Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > Genius CP


Genius CP Walkera Genius CP Helicopter Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 08:47 PM   #21
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

I have reported to Walkera that the Devo 6 is killing my batteries while powered off. I will escalate to them again about it. I had a very nice 2 cell lipo in mine that puffed because it got fully drained sitting for a week.

Bottom line unplug your pack if your going to let the radio sit for many days.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:05 PM   #22
DocD
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Default

Wow I wonder what is going on there, the 12 is fine and it also has clock and calender function which is battery backed a separate little battery which if there was that amount of power drain when off would have been totally screwed by now.

wonder if anybody is seeing same problem with devo 8 ?

Regards David
DocD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 12:21 AM   #23
Jazzjohn
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: madison wi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bytemuncher View Post
Interesting. Why does it need that 4 mA power draw while powered off?
The power switch doesn't actually break the circuit between the battery pack and the circuitry like a flashlight's power switch does. Instead, the switch tells the processor to go into a low power state. A processor in a low power state typically consumes only microamps unless the circuitry or software is placing more of a load on the battery. Usually this is a result of a design oversight.
__________________
V120D02S x 2 :: Mini Protos x 2 :: Align Trex150 :: Proto X nano quad
Devo 6 with Deviation flies them all!
Jazzjohn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:12 PM   #24
Toumal
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Austria
Default

Hey guys,

The Devo6 power drain is a design error by Walkera. There's various fixes circulating around but most of them involve SMD soldering. If you want to save yourself that trouble, here's a fix that only needs a fine solder iron and a cutter.

All you need to do is cut two traces on the PCB:




Then just take a piece of wire and solder it to the PCB like so:





Full article here: http://fpvcentral.net/?p=284

I'm now down to nothing, 0.6 uA or less. If you have a Devo6 I can really recommend this fix. That, along with the free telemetry upgrade via software update, makes that little transmitter just that much more awesome ^_^
Toumal is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 05:23 PM   #25
Intheway
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Default

I've had the screws out of my Devo-6 for a long time. The rubber side grips are really all that is needed to keep it together unless you throw it at something. I've been hoping someone would figure this one out. Now I don't have to leave the charger plugged in all the time.

Thanks for the post!
Intheway is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:15 PM   #26
Gryffandor
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Question

Does anyone know if this same problem exists with the new Devo 6S?
Gryffandor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 02:13 AM   #27
bytemuncher
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Default

Walkera told me it is fixed in the devo 6s.

Also, benmlee has another write up for fixing the 6 here http://benmlee.com/DEVO_6_Battery_Drain_Fix.htm
bytemuncher is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 08:59 AM   #28
Peteair
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United States, Ny
Default

My devo 8s doesn't seem to have power drain when turned off. I have rechargeable eneloops in there for 2 weeks now and it is still at half power just like when I used it last.

Seems like they did fix the problem and should be safe for lipos now.
Peteair is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 10:30 AM   #29
Jazzjohn
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: madison wi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bytemuncher View Post
Walkera told me it is fixed in the devo 6s.

Also, benmlee has another write up for fixing the 6 here http://benmlee.com/DEVO_6_Battery_Drain_Fix.htm
Benmlee's fix would be harder to implement since it requires desoldering a surface mount diode and resoldering one end of it to a wire. The fix posted by Toumal is easier.
Jazzjohn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:53 PM   #30
bytemuncher
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazzjohn View Post
Benmlee's fix would be harder to implement since it requires desoldering a surface mount diode and resoldering one end of it to a wire. The fix posted by Toumal is easier.
I agree, just want to spread the info. Also, if people need help with measuring the voltage (and have a voltmeter/multimeter) you can check benmlee's post for how he did it http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...3#post20924455
bytemuncher is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 09:06 PM   #31
Jazzjohn
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: madison wi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bytemuncher View Post
I agree, just want to spread the info. Also, if people need help with measuring the voltage (and have a voltmeter/multimeter) you can check benmlee's post for how he did it http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...3#post20924455
Yes, good point. He also does a nice job of showing how to open up the transmitter. That could be frustrating if you don't know where the screws are hidden.
Jazzjohn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 06:47 AM   #32
Toumal
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Austria
Default

Heh, Ben and I are actually doing the exact same thing. Dunno why he desolders the diode but eh, whatever works is fine
Toumal is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:00 PM   #33
Sicilian0
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Usa
Default

i have several questions..

A) do i need the dongle to update the devo 6?
b) where it the file to update the devo 6 as, i went to the devention.com but the page is black and none of the tabs work...
c)

thanks!
Sicilian0 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:10 AM   #34
oxide1
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sicilian0 View Post
i have several questions..

A) do i need the dongle to update the devo 6?
b) where it the file to update the devo 6 as, i went to the devention.com but the page is black and none of the tabs work...
c)

thanks!
hey Sicilian! you need the usb to micro usb cable that plug into the right hand side of your devo 6...

once you've done that... go here..http://www.walkera.com/diywken/?la=en .. register, login, download the updater program and the devo 6 update....
extract both and install the program...

plug the cable into your devo 6 and usb slot with the power OFF... hold the ext button and then power on.. your devo 6 will display a update screen... the drivers so your pc will recognize your devo 6 are in the update program folder...

then open up the update program and it's pretty easy from there.... Finless Bob did a awesome video on it if you still have issues... have fun!
oxide1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > Genius CP


Genius CP Walkera Genius CP Helicopter Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com