Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2011, 11:06 AM   #1
helidude71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,587
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default v3.0.8 cyclic gain (Dial 1)

With v3.0.0 dial 1 any higher then dead center would make my head oscillate.
Today I did some testing and I could almost put dial 1 into the upper corner before oscillation starts.

Anyone else noticed this change, or is it just me?
__________________
T-Rex 500 ESP FBL, Microbeast v3, Scorpion HK-3026-1600, CC ICE 75
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Mini VBar 5.3 Pro, S.Bus, DS610s, DS650, YGE 100LV
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and Blade 300X.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:12 PM   #2
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 25,478
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

I haven't had a chance to fly the update yet. Hopefully tomorrow or the next day.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1, WARP 360 - VX1n
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:36 PM   #3
trexpro
Registered Users
 
Posts: 722
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: NL
Default

I never had that problem with V3.0 and now with V3.0.8 its perfect to
__________________
We Men Need a Second Hobby, Besides Women
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Futaba T14SG, Vbar 5.3 pro, Kontronik, Align, IKON, 3GX, Vario, WR Hercules
Mikado, Scorpion, BeastX V3, Genius, Devo 7, Hyperion, JetCat Turbine, APS, BD3SX
www.modelhelicopter-review.nl
trexpro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:08 PM   #4
helidude71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,587
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

It's not a problem but something I noticed.
Can you crank up dial 1 much higher then before with v3.0.0?
__________________
T-Rex 500 ESP FBL, Microbeast v3, Scorpion HK-3026-1600, CC ICE 75
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Mini VBar 5.3 Pro, S.Bus, DS610s, DS650, YGE 100LV
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and Blade 300X.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:34 PM   #5
trexpro
Registered Users
 
Posts: 722
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: NL
Default

Was not necessary, my heli flew fine without tuning dail 1 so i left it center. Tomorrow I fly and will try it out

I'll let you know
__________________
We Men Need a Second Hobby, Besides Women
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Futaba T14SG, Vbar 5.3 pro, Kontronik, Align, IKON, 3GX, Vario, WR Hercules
Mikado, Scorpion, BeastX V3, Genius, Devo 7, Hyperion, JetCat Turbine, APS, BD3SX
www.modelhelicopter-review.nl
trexpro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 03:27 PM   #6
helidude71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,587
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Thanks!

I wish I could fly tomorrow.
When I'm back from work it's dark outside.
__________________
T-Rex 500 ESP FBL, Microbeast v3, Scorpion HK-3026-1600, CC ICE 75
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Mini VBar 5.3 Pro, S.Bus, DS610s, DS650, YGE 100LV
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and Blade 300X.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 05:13 PM   #7
latte
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,454
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norway, Fredrikstad
Default

I put on some 713 Edge blades on my 700 today, and noticed a slight wobble. A buddy at the trip thought it may be worn dampeners.
__________________
700E DFC - Ikon
700N FBL - Ikon
latte is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 01:14 PM   #8
trexpro
Registered Users
 
Posts: 722
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: NL
Default

Hi helidude71,

I've experimented with dial 1 and you're right, you can indeed turn dial 1 way above center before oscillation starts. Is this good or not
__________________
We Men Need a Second Hobby, Besides Women
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Futaba T14SG, Vbar 5.3 pro, Kontronik, Align, IKON, 3GX, Vario, WR Hercules
Mikado, Scorpion, BeastX V3, Genius, Devo 7, Hyperion, JetCat Turbine, APS, BD3SX
www.modelhelicopter-review.nl
trexpro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 04:48 PM   #9
Chargersforlife
Registered Users
 
Posts: 360
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego C.A.
Default

It wont oscillate in a hover, but try some real hard cyclic and collective manuevers and I bet it will oscillate.
__________________
Compass Atom 500, Beastx Hitec hs5245mg,Savox 1290mg
Chargersforlife is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 05:15 PM   #10
helidude71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,587
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chargersforlife View Post
It wont oscillate in a hover, but try some real hard cyclic and collective manuevers and I bet it will oscillate.
Hell yes it did oscillate in a hover anything above dead center! (On my 500 bird.)

trexpro, glad you see the same thing. I thought my mind was playing with me.
Question is indeed, why?
I guess we need some time to tune dial 1 again.
__________________
T-Rex 500 ESP FBL, Microbeast v3, Scorpion HK-3026-1600, CC ICE 75
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Mini VBar 5.3 Pro, S.Bus, DS610s, DS650, YGE 100LV
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and Blade 300X.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 05:37 AM   #11
regalmat
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ashburn VA
Default

I upgraded to 3.0.8 on my Trex 500 ESP and now in IU 1 I get tail bob and in IU2 I get a hard drift to the left. In normal it is stable but the tail isn't locked in because the HS is too low.

Not sure what's going on--may change dampers and see if it makes a difference. It was flying fine before the upgrade.
regalmat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:50 PM   #12
airjawed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,357
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cliffside Park NJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by regalmat View Post
I upgraded to 3.0.8 on my Trex 500 ESP and now in IU 1 I get tail bob and in IU2 I get a hard drift to the left. In normal it is stable but the tail isn't locked in because the HS is too low.

Not sure what's going on--may change dampers and see if it makes a difference. It was flying fine before the upgrade.
FBL units can mask underlying problems. Something probably wasn't right before the firmware change. First thing to do is increase your headspeed according to the designs of the tail and head. Too many people are lowering the headspeeds because the FBL unit can compensate for slower roll rates by giving more cyclic...however this leads to loss of tail authority and to head vibrations and bobbing.

Is the headspeed in the manufacturer's recommendation range?
__________________
Trex 450 Pro 3xDS410M + MKS8910A+, Align FBL head w/Microbeast, CC 45 Gov@ 3400rpm(max timing, outrunner mode), Scorpion 2221-8 on 14t, Edge FBL main and tail, CF boom, CC BEC @ 6V
airjawed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 07:06 PM   #13
regalmat
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ashburn VA
Default

Thanks. I'm trying out a new head speed app and will check it.
regalmat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 05:04 PM   #14
Chargersforlife
Registered Users
 
Posts: 360
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego C.A.
Default

Helidude, in your original post you said this "Today I did some testing and I could almost put dial 1 into the upper corner before oscillation starts"

Then you said "Hell yes it did oscillate in a hover anything above dead center! (On my 500 bird.)"

__________________
Compass Atom 500, Beastx Hitec hs5245mg,Savox 1290mg
Chargersforlife is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 10:58 AM   #15
helidude71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,587
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chargersforlife View Post
Helidude, in your original post you said this "Today I did some testing and I could almost put dial 1 into the upper corner before oscillation starts"

Then you said "Hell yes it did oscillate in a hover anything above dead center! (On my 500 bird.)"

You left out an important piece of the puzzle.
If you read again my opening post, are you then still confused?
__________________
T-Rex 500 ESP FBL, Microbeast v3, Scorpion HK-3026-1600, CC ICE 75
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Mini VBar 5.3 Pro, S.Bus, DS610s, DS650, YGE 100LV
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and Blade 300X.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 04:35 PM   #16
Chargersforlife
Registered Users
 
Posts: 360
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego C.A.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helidude71 View Post
You left out an important piece of the puzzle.
If you read again my opening post, are you then still confused?
I'm not confused, you are. You must have misread my post. This isn't very confusing lol
__________________
Compass Atom 500, Beastx Hitec hs5245mg,Savox 1290mg
Chargersforlife is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 04:41 PM   #17
helidude71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,587
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

I am confused. lol
Well let me refrase.

With v3.0.0 I could NOT set dial 1 any higher then dead center.
Otherwise it would oscillate.
With v3.0.8 I can set dial 1 MUCH higher and no oscillation.
Oscillation starts when it almost hits the upper corner.
__________________
T-Rex 500 ESP FBL, Microbeast v3, Scorpion HK-3026-1600, CC ICE 75
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Mini VBar 5.3 Pro, S.Bus, DS610s, DS650, YGE 100LV
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and Blade 300X.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com