Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Skookum Robotics


Skookum Robotics Skookum Robotics SK-360 SK-540 & SK-720 Digital Flybar


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2011, 04:07 PM   #1
thehatguy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,242
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sachse, Texas
Default No power to SBus receiver

Bought a used SK720 and powered it up for the first time today.

Went through the wizard and all was well until step 18 - connect the Sbus receiver.

Nothing.

I thought it might be a defective SK-SB1 S-Bus adapter, but when I took the one off of my 550 and tried it... nothing.

Seems that there isn't any voltage out of the SAT REC port.

Anybody else had this issue?

John
__________________
EX-HeliFreakSwag.com guy
(arthritis got the best of me)
thehatguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:29 AM   #2
georgi UK
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,460
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Default

=] S-Bus selected in software? to eliminate connect the 550 s-bus to this unit.
__________________
georgi UK
georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 02:20 PM   #3
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,489
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montgomery County, Maryland
Default

Consider using a voltmeter to test the Power Bus
__________________
Whiplash E, Synergy E7SE & E5, Goblin 380 x2
VBar Silverline x3, SK-720BE, Spirit -- All electronics powered by Castle BEC's
DX18 & Jeti DS-14, Sims on Mac: RF7.5, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
RCHN Citizen 259
curmudgeon is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:06 PM   #4
thehatguy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,242
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sachse, Texas
Default

Here's the current status.

Took the R6208SB receiver from the 550 and all is well.

The R6203SB still won't work. It was working fine when it was connected to the 3GX, but the Skookum doesn't seem to like the 3-channel R6203SB receiver.

Anybody else have/had this issue?

One figures an Sbus receiver is an Sbus receiver.

At least the SK720 is good.

John
__________________
EX-HeliFreakSwag.com guy
(arthritis got the best of me)
thehatguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 02:04 AM   #5
mhoebrec
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Default

I use a the 3-channel sbus receiver without problems on my sk720.
mhoebrec is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 05:42 AM   #6
thehatguy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,242
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sachse, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnahamelv View Post
Consider using a voltmeter to test the Power Bus
Not using a power bus on the 450. No place to put it.

John
__________________
EX-HeliFreakSwag.com guy
(arthritis got the best of me)
thehatguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 05:44 AM   #7
thehatguy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,242
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sachse, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhoebrec View Post
I use a the 3-channel sbus receiver without problems on my sk720.
So perhaps my 6203 is marginal when it comes to the SK720's lower power output???

John
__________________
EX-HeliFreakSwag.com guy
(arthritis got the best of me)
thehatguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 07:18 AM   #8
herex
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria, NÖ.
Default

Hi,
I use my R6203SB receiver without problems on my Trex500.
My conditions are:
  • BEC 5,4 Volts
  • functial SK Futaba SBUS cable (see SK manual for disconnecting + wire)
  • Extra power cable (servo extension cable) connectet between SK720 SW-A (unused port on my heli) and R6203SB channel 3/B.
  • SIGNAL wire must be disconnect on the extra power servo extension cable !!!
regards from Austria, Herfried
herex is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 10:53 AM   #9
aarsevin
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Default

I run a slave from my jive directly to the R6203SB. The output voltage from the sk is too low (3v) for the receiver to operate properly. 4.8 to 8v is required for the receiver.
aarsevin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:26 PM   #10
herex
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria, NÖ.
Default

Hi,
You are right. On SK720 side, the output Voltage on the two "SAT" connectors are to low for the R9203SB receiver by using the SK-SB1 S-Bus adapter.
Your way is one of some simple ways.
Remember I use 5,4 Volts BEC. And the same Voltage output is on SK720 - SW-A (free port) during powering the heli. This is a stable power source and I use it since long time.

Regards from Austria, Herfried
herex is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 01:04 PM   #11
aarsevin
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Default

I like that solution a lot herex. Especially on an esc that doesn't have a dedicated slave. Or if you are using a single lead bec.
aarsevin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:13 PM   #12
thehatguy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,242
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sachse, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aarsevin View Post
I run a slave from my jive directly to the R6203SB. The output voltage from the sk is too low (3v) for the receiver to operate properly. 4.8 to 8v is required for the receiver.
These are Futaba's specs on the 6203 and 6208.

R6203SB:

SPECS: Power Requirement: 3.7V or 7.4V battery or regulated output from ESC*
*output capacity must meet usage condition
Voltage Range: 3.5V - 8.4V


R6208SB:

SPECS: Power Requirement: 3.7V or 7.4V battery or regulated output from ESC*
*output capacity must meet usage condition
Voltage Range: 3.5 - 8.4V


I've got the 6208 in my 550 and the 6203 in the 450 both via the Futaba interface cable from the SK720.

According to your statement, neither one should work.
Or am I missing something.

John
__________________
EX-HeliFreakSwag.com guy
(arthritis got the best of me)
thehatguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:25 PM   #13
aarsevin
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Default

I can only speak from my experience with the 6203 on a 700e. My receiver would not function with only the sbus adapter via the sk. I have a 3gx that does power the 6203 on a 500. I would say if it works for you that's awesome.
aarsevin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:32 PM   #14
thehatguy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,242
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sachse, Texas
Default

Now I'm concerned it is marginal and could fail.

Might need to give this more thought.

John
__________________
EX-HeliFreakSwag.com guy
(arthritis got the best of me)
thehatguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 07:23 PM   #15
heathy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,788
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wiltshire England
Default

Is this lead your using this 1 http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/skoo...1-p-13700.html ??

I thought that you just plugged this into the sbus and sk and thats it

Forgive me if i'm wrong, still in the process of deciding on a new TX and futaba are top of my list so far.
__________________
X2 SK720 Minijazz 20 / WARP 360 SK540 Koby 55 / X4ii SK540 jive80 / X5 SK540 jive 100 / 6HV ultimate Helijive120 SK540 / 7HV SK540 YGE160k / Agile 7.2 SK540 KOSMIK / Futaba18mz / Skookum support rep / Halo blades
heathy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 08:29 PM   #16
thehatguy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,242
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sachse, Texas
Default

That is the correct lead. I'm using it for both of the SK-720's.

Both are up and running. One with an R6203 and the other with an R6208. No power bus on either.

John
__________________
EX-HeliFreakSwag.com guy
(arthritis got the best of me)
thehatguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 04:38 PM   #17
lhatton
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Just ran into this myself.

I have two ships with 6208s powered by the sbus adapter and no additional power jumper. Been flying both for over a year with zero problems.

Was converting a new ship to FBL and picked up a new 720, sbus cable and 6203.

It has been marginaly powering the reciever. I get removing the red power lead from the sbus cable to prevent the overloading the 720 with a servo plugged into the reciever, but what about this "don't hook up the signal wire" on the power jumper. What's the "official " word on powering a sbus reciever (yes, I've relooked at the manual)

This seems like poor implimentation of an sbus capable unit. I enen now worry about the two I've been flying. One's a quite large scale ship that surprises me it hasn't browned out with a penta head pulling on the power bus.

Les
lhatton is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Skookum Robotics


Skookum Robotics Skookum Robotics SK-360 SK-540 & SK-720 Digital Flybar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.