Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2011, 08:41 AM   #1
mistercrash
Registered Users
 
Posts: 418
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Default Spektrum binding to Walkera and Solo Pro

This is what I need and I'm sure many others would love it. I want someone to figure out how to make my Spektrum radio bind to micro helis like the Walkeras and Solo Pros. I would love to get those helis, like the Genius CP and the Solo Pro 180, but I don't wish to have the extra radios, I want to use my DX7. Is it possible? I have seen some very knowledgeable and talented people in here do amazing stuff, there must be someone, somewhere who can figure this one out.
__________________
No brain, no headache.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mistercrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:55 AM   #2
flyul1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 451
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pierron IL, USA 62273
Thumbs down

They don't speak the same langue. There are no modules for Walkera or Nine Eagles. So I dont see it happening. It's bad news but it's true.
__________________
Keith Smith
Whiplash 90 E, Furion 6s, Furion 450s, Xcell 60, T-REX 600s, T-REX 450s, 300X, 130X, MCPXs. I'll fly what I want to fly. You do the same.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
flyul1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:55 AM   #3
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 22,713
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

I switched from my rock solid Futaba to JR when I went to 2.4G just so that it would be compatible with Spectrum, VBAR, and some of the RTF helis and planks. I was ready to buy a Genius till I realized it was not compatible. Its just not worth it to me to drag around another TX.

I wish that there was one standard that everybody would have to conform to. IMHO, these competing formats are NOT in the consumers best interest.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750,Logo 400SE 600SE, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD

My products, flown by top pilots around the world, like you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:53 PM   #4
Arven
Registered Users
 
Posts: 236
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Zealand
Angry

Yeah I want the same thing! to be able to use my new Solo PRO 180 3G with my dx7 that i use with my other 6 helis & 20 odd planes! ;P Sucks that i would have to replace almost all the electronics on the 180 to be able to do this... Would cost more than the whole heli to put a new receiver, flybarless gyro, ESC etc into it.
Arven is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:55 PM   #5
Arven
Registered Users
 
Posts: 236
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Zealand
Default

I meant 10 odd planes seeing as it only has 20 model memory on the DX7! ;P
Arven is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:25 PM   #6
MpVpRb
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,449
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistercrash View Post
This is what I need and I'm sure many others would love it. I want someone to figure out how to make my Spektrum radio bind to micro helis like the Walkeras and Solo Pros
As far as I know...it's impossible for the average hobbhyist.

Now, if an uber-hacker decided to attack it...all bets are off.
__________________
Compass 7HV, Atom 500, Trex 450, all VBAR
Phoenix sim
MpVpRb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:50 PM   #7
SQRT(-2)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,884
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbia MO USA
Default

If the computer industry can agree on wifi protocols, you would think the RC community could agree on 2.4 protocols. But I guess they are trying to lock you into buying their stuff. Look at it this way, you buy a Spectrum TX, you have do drop $80+ a pop for each model you own.
__________________
Gaui Hurricane w/ 530mm blades & Robird G31
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Walkera Super CP
Walkera Devo 10 w/ Deviation
SQRT(-2) is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 10:20 PM   #8
HelisRock
Registered Users
 
Posts: 212
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Silicon Valley
Default Locked In...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQRT(-2) View Post
But I guess they are trying to lock you into buying their stuff.
This was a stroke of genius marketing strategy - buy one bird and their TX, then lock you in to the family. Both Blade and Walkera are working hard to continually get you to buy their next BNF member of the family. And of course, us addicts are all to happy to oblige!
HelisRock is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 10:26 PM   #9
755 robert
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,273
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: central coast of California
Default

It's actually pretty simple.Buy an ar7200bx install it on your heli of choice...
__________________
700 class nitro,2X 600class electric,2X 450class,250 class,130 class,a few mcpx class(
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
).Dx-7.All helis fbl...If I had a dollar for every dollar I've spent on heli's ...I would break even.
.Who is John Galt?
755 robert is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:06 PM   #10
nateg417
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 755 robert View Post
It's actually pretty simple.Buy an ar7200bx install it on your heli of choice...
That's what I figured.I don't see why you would need to buy everything all new. I don't know how much they are though. But anyways until I get to three point I'm not replacing something every week I'm sticking with blade because of parts availability.
nateg417 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:23 PM   #11
McKrackin
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BFE
Default

It's not all that hard to put a Spektrum rx in a Walkera heli.
Use one of the tiny park flyers.


Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk
McKrackin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:30 AM   #12
flymustangs
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,803
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Idaho
Default

I converted my 4F200LM by putting a mini-vbar in it. As someone mentioned, though, it doubles the price of the heli.
flymustangs is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:33 AM   #13
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

There was no compatibility with PCM either. Heck, there was a lack of compatibility within the same brand for PCM.

And some 2.4 GHz.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:27 AM   #14
TaterTot
Registered Users
 
Posts: 321
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Memphis, TN
Default

I kind of want the same thing, but opposite.... I want my Walkera 2801Pro to work with my mCP X...
__________________
DJI F550 E300 w/ Naza-M v2 - Build in Progress
Tarot 450 Pro V2 FBL - Still Learning
Blade mCP X (BL w/HP-05 S) - My "Sim"
Syma S107G - Yellow Toy
TaterTot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 06:09 AM   #15
JaredJ
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McKrackin View Post
It's not all that hard to put a Spektrum rx in a Walkera heli.
Use one of the tiny park flyers.


Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk
How would you do this and still have the 3axis gyro?
__________________
Spektrum DX8/ar7200bx
TT Mini Titan FBL V2, Blade mcpX V2, Blade mqx Quad
JaredJ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:23 PM   #16
JWeber
Registered Users
 
Posts: 612
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Default

You can buy a Devo 8 or 10 and load the deviation firmware on it. They then can work with the Solo Pro and Spektrum receivers.

deviationtx.com
__________________
Logo 500, Atom 500, Mini Titan E325S, Gaui X2, MCPX BL, Genius CP - Taranis
Citizen 413
JWeber is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 06:48 PM   #17
Blayd
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

+1....
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:12 PM   #18
JaredJ
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, VA
Default

Oh, I'm wanting to get a Spektrum DX8 to fly the Genius CP but no luck. Which is why I'm selling it. I hate all this proprietary crap.
__________________
Spektrum DX8/ar7200bx
TT Mini Titan FBL V2, Blade mcpX V2, Blade mqx Quad
JaredJ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:52 AM   #19
Hercules222
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Corn Field, IA
Default

I know I am new here but couldn't a person just replace the reciever with something like a Robird G31 which will connect to a Spektrum satellite receiver? Maybe too large for this little guy. I really like my sp180, and am actually getting used to the J6 radio. This little heli actually took me from being too nervous to do anything but hover to doing basic aerobatics (just loops and rolls for now) in less than two days!
Hercules222 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:56 AM   #20
Hercules222
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Corn Field, IA
Default

As an afterthought, I see some pilots much much better than myself are flying bigger flybarless helis with no stabilization at all. Would this be an option to just replace the receiver, add the smallest tail gyro known to man, and fly it?? I know I'm not brave enough!
Hercules222 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com