Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System > Align 3GX FBL System


Align 3GX FBL System Align 3GX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 06:07 AM   #1
shepster
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wales, UK
Default Bite the bullet and go for Beastx guys

Listen guys, Ive been trying to convert my trex 250 to fbl for 6 months now and finally ive got it flying well.
Ive had Align 3g, Align 3GX and finally Beastx. I can tell you Beastx is the easiest quickest way to get a flybarless setup airbourne and flying well.
I am flying a trex 250, which is notoriously difficult to convert to flybarlss.
I have spent months trying to tune in align fbl units, even taking my laptop to the field in an effort to tune it all in. Reading through all the posts on helifreak and trying different recommended setups, but no success. With the 3gx, i tried everything including mounting the unit in all possible positions on the heli. It was so frustrating i almost gave up on flybarless and convert back to flybar. But then i decided to have one more go and invest in a beastx.
The beastx was very easy to setup and flew well on the first flight. A few batteries later, and it was flying like a dream, I kid you not. The beastx unit lets you get on with the flying and less of the tweaking. Furthermore, any tweaking can be done at the field wothout a laptop. I have spent months tweaking align products will little success, and only a few hours on the beastx.
The other thing about the beastx is i can do away with my rx using a 6 channel TX, and fit a satellite - this cant be done on the 3gx without a 7 channel tx.
So my advise is to sell the 3gx on a well known auction site and treat yourself to a beastx - even if you make a loss, you will be glad you did.IMHO,
shepster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 07:32 AM   #2
Lighty
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

What was your problem with the 3GX? After reading all that I couldn't find the problem with your 3GX...

I have the 3GX on my 250 and it flys FINE with mild 3D. Pitch pumps are perfecto... for $180 the 3GX is gooood. Running V1.0

ciao
Lighty is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:04 AM   #3
eightythree
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,214
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chicago
Default

I just dont get it... yeah fine and dandy for you, but this is a completly different forum..
Go praise in the Beast forum! Advice not taken
eightythree is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:38 AM   #4
shepster
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wales, UK
Default

thanks for the feedback.
With the 3g, i had a random tail kick - this could happen at any time
With the 3gx, i had elevator bobble which could be ok in calm conditions, but if flown in more windy conditions the bobbles came back so i had to dial it out again. I just found it impossible to dial in completely for all weather conditions. This could be because it is a 250 and easily thrown about, i'm not sure.
Fair comment eightythree. I guess this is what has worked for me.
shepster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:54 AM   #5
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,542
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eightythree View Post
I just dont get it... yeah fine and dandy for you, but this is a completly different forum..
Go praise in the Beast forum! Advice not taken
+1

See you in the MB forum, shep!
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 10:44 AM   #6
shepster
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wales, UK
Default

Cheers Bob.
they know im right. give em a few months and they will be over there too!
shepster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:15 AM   #7
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,542
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shepster View Post
Cheers Bob.
they know im right. give em a few months and they will be over there too!
shep,

You really need to stop posting BeastX stuff in this forum.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 04:01 PM   #8
jamesb72
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,274
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob O View Post
See you in the MB forum, shep!
Your kidding me ? I didn't realise there was a beastX forum - I figured thats why all the beastx owners/fanboys constantly post in the 3G/3GX forum ???

Next you'll be telling us there are vbar/futaba/kontronics forums as well

I guess maybe I'm strange, I only read/post in the forums for stuff I own/use !

Last edited by jamesb72; 10-22-2011 at 04:04 PM.. Reason: spellign
jamesb72 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:35 AM   #9
JasonA
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SoCal, SanFernando Valley
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shepster View Post
this cant be done on the 3gx without a 7 channel tx
Why? I'm running a 3GX with my Airtronics RX600 just fine! No need for a 7ch. Only the inexperienced can't figure it out

Go troll else where
JasonA is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 01:02 AM   #10
magbarn
Registered Users
 
Posts: 771
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southern CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonA View Post
Why? I'm running a 3GX with my Airtronics RX600 just fine! No need for a 7ch. Only the inexperienced can't figure it out

Go troll else where
The 7 channel requirement is for Spektrum/JR satellite setups ONLY, full Spektrum receiver, Futaba and any other 6 channel setup using a seperate receiver are immune from this limitation.
__________________
Blade 4503D, MCP-x, MSRx, MCX2 Dx8
Align T-rex 450 BeastX FBL
T-rex 500EFL I V-bar mini T-rex 500EFL II BeastX
T-rex 600EFL V-bar T-rex 700E V-Bar
magbarn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 04:07 AM   #11
mukenukem
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austria
Default

Funny. I went the other way. Tried over a year to get the 250 working (really) with the MB. 3D and stuff. After throwing it out and using a 3GX I love the 250 like I loved it before I went fbl on it. It's fun again.
mukenukem is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 04:30 AM   #12
Lighty
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

The 3Gx on the 250 just rocks!

I have the 3G on the 500 and was thinking of getting it for that.. But since it flys so good I'm thinking I would be just throwing money away...
Lighty is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:42 PM   #13
JasonA
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SoCal, SanFernando Valley
Default

Only thing that bothers me now (since this is a rant and troll thread) is I just saw the new vBar software in person...

OMG!!!.. WOW!!

It makes the 3gx 1.2 looks like a kids project that keeps on crashing and for simpletons.

I mean come on Align... REALLY?

It almost makes me want a vBar just for the software alone!!!
JasonA is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 06:59 PM   #14
Lighty
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Yea I have to agree without the Align branding I do feel like I own a tarot FBL unit... but it works..

The software in v1.2 the new slider is overlapping and cannot read what tit says. LOL
Lighty is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 07:49 AM   #15
dna001
Registered Users
 
Posts: 868
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: uk Isle of wight
Default

I think this will be the way fbl units will be going soon anyway, Touch Screen :-)

Going to need a better pear of glasses though :-(




http://www.*******************/news-...arless-system/

http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/thun...ml?language=de

.
__________________
SAB Goblin 700 750MX BeastX - Compass Warp 360 Scorpion HK2520-1360KV V-Bar?
T-Rex 700N LogicTech 6100 - T-Rex 600N FBL OS55 -T-Rex 550FLB Spartan VorTex
T-Rex 450L-6S V-Bar? ----- Blade 130x ---- McpX BL--- DJI Phantom FPV
TBS Discovery FPV
dna001 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 06:14 AM   #16
Stevin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,001
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: bronx , ny
Default

God I hope that heat from the heli doesnt trigger the touch screen and change settings mid flight........
__________________
Avant E-Aurora FBL Vbar 5.3pro / Trex 450 pro vbar 5.3pro/ Velocity50 Vbar 5.3pro / Trex 600efl PRO Flybarless vbar/CC HV80 / Outrage 550 VBAR5.2Pro/ICE100 Heliflightcenter Team Pilot
Stevin is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System > Align 3GX FBL System


Align 3GX FBL System Align 3GX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com