Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Helicopter Safety


Helicopter Safety R/C Helicopter Safety


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 03:59 PM   #41
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry227 View Post
For tracking I use the method that the Vbar setup software recommends. At exactly midstick/0* pitch fold the blades out to the side of the heli and see if the tips are even. If not adjust links until they are. I've never had to make any adjustments in the field after I started doing it that way. Tracking is always spot on.
Note: On larger helis it can be hard on the servos so some people lay the heli on it's side so they just hang down.
This will only work if the swash is perfectly level, however. So you still may need to tweak it a turn in flight.

It is very obvious if the tracking is out, you see two blades its no good, just one its fine... so lasers are not needed.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 04:04 PM   #42
Skiddz
HF Support
 
Posts: 28,304
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA (USA)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by npomeroy View Post
A tethered heli at hover power-pitch will load the blades.
True, but the blades will be in ground effect and all the recirculating air is not the same as the heli in the air, up out of ground effect. The surface the helicopter is over when strapped down will have an effect as well...
__________________
-Kevin

No helicopters were harmed in the creation of this post.
AMA CD # 7309, Turbine Waiver# RW 890

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Skiddz is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 04:17 PM   #43
npomeroy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,930
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddz View Post
True, but the blades will be in ground effect and all the recirculating air is not the same as the heli in the air, up out of ground effect. The surface the helicopter is over when strapped down will have an effect as well...
Yeah, OK. But if you consider all the flight loads a heli has to operate under, hover thrust in ground effect is a fair approximation. No-one ever suggested you needed separate blade tracking for hover, hard collective pumps, banked turns, etc.
npomeroy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 04:36 PM   #44
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,560
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I must be missing something here, what is the problem with HOVERING your heli to check ?
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 05:27 PM   #45
npomeroy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,930
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
I must be missing something here, what is the problem with HOVERING your heli to check ?
I mentioned earlier, that at least for me when I was a newbie, I was not able to hover the the heli still enough to see properly. And done at a safe distance I don't see a problem of doing it at ground level (NOT on a BENCH).
And I'm thinking about the newbie, who may not be competent at the pitch measurements who wants confirmation the blades are tracking OK.
npomeroy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 06:11 PM   #46
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by npomeroy View Post
I mentioned earlier, that at least for me when I was a newbie, I was not able to hover the the heli still enough to see properly. And done at a safe distance I don't see a problem of doing it at ground level (NOT on a BENCH).
And I'm thinking about the newbie, who may not be competent at the pitch measurements who wants confirmation the blades are tracking OK.
Yep for a newbie, safest to do with a touch of -ve pitch (1deg is fine) on the ground as long as you stay well back. Dont spin up anything bigger than a 250 (even that is pretty scary IMO) indoors with blades on, too risky.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:09 PM   #47
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 40,959
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

If you setup the head and rod lengths even eyeing them, why not just fly the heli to do the maybe one half or max 3 turns to dial it in. Strapping down a heli is not a good idea IMHO. Running a heli with the mains off is something I have never needed to do either. Ask the boat guys if doing more than idle is good for the drive train when no load is on it. There is no reason to do anything but setup correctly then test fly a machine to set the tracking. Sheesh.
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 01:53 AM   #48
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,652
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

I will be setting up a 600 FBL system for the first time and i will VERY concerned with that first flight. I there any way to test it first, iwas hoping to bench test it . Just thinking out loud here, guess I can run the electronics w blades off .
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:13 PM   #49
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrultralite View Post
guess I can run the electronics w blades off .
Do that, make sure the swash does what it should (will tell you if there are excessive vibrations). The maiden it like you would any FB heli, if you have checked the setup (instructions will be with for FBL unit) then it wont do anything mental.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 11:23 PM   #50
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,238
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrultralite View Post
I will be setting up a 600 FBL system for the first time and i will VERY concerned with that first flight. I there any way to test it first, iwas hoping to bench test it . Just thinking out loud here, guess I can run the electronics w blades off .
I guess you missed the post right before yours?

If you set it up correctly, the maiden hover or flight should be a non-event. Do not treat it as a FB heli though. You do not want to give any cyclic input while the heli is spooled up but sitting on the ground, at least not until you're familiar with the FBL system and proficient with things.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:16 PM   #51
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,652
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

''If you set it up correctly'' , that might be a big ''if'' , but i get your point shouldn't be that bad.
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:45 PM   #52
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,560
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I'd rather spool up an improperly setup heli at the field then in my house strapped down
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 06:39 PM   #53
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 22,943
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
I'd rather spool up an improperly setup heli at the field then in my house strapped down
Exactly. We can argue for pages, but I'll always come back to spooling up a tethered heli is a recipe for disaster.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750,Logo 400SE 600SE, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD

My products, flown by top pilots around the world, like you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 06:42 PM   #54
e92vancouver
Registered Users
 
Posts: 48
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Default

It was a pretty stupid newbie question of me to ask, but Youtube is littered with videos of people spooling up their helis on a work bench or kitchen table. Now I know and thank you!!!!!
__________________
Blade 450 | Blade CP Pro | Cobra Elite Gyro Mini
e92vancouver is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 06:43 PM   #55
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 22,943
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by e92vancouver View Post
It was a pretty stupid newbie question of me to ask, but Youtube is littered with videos of people spooling up their heli's on a work bench or kitchen table. Now I know and thank you!!!!!
No, it was a great question. You probably saved a few of our buddies from some pain!


Many things are intuitive, I don't think this one is.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750,Logo 400SE 600SE, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD

My products, flown by top pilots around the world, like you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:07 PM   #56
TexasC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 505
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKPhill View Post
But a person normally checks tracking when hovering the heli at the flying field
Good luck on this tracking issue
You're assuming that he can hover
TexasC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 05:49 PM   #57
osterizer
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Default

If you can't hover it doesn't matter. The point is that tracking doesn't make your heli crash. If it's way off, then you'll see it when it's spinning up. If it's not, then you can take it off and fly; if you can't hover yet, you'll still probably see it's off in the few seconds before impact, but then it won't matter now that you're taking it apart again . And if you can hover it, then you can see how it's doing.

I'll echo the others, though, in pointing out that if one has a reasonably good heli and is diligent in setting it up on the bench, then it won't need much adjustment if any-- so coming at it all different directions doesn't really make any progress. It just isn't necessary to tie the heli to anything for this. So why do it?
osterizer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 05:03 PM   #58
ForHim
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA, CA, Lodi
Default Powering RX with battery while esc is plugged in

I want to power my rx directly with a 6V battery through a spare channel on the RX while the ESC is plugged in without a battery connected to the ESC. When I do this the motor will slightly twitch as I move the throttle.

I have built the 450 Pro V2 (flybar edition) Super Combo and use all the parts it came with. I hope to be able to continue doing this without damaging the ESC or anything else. All my connection are inside the frame and not accessible, and I would prefer to leave it that way.

Any thoughts on the electronics getting fried with this setup? I would never have both batteries plugged in at the same time. I just want to be able to tweak my pitch curves and check things out without the blades accidentally flying about my face.
ForHim is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:02 PM   #59
razeyoshi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 314
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Korea
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForHim View Post
I want to power my rx directly with a 6V battery through a spare channel on the RX while the ESC is plugged in without a battery connected to the ESC. When I do this the motor will slightly twitch as I move the throttle.

I have built the 450 Pro V2 (flybar edition) Super Combo and use all the parts it came with. I hope to be able to continue doing this without damaging the ESC or anything else. All my connection are inside the frame and not accessible, and I would prefer to leave it that way.

Any thoughts on the electronics getting fried with this setup? I would never have both batteries plugged in at the same time. I just want to be able to tweak my pitch curves and check things out without the blades accidentally flying about my face.
you will be fine, mine twitches too without flight pack connected. if your really that worried about it unplug your esc connector on the throttle channel or your three motor wires, then set up pitch curves...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
razeyoshi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 06:19 PM   #60
MLFLY
Registered Users
 
Posts: 287
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL
Default

I did my setup with TH on. If TH is off, then I assume I'm flying lol
__________________
Mcpx v2, 130x, 300x
DX8, iCharger 206B
MLFLY is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Helicopter Safety


Helicopter Safety R/C Helicopter Safety

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com