Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mCP X Brushless Mods


mCP X Brushless Mods Blade Micro CPx Brushless Mods and Conversions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2012, 02:56 PM   #21
jvhca
Registered Users
 
Posts: 200
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal,Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylwad View Post
Connect the white signal wire from the ESC to the main motor + output, or to the small resistor spot on the back of the board.
Hi Dylwad!
When I use the Steve convertor,I solder the yellow wire to the small resistor at the back and the white to the ESC white and I cut off the red and black signal wire on the Helimax esc and not use it!
I solder the steve red and blue to the battery +v and -v on the board.
My question is if I don't need the Steve on a V2 board,I just solder the esc white wire to the resistor at the back and what do I do with the red and black signal wires of the esc?Do I cut it off and not use it or do I solder it to the +v and -v of the board?
Thanks for your help!
John
__________________
1)Mcp-x v1 bl Spin 16300K,2)Mcp-x v1 bl Spin 14000K
3)Mcp-x v1 bl Hpo5,4)Mcp-x v1 double bl Hpo6v2
5)2XNano cp-x bl Mild & Wild
jvhca is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:23 PM   #22
craig303uk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland
Default

no need for them so cut them off.
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:51 PM   #23
Dylwad
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,201
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Default

+1 they are connected to the battery leads on the ESC anyways, Walkera uses them as power inputs on the CB100 tail ESC, you dont need multiple connections to the same points on the ESC.
Dylwad is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:53 PM   #24
jabu32
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,354
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Default

WOW i didnt even know that. well i guess when i do my next BL setup ill just pull the steve off and just use the esc. AWESOME. saves me some money.
__________________
Hello My Name Is Joe
Blade 130X - Lynx EOX / Blade 300x - AR7200BX, 2213-3585 / Trex 500ESP DFC - AR7200BX, 500MX / Trex 550e DFC - AR7200BX, 600MX / TSA 600e Pro - AR7200BX / TBS Discovery FPV - APM, Sunnysky 980kv/ DX8
jabu32 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:00 PM   #25
poulsbobill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: washington state
Default

Just to be clear. If i have one of these ESC's i need to solder it here. http://helifreak.com/attachment.php?...1&d=1323477377
And i wont need thesteve or another converter? And ill get the same throttle response? (0 -100%) as a converter (thesteve)?
Anybody weigh these to see the difference. Obviously a higher current through the walkera ESC but at what weight cost?
Thanks

Bill

Last edited by poulsbobill; 02-23-2012 at 08:07 PM.. Reason: walkera esc weighs 6 grams
poulsbobill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:34 PM   #26
Ampdraw
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia. We live inverted.
Default

Stripped the walkera esc is almost identical to the Xp7A stripped.

Approx 1.65g board only.

Amp
Ampdraw is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:15 AM   #27
coredump
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,146
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay area, CA
Default

Wow, I did not know that I can use the walkera 10a esc on the
MCPX V2 without the converter. I have one walkera 10a esc
pull from a walkera 4#3b brushless main.

I hook it up to replace AEO converter + Overskey XP-7A ESC combo.
To my surprise, it actually works fine on the V2 3 in 1!
The M5 motor runs perfectly. I actually prefer the Walkera ESC
over the XP-7A with converter for two reasons:
1) One less converter, lighter.
2) Walkera seems give pretty linear output close to 100% range.
AEO converter setup seems to max out at about 80%.
3) I do feel the heli has higher head speed with the walkera ESC.
That is surprising to me.

One the other hand, the higher head speed seems to cause easier
TBO with stock tail motor & extended boom. It might be my tail motor
is getting weak over the usage. Still debugging.

I also test it on the V1 3 in 1, it does not work with V1. The motor
wiggle a bit then the ESC go to the error mode.

So for V2 BL mod, the walkera 10A ESC + c05m/M5 motor is properly
the cheapest route. That is what is on my V2 now.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:47 AM   #28
craig303uk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland
Default

i've no idea about the earlier 3in1's but my V1 3.9 works fine.

yer Bill.
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:09 AM   #29
Dylwad
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,201
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by craig303uk View Post
i've no idea about the earlier 3in1's but my V1 3.9 works fine.

yer Bill.
The V1 board needs the LT or LTC Walkera ESC (Negative PWM input) tied to the main motor FET gate on the 3n1.

The V2 board needs the L Walkera ESC (Positive PPM input) either plugged into the main motor output or to the small resistor on the back of the board.

Dylan
Dylwad is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 04:25 AM   #30
fjack64
Registered Users
 
Posts: 121
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by craig303uk View Post
i've no idea about the earlier 3in1's but my V1 3.9 works fine.

yer Bill.
Where did solder the white wire in the back of the board or in the + side of the motor plugs in the front of the board. Thanks
__________________
3 brushless mcp x's
130 X spin 8800kv 11T
fjack64 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 05:04 AM   #31
craig303uk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland
Default

the white wire is soldered to the back of the board.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylwad View Post
The V1 board needs the LT or LTC Walkera ESC (Negative PWM input) tied to the main motor FET gate on the 3n1.

The V2 board needs the L Walkera ESC (Positive PPM input) either plugged into the main motor output or to the small resistor on the back of the board.

Dylan
hmmm i used a L on both.
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 11:09 AM   #32
mike4406
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly Virginia
Default

Where is the best (cheapest) place to get one of these ESC's?
mike4406 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 05:10 PM   #33
fjack64
Registered Users
 
Posts: 121
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike4406 View Post
Where is the best (cheapest) place to get one of these ESC's?
This is where I bought the Walkera esc cheaper i think.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/250398833286...84.m1423.l2649
__________________
3 brushless mcp x's
130 X spin 8800kv 11T
fjack64 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 06:03 PM   #34
coredump
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,146
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay area, CA
Default

Update. My tail rotor has strike the ground a few times and it is in pretty
bad shape. No white stress mark but the edge of the rotor has been chew up.

I replace it with a new tail rotor and the TBO is reduced to previous level now.
I really enjoy this walkera + M5 setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coredump View Post
One the other hand, the higher head speed seems to cause easier
TBO with stock tail motor & extended boom. It might be my tail motor
is getting weak over the usage. Still debugging.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 06:18 PM   #35
Nytflyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,568
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Baltimore/Washington Suburbs Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike4406 View Post
Where is the best (cheapest) place to get one of these ESC's?
Clubheli has them. They are a great vendor too.

http://www.clubheli.com/Walkera-4G34...A-L_p_113.html
Nytflyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 07:05 PM   #36
tony521
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida.
Default brushless

Hey guys, which one is the + output for the main motor, is it where the white wire from the motor plug goes into the connector? (sorry for my being dumb when it comes to electronics, LOL) Thanks. I got some of those 10a esc laying around from my walkera experience and i believe that they are still good.
__________________
Atom500(FBL)., Gaui x4II (FBL) ;Trex450 sport (FBL). All with Ikon fbl gyro. AMA#1019423.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tony .
tony521 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 08:04 PM   #37
coredump
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,146
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay area, CA
Default

I have one photo here, not sure it helps or not.

http://helifreak.com/showpost.php?p=...6&postcount=21

The white cable is just the servo cable, there are 3 of them,
Normally black, red and white. The white one is the PPM signal cable.

Let me know if you want me to upload higher resolution pictures.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 08:16 PM   #38
tony521
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida.
Default walkera esc

Thanks Core, but they were talking about the walkera 10a esc, with the white signal wire being soldered to the + part of the motor connector. and i was wondering if it is where at the back of where the motor wire connects too, where the white wire for the motor itself connects.
__________________
Atom500(FBL)., Gaui x4II (FBL) ;Trex450 sport (FBL). All with Ikon fbl gyro. AMA#1019423.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tony .
tony521 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 08:22 PM   #39
coredump
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,146
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay area, CA
Default

Oh, you mean the connection spot on the 3 in 1?

I have the picture of the V2 board here.

http://helifreak.com/showpost.php?p=3659986&postcount=6

I also done the V1 but I haven't take picture of it.
I know some one else post the V1 picture before. But I can't find it.
It is easy to find in my own post.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 08:33 PM   #40
tony521
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida.
Default esc

Is that the small resistor spot they were talking about? at the back of the board. Now they were saying that if using this walkera 10a esc, i won't need the convertor.
__________________
Atom500(FBL)., Gaui x4II (FBL) ;Trex450 sport (FBL). All with Ikon fbl gyro. AMA#1019423.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tony .
tony521 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mCP X Brushless Mods


mCP X Brushless Mods Blade Micro CPx Brushless Mods and Conversions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com