Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters > 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters


600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 03:38 PM   #1
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,006
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default CC BEC Pro delivering inaccurate voltage

I just tested different voltage settings for my CC BEC Pro Rev2(1.03) running the Castle Link(3.411 software version). These are the results:


4.9v delivers 4.12v (very bad)
5.0v delivers 5.03v (right on the money)
5.1v delivers 5.16v (great)
5.3v delivers 4.49v (very bad)
5.4v delivers 4.62v (very bad)
5.5v delivers 5.53v (right on the money)
5.7v delivers 5.66v (very close)
5.8v delivers 4.97v (very bad)
5.9v delivers 5.10v (very bad)
6.0v delivers 6.01v (right on the money)
6.2v delivers 6.14v (very close)
6.3v delivers 5.48v (very bad)
6.4v delivers 5.60v (very bad)
6.5v delivers 6.51v (right on the money)
6.7v delivers 6.64v (very close)
6.8v delivers 5.96v (very bad)
6.9v delivers 6.08v (very bad)
7.0v delivers 7.00v (perfect)
7.5v delivers 7.50v (perfect)
8.0v delivers 7.98v (right on the money)
8.5v delivers 8.49v (right on the money)
9.0v delivers 8.91v (close)
10.0v delivers 9.89v (close)
10.5v delivers 10.39v (close)
11.0v delivers 10.87v (close)
11.5v delivers 11.38v (close)

This showed me that the BEC Pro is very accurate for the following voltages: 5.0v, 5.5v, 6.0v, 6.5v, 7.0v, 7.5v, 8.0v, and 8.5v. However, the voltages in between and outside these voltages can be off by as much as 0.84 volts lower than the set voltage.

I contacted Castle about this issue. I was told that my BEC Pro was working properly. The tech, Bernie, mentioned that they put their effort into making sure that the "standard" voltages are accurate, but they do not spend much time with the in-between voltages. He went on to mention that he and other techs have tried to remove those other "non-standard" voltage options from the software, but the bosses want to keep these non-functioning voltage settings in the software.

Considering this issue, I strongly recommend testing your BEC Pro voltage output with a digital multimeter before exposing your electronics to the BEC Pro.
__________________
Whiplash E, Synergy's E7SE & E5, Goblin 570, Blade 300X
VBar Silverline x5, SK-540, AR7200BX
DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 5, ACCURC, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
K2Freak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,746
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

I'm running a pretty recent build and it is still happening. I was running 5.8v and getting 4.95 and getting worried really fast!

Thanks for posting this. It isn't an ideal situation, obviously, but it's great to know that what I see is "normal."

//edit - didn't notice where we were. Maybe this should move to the CC forum?
__________________
700E CHP DL 780mm / VBar Silverline / HK-4525 / YGE 160HV / MKS DS660A+ / MKS DS760 / Gryphon Quasar / Scorpion BUG / KDE / Futaba T12Z

Citizen 97
K2Freak is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 05:53 PM   #3
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,819
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

seems like getting off the .5 volt step is where it looses calibration and I can see that in a small unit using a ic for reg

I just run mine and 6v and i'm happy
why where you running at 5.8 anyway
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
03silver
Registered Users
 
Posts: 195
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Default

"but the bosses want to keep these non-functioning voltage settings in the software"

That's so wrong on so many levels. Thanks Johnahamelv for sharing.
03silver is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:41 AM   #5
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,006
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

It seems that the newer BEC Pro's deliver more accurate voltages when set to the non-standard voltages.
__________________
Whiplash E, Synergy's E7SE & E5, Goblin 570, Blade 300X
VBar Silverline x5, SK-540, AR7200BX
DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 5, ACCURC, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:22 AM   #6
Commodore8888
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,744
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rockville, Maryland
Default

Does it say v2 on the casing?

Tempted to go hook mine up for curiosity's sake. Running it at six and only when I've loaded it pretty badly it sags about .3~.4v
__________________
"Resident Mad Scientist"
E5-S KDE 600XF / N7 1.20SRX
450 Pro V3 / Mod 130x / mCPX BL/ iKon Powered Crack Yak

Mike D--Team Synergy/AwesomeRC Hobbies
Commodore8888 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:09 PM   #7
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,006
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

All 4 of my BEC Pro's are V2. I did the original voltage test on my older two v2 BEC Pro's with the square case. I performed the recent voltage test on the v2 BEC Pro with the rounded case design, and have not retested the older BEC Pro's. I understand that Castle claims that all the v2 BEC Pro's have the same internal hardware despite looking different outside, but I am just posting voltage test results at the bench.

Older v2 BEC Pro with square.


Newer v2 BEC Pro with rounded design.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BEC Pro round.JPG
Views:	280
Size:	122.6 KB
ID:	383481   Click image for larger version

Name:	BEC Pro square.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	18.6 KB
ID:	383482  
__________________
Whiplash E, Synergy's E7SE & E5, Goblin 570, Blade 300X
VBar Silverline x5, SK-540, AR7200BX
DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 5, ACCURC, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bec, bec pro, castle, voltage




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters > 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters


600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com