Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > YGE


YGE YGE ESC Support and Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2011, 09:53 AM   #1
pwkpete
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default VBar upgrade for LV controllers

Hi everyone,

YGE just announced to me that the LV controllers can be upgraded to support VBar governor as well.

The charge for this is 35Euros - it will be a hardware and firmware modification and will include the additional phase sensor cable output from the ESC.

New LV controllers with this feature will cost 35Euros more, so there will be an option of an LV ESC with and without this addition.

-P
__________________
LAHeli Ricco / Sniper, MSH mini Protos / Protos - YGE/BeastX - ElektroRC
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 10:02 AM   #2
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Very nice ! Thanks pete!
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 12:52 PM   #3
prototype3a
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,131
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA, USA
Default

How long till you have a 40A with this?
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 07:06 PM   #4
pwkpete
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default

Will be in the next order in about a week and a half, waiting on some other controllers to become available
__________________
LAHeli Ricco / Sniper, MSH mini Protos / Protos - YGE/BeastX - ElektroRC
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 12:08 AM   #5
Long Nguyen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Socal, USA
Default

Man I wish I had bought my YGE120HV right now so that I can have the upgrade. Mine is flying so good and I don't want to miss it for 3 weeks!!!!
__________________
Long Nguyen

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Long Nguyen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 07:50 AM   #6
pwkpete
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default

Glad to hear it's working well, Long!

The external governor update was supposed to be completed at the end of October. Unfortunately (or fortunately) I got the last shipment with an, "Oh by the way - ", these all have the update

-P
__________________
LAHeli Ricco / Sniper, MSH mini Protos / Protos - YGE/BeastX - ElektroRC
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:20 AM   #7
fusionsx00
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,443
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

Hmm, if I had my sk720 in there I would need that.

I'm waiting for v-bar to release there new sensor
Then I might get that and a new yge with the upgrade.

Now why aren't the larger company's doing this?
This is a smart move by YGE
__________________
DX8
X2MKS95i
X3
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

X5Xera
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 07:24 AM   #8
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

So just to understand, this will basically be a built in phase sensor that feeds the RPM information to the Vbar/Skookum/whatever and removes the need for a separate one? And you have two cables from the ESC - one to the governor port and one to the normal throttle port?

If so, is the only advantage to this that it removes the need for a separate phase sensor, or are there more important changes under the hood, as I was under the impression that the YGE's worked fine with external governors anyway?

Anyway, great move by YGE... really nice to see that the company is driving things forward.
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:04 AM   #9
prototype3a
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,131
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA, USA
Default

One advantage of having the rpm data being fed to the FBL box from the ESC is that it is much more reliable and accurate than the phase sensors. I get quite a few phase sensor errors on my v-bar gov heli using the hyperion sensor.
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:11 AM   #10
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,462
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype3a View Post
One advantage of having the rpm data being fed to the FBL box from the ESC is that it is much more reliable and accurate than the phase sensors. I get quite a few phase sensor errors on my v-bar gov heli using the hyperion sensor.
I can confirm that my VBar Log shows a Lot less "Gov input" errors since I moved from the Hyperion to the YGE Sensor.
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:12 AM   #11
Long Nguyen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Socal, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype3a View Post
One advantage of having the rpm data being fed to the FBL box from the ESC is that it is much more reliable and accurate than the phase sensors. I get quite a few phase sensor errors on my v-bar gov heli using the hyperion sensor.
My hyperion phase sensor induces some errors too! Man this really convinces me to stop flying for a few weeks and send the ESC back for an upgrade...
__________________
Long Nguyen

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Long Nguyen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:58 AM   #12
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

Cool, thanks for the info...

I guess I need to put another one of these on my shopping list soon!
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188

Last edited by zeeflyboy; 09-21-2011 at 03:01 PM..
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 04:05 AM   #13
Norman_nitro
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangkok Thailand
Default

Hello guys ,

I have some question about yge 160HV.

Is it can upgrade with built in phase sensor?

Thanks guys
Norman_nitro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:03 AM   #14
pwkpete
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default

Depends on the build date. You should talk with your reseller - they can work with YGE to find out.
__________________
LAHeli Ricco / Sniper, MSH mini Protos / Protos - YGE/BeastX - ElektroRC
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > YGE


YGE YGE ESC Support and Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com