Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2011, 10:54 AM   #1
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,612
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default DSMX 11ms locked in

Just finish testing the v bar with dsmx 11ms and telemtry NO EXTRA RECEIVER, and it is so much faster, quicker, and just a BIG difference, I didn't think I could feel the difference, but it is very noticeable very.

I have always used dsm2 and 22ms, dsmx 11ms is Lightning fast, I thought the settings had changed but it hasn't it is just that much faster, I had not 1 antenna switching either.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:19 PM   #2
Busher
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: England
Default

Thats good to hear I am about to take mine out for its first dsmx and vbar flight tommorrow weather pemitting.
Busher is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:17 PM   #3
OverTemp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,669
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Everywhere
Default

Wait till you try SBUS
__________________
1 - LOGO 600 stuffed with angry...no... friendly hornets... looking for a home
2 - Triabolo stuffed with, well, see below
3 - Diabolo stuffed with testosterone, jittery sweat, and rippling flanks
OverTemp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:09 PM   #4
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 39,485
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

You can't use sbus with spektrum equipment.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 09:15 PM   #5
AndrewAZ
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, AZ
Default

How did you get dsmx to work with 11ms? Are you not using 2048 frame rate?
AndrewAZ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 09:48 PM   #6
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,612
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverTemp View Post
Wait till you try SBUS
Have you flown dsmx 11ms? I have flown someone's sbus before, but I could not feel the difference like I can with the dsmx only because I have been flying with this setup and then switched to dsmx, when I flew there's I had nothing to compare it to, I like the feel of Jr and spec radios.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 09:53 PM   #7
OverTemp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,669
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Everywhere
Default

...
__________________
1 - LOGO 600 stuffed with angry...no... friendly hornets... looking for a home
2 - Triabolo stuffed with, well, see below
3 - Diabolo stuffed with testosterone, jittery sweat, and rippling flanks

Last edited by OverTemp; 08-07-2011 at 12:41 PM..
OverTemp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 09:58 PM   #8
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,612
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

I never had a problem with spectrum, even with everything I read if I buy another radio it would be a dx8.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewaz View Post
How did you get dsmx to work with 11ms? Are you not using 2048 frame rate?
Put it in dsmx 11ms clicked bind, then pushed the bind button on the telemetry unplug and plug back in and then bind like normal.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 01:12 AM   #9
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,612
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

Plug the TELEMETRY DATA WIRE into channel 4 in the v bar, the radio I am using is in dsmx 11ms 2048 with telemetry, But your problem is the data wire, this was also my problem but after doing this you shouldn't have a problem.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 08:45 AM   #10
OverTemp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,669
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Everywhere
Default

...
__________________
1 - LOGO 600 stuffed with angry...no... friendly hornets... looking for a home
2 - Triabolo stuffed with, well, see below
3 - Diabolo stuffed with testosterone, jittery sweat, and rippling flanks

Last edited by OverTemp; 08-07-2011 at 12:41 PM..
OverTemp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 09:05 AM   #11
Inverse
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,282
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverTemp View Post
I know. And I don't regret ridding my home of everything Spektrum one tiny bit. Glad it's gone.
Jesus Christ, is it possible to have just one thread without a Futaba fanboi coming in, showing his perceived superiority and rubbishing everything Spektrum?
You own a different radio, that's absolutely fantastic and I congratulate you on finding something that works for you, but this is a thread about Spektrum products and honestly, no one cares that you have a Futaba.
__________________
Compass 3D+ - OS55 Hyper/Hatori/Vbar
Atom 500
Tarot 450 Pro - AR7200BX
Spektrum DX8
Inverse is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:30 AM   #12
edsel.labao
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,330
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverTemp View Post
I never had a problem with a Corolla, but if I could buy an M3 I would. It just feels better. .
Some people will like the corolla for it's fuel efficiency and value compared to an M3.

The OP just wants to use the full potential of his radio rather than be tried to be convinced to switch to another brand. I have never posted on futaba vs spektrum threads, but boy this brings me back memories of a time when people knock on your door and try to convince you to switch to their religious faith. Scary....
__________________
TEAM HORIZON HOBBY
Blade Helicopters - Spektrum


My RC facebook and Youtube Page (please subscribe to get latest news and video):

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
edsel.labao is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:12 PM   #13
OverTemp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,669
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Everywhere
Default

For the last two smart alecks,

1) I drive a Corolla. Love the milage. Admittedly, the Corolla was a bad comparison, or rather I didn't explain it. I'm not in helis to fly a Corolla. I'm in it for the perfect feel. That was the M3 reference.

2) This is not a Spektrum forum, this a vBar forum. Save the parochial thread argument for when you are lurking in the Spektrum forum.

3) The point of the thread was DSMX vs DSM2. These are as different as FASST and DSM2, both operationally and fiscally. In fact, it cost me $10 less in the end to sell the X9503 and switch all my receivers to FASST than it would have to upgrade the radio and get DSMX satellites (thanks partly to coupons though).

4) Using the full potential of his radio... see 3). Again, DSM2->DSMX is as different as DSM2->FASST or HITEC or whatever.

5) Religion was mentioned. Religion implies blind faith, rather than scientific method. Fanboy implies blind faith, or religion. I approach helis and safety with the scientific method (hence not a fanboy... I'll change at the drop of a hat... just did really, just like you just switched to DSMX).

6) Since other points of view pain you so much I deleted my other posts so you don't lose years off your life.

Good day gentlemen. Go swear at someone else.
__________________
1 - LOGO 600 stuffed with angry...no... friendly hornets... looking for a home
2 - Triabolo stuffed with, well, see below
3 - Diabolo stuffed with testosterone, jittery sweat, and rippling flanks
OverTemp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:41 PM   #14
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,663
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Sorry, you cannot "feel" 11ms. Especially not if it is input to a control circuit like the VBar.

Latency is essentially an advertising argument.

Did you ever hear of the human myelin sheath and its latency?

No offense!

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)

Last edited by dl7uae; 08-09-2011 at 05:20 AM..
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 06:08 PM   #15
BarracudaHockey
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,363
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville FL
Default

The 11X doesn't run in 11ms in any case.
__________________
Andy
AMA 77227
Jacksonville FL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BarracudaHockey is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 09:52 PM   #16
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,612
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dl7uae View Post
Sorry, you cannot "feel" 11ms. Especially not if it is input to a control circuit like the VBar.

Latency is essentially an advertising argument.

Did you ever heard of the human myelin sheath and its latency?

No offense!

Tom
If you were to say you can not feel 11ms I could believe you, but your saying someone else can not, do you also have telepathy, you no I use to think you could not feel the difference, but the truth is there is and you can tell, have you tried dsm2 22ms for 20 or
30 flights (I have FOR 2 YEARS with dx7 of course) with the dx8 and then switched to dsmx 11ms if you haven't then what your saying is not from experience, no matter how complex you put it.

Could you post a video of you flying, hey over temp if you or dl7uae are going to ircha I would try your sbus and dl7uae I would set it up for dsm2 and then dsmx and I can bet you could feel a difference.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD

Last edited by jhheli; 08-09-2011 at 12:15 AM..
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:49 AM   #17
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,663
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

You're right. Difficult to discuss the feeling of another.

Bummer, but I do not have the time nor the money left to come to Muncie. And, to be honest, I hate it to sit for many hours in an aircraft like a sardine in the fish tin, and to kill the time in transit at an airport.

Wish you fun there in Muncie!
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)

Last edited by dl7uae; 08-09-2011 at 05:58 AM..
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 08:55 AM   #18
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,612
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

Just curious what radio do you use.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:55 AM   #19
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,663
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Unspectacular: Mainly DX7, few models still on 35 MHz, AR8000, PCM.
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:26 AM   #20
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,612
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

Me to, the dx8 is not mine, I only have the dx7, but I have been using this dx8 in dsm2 since it came out, and never wanted to change to dsmx but the owner persisted that I do it because he has the X receivers.

I turned everything down back to my likings, it just felt like the agility, change of pitch direction and the tail rate was turned up, good thing for bank switching.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com