + mCP-X brushless
DSX9
www.rs-modelstore.be follow us on facebook !
flybar-les is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 07:32 PM   #5
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

Jive has a led underneath the plastic in one of the corner.
Only time ive seen a kontronik bec fail has been when there has been a failed servo or cable and it created a dead short, but on my helijive i actually managed to short the becand it just shutdown, nothing more, worked after startup again.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:10 PM   #6
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,024
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

The heli jive dosent have a led that i could find . im going to send out my servos to futaba to be fixed hopefully and install the helijive in my other 700 after i hear of a success story from someone else as bad as it is I still want this esc if it performs as advertised Everyone who owns kontronics loves it. I just got a bad one! I cant find anything wrong with the install the vbar seems fine but i sent it readyheli with the ESC just to be cked out.
Magneto is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 11:15 PM   #7
Luisito
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abilene, Texas
Default

Yes it does have an LED. Just not obvious unless you see it flashing or read the manual. If you power it up it may be flashing an error code. See the manual or check this link: http://www.kontronik.com/index.php?o...mid=32&lang=en

You'll see a screen shot of the ESC up close with the letters LED. The manual explains what the LED blinks mean under section 8.1.

Luis
Luisito is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 11:33 AM   #8
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,024
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

I didnt see the comment on the LED mr mel made that makes sense thats why it didnt see it. No success storys yet I have afriend in Maryland who is installing 2 today for friends hopefully it will go off without a hitch. I wont install my other one until I hear good news.
Magneto is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 06:27 PM   #9
helicraze
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,117
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Victoria, Australia
Default

I had a V6 jive 120HV do the same, vbar survived, but servos dead (brand new) futaba replaced them (thank you) and the jive was replaced by KT
helicraze is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 12:43 PM   #10
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,024
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Well it happened again to jheli It did the exact same thingb on spoolup it just stopped and his servos are fried. BEWARE
Magneto is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 12:56 PM   #11
bkervaski
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Default

Are you guys contacting Kontronik?

Based on this I may send my two units back and I guess just get PowerJive's.
bkervaski is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 01:18 PM   #12
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,024
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

I have kontacted kontronic I havent had a reply yet I will post there reply, in the mean time I have to buy new servos and send the damaged ones to futaba who I called and they said warrenty dosent cover this issue. I bought 2 helijives and they are being returned I dont dare hookup the other one.
Magneto is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 11:05 AM   #13
jmb2232
Registered Users
 
Posts: 104
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: League City, Texas
Default

Has anyone had a failure using the "tried and true" Mode 4 and not using the VBar as the governor? Of course one could ask what's the sense of buying a Heli Jive if you're just going to use Mode 4 (or Mode 11, which looks to be HeliJive Mode5)? I'm starting to regret purchasing mine so soon after its release. Bunch of money just sitting on the table.
Mike B.
__________________
Watch this!! THWACK!!! Honey, where's the checkbook?

Last edited by jmb2232; 07-29-2011 at 06:50 PM..
jmb2232 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 02:29 PM   #14
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,024
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

I belive RH is in contact with Kontronic and we will find out the scoop soon. I was thinking of trying the reg gov too but im just going to wait to see what happens no matter what there both great companies im sure it will be straightened out.
Magneto is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 03:07 PM   #15
jtjohn1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA, Maryland, Sykesville
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magneto View Post
I belive RH is in contact with Kontronic and we will find out the scoop soon. I was thinking of trying the reg gov too but im just going to wait to see what happens no matter what there both great companies im sure it will be straightened out.

My broken one is on it's way to Kontronic now (Not sure what I will be doing about the servos)

RH doesn't have any in stock so it's got to go all the way back to Germany (Only really bad thing about Kontronic)
__________________
Logo XXtreme, Kosmik, Pyro 800-48L Futaba 157s/256. Henseleit TDR, Pyro 700-52, 120 Jive, V-Bar 5.3, BLS253/251. Logo 600SE, Scorp 5020-450KV, 120 Helijive, Futaba 451s/251. Logo 400, Align 510MGs, JR 8900G, Kontronik Jive 80+ LV,Mini Pyro 400-14,
jtjohn1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 06:32 PM   #16
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,115
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Sorry, guys, but from the electronic point of view I cannot see a context between dying of the final stages of an ESC (if died ever and however) and that of a built-in BEC. Especially because there are TWO FETs behind the BEC. If the switching FET of one of the BEC circuits in the JIVE should die (never heard of that) in a manner passing now the raw voltage to the output - there is another FET behind (controlled by the monitoring processor) which will avoid a raw voltage passing.

So I cannot see why the servos should have died by a screwed up BEC.

What I could imagine is a burned FET in one of the final ESC stages because of a bad commutation failure. The tricky thing between the JIVE and the governor function of V-Bar is the time and the way throttle control passes over. The ESC HAS to do the initial spoolup (no chance by an external throttle ramp) and the governor takes over after that - and hopefully at a point of its ramp at which the trottle value doesn't cause a big jump - and that with a hot motor, low inductance etc...

But anyway I do not see a context with the BEC output voltage.
Guess that happened due to a kind of wrong cabling or something like that.

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)

Last edited by dl7uae; 07-27-2011 at 04:13 AM..
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 10:00 PM   #17
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,460
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dl7uae View Post
Sorry, guys, but from the electronic point of view I cannot see a context between dying of the final stages of an ESC (if died ever and however) and that of a built-in BEC. Especially because there are TWO FETs behind the BEC. If the switching FET of one of the BEC circuits in the JIVE should die (never heard of that) in a manner passing now the raw voltage to the output - there is another FET behind (controlled by the monitoring processor) which will avoid a raw voltage passing.

So I cannot see why the servos should have died by a spooled up BEC.

What I could imagine is a burned FET in one of the final ESC stages because of a bad commutation failure. The tricky thing between the JIVE and the governor function of V-Bar is the time and the way throttle control passes over. The ESC HAS to do the initial spoolup (no chance by an external throttle ramp) and the governor takes over after that - and hopefully at a point of its ramp at which the trottle value doesn't cause a big jump - and that with a hot motor, low inductance etc...

But anyway I do not see a context with the BEC output voltage.
Guess that happened due to a kind of wrong cabling or something like that.

Tom
Understood. Can someone report that thier HeliJive is working in Mode 9?
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 12:01 AM   #18
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,623
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dl7uae View Post
Guess that happened due to a kind of wrong cabling or something like that.

Tom
Can you explain what you mean by this?
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:12 AM   #19
eeeyal
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MA
Default

It would be interesting to see what the V-Bar log file says…
I have witnessed a similar scenario with a Jive 80 HV, Mini V-Bar, and 8717’s. In that case as well the ESC went dead, motor stopped during spool up, the servos were dead, but the V-Bar unit seemed to have survived.

Below is the V-Bar log file for this event.

This did not happen to my heli, so I cannot offer any more input. To the best of my knowledge ReadyHeli is taking good care of the person in question and is a great company to deal with.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf FailedVbarLog.pdf (384.1 KB, 96 views)
eeeyal is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 03:54 AM   #20
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,115
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Quote:
Can you explain what you mean by this?
Can you explain your electric setup at first, please?
Which cable ran to where?
Who supplied the R/C voltage? Guess, the JIVE's BEC was it. But was there another voltage supply in parallel, another regulator, buffer pack, Green Caps etc?
What was the BEC output voltage set up? Did you use the Master AND the Slave connector? To where Master/Slave had been connected to?

Etc pp... You know what I mean.

How about the current BEC output voltage? Zero? No LED flashing on power-up?

@eeeyal: I do not find this log very helpful here.. What is the relevant section?

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)

Last edited by dl7uae; 07-27-2011 at 05:21 AM..
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.