Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Nitro Helicopters


600 Class Nitro Helicopters 600 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2012, 12:56 AM   #1
DYORD
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philippines
Default How many minutes do you get from the TREX 600 Nitro?

I'm using OS50... Though I'm flying a little rich (1 1/2 turn and 3 clicks). I only get around 6mins MAX. And that is just scale flying. No 3D yet.

Throttle curve is: 0, 35, 55, 65, 80

I used 30% nitro. Can I use 15% and fly some mild 3Ds?! So I could save more buck and have more flying time!

Btw, can anyone share their needle settings?!? The most fuel efficient and still get good performance?
DYORD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 01:24 AM   #2
lolramen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Default

I'm running the same motor and can break 7 minutes easily. Timer is actually set to 7 min for hard 3d and I'll come down with typically at least a quarter tank still in it. Motor runs cool and makes plenty of power too. My high end needle is roughly three clicks out of 1 turn, never touched idle needle, and running cool power %30. I've been told that the needle settings for my motor are really abnormal, and some are even convinced I'm cheating somehow. With your needle settings where they're at, you're going to get shorter flight times. Lean it out SLOWLY, only a click or two at a time. Check back plate for hot temps, and try and find the needle spot where you make the most power by doing hard tic-tocs and judging how much it bogs. Again be very careful when doing this as you don't want to blow a hole in your piston. And as for fuel, %15 works fine for 3d, but you're going to have to be good with your collective management. If you're doing scale/sport then I actually suggest %15 so you don't spend as much. I don't think it has much affect on flight times, but it's cheaper! You also have to re-tune when you change fuels, so be careful doing this.
__________________
Synergy E5s - BeastX - Compass 540KV - EDGE HV 120 - 610 - 8900G
lolramen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:42 AM   #3
Geardaddy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,664
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Default

I get 8 to 9 minutes from mine.. sport flying with flips/rolls and an occasional botched tic toc.. I think I'm at about.. 1.25out from closed (Actualy 1 turn and 7 clicks) 15 percent for now.. plenty of power, and Its still a tad rich as I can hold my finger on the backplate indefinitely after It comes back down.. 1.5 is def a little rich, take it easy.. one click at a time..
__________________
TRex 700DFC CC 120HV/VBar
TRex 500 ESP/FBL CC Ice100, MiniVBar
TRex 600LE/ OS50/ Full Size VBar/ Arizona Regulator , FrankenBlade 400/Sonic head and tail/CF Frame, Blade MSR, Bunch o' planks.. DX7/Futaba 9C
Geardaddy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:17 AM   #4
DYORD
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philippines
Default

what are your throttle curves?! Specially when on idle up?! 90%-100% fully open valve?!

I think I also have to change my throttle curve setting. like 60%-max!
DYORD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:18 AM   #5
lolramen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Default

My normal curve is set to idle,30,45,60,75. Idle up is 100,75,50,75,100 for both, but I only use those for backup being that I'm using the Align governor. I've found that they do work alright if you don't have a governor to use though.

EDIT: I actually dropped each of the values on my normal curve 5 points today because I found the headspeed to be too high. Points now are Idle, 25, 40,55,70
__________________
Synergy E5s - BeastX - Compass 540KV - EDGE HV 120 - 610 - 8900G

Last edited by lolramen; 01-15-2012 at 10:50 PM..
lolramen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 07:05 PM   #6
texasclouds
Registered Users
 
Posts: 814
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bryan, Texas
Default

7 minutes of sport and beginner 3d flying, then I could hover around another minute if I wanted. my high speed needle also is only a few clicks past one turn out. seems weird but runs cool there. OS50.

i'd be interested in knowing what the 55 and 60 size engines are getting.
texasclouds is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 04:17 PM   #7
frypan
Registered Users ):>
 
Posts: 1,718
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Midwestern Florida.
Default

If my engines tuned right..
I can get up to about 8 minutes hard 3d.
And if its sloppy rich I get about 4 or 5 haha
__________________
On break, Building up a s13/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Dan
frypan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:23 PM   #8
Cra-Z-1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 363
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US,UT
Default

I'm flying a 55HZ on 30% Magnum....Do all kinds of sport flying...loops, rolls, flips, stalls, inverted...etc.

I have a header tank installed, and run the main tank until its clear dry; Getting 8 min 20 seconds...then float on in without rush...

I run Governed H.S. at 2050 RPMS most of the time....Engine tach right around 17000 is best for 55 HZ (Powerband)

Love that engine..

Oh..main jet (High Speed) at close to 1.5 turns out...Mid needle about 2....
Cra-Z-1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:34 AM   #9
Bking1340
Registered Users
 
Posts: 634
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Africa
Default

Double post - sorry
Bking1340 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:46 AM   #10
Bking1340
Registered Users
 
Posts: 634
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Africa
Default

9 min. O.S 55HZ-R - 22% CP. 2100rpm. FBL. Doing light 3D tic-toc`s funnel`s etc - main tank bone dry, header still full.
Bking1340 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:59 AM   #11
DYORD
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philippines
Default

I don't get it... so there are two needles in OS50 Sx?! How would i know which one to touch?! sorry... new to nitro!

So there's a high end needle... and an idle needle?! How does it work... when to adjust each of these?
DYORD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:58 AM   #12
frypan
Registered Users ):>
 
Posts: 1,718
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Midwestern Florida.
Default

look at smacktalk episode one good for tuning.. you really do NOT wanna mess with the low end till you know what your doing
__________________
On break, Building up a s13/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Dan
frypan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:09 AM   #13
lolramen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DYORD View Post
I don't get it... so there are two needles in OS50 Sx?! How would i know which one to touch?! sorry... new to nitro!

So there's a high end needle... and an idle needle?! How does it work... when to adjust each of these?
The bigger gray one is your high end needle, and for the most part the only one you should be touching. Even then be extremely careful as to messing around with it. I can't stress enough how beneficial it is to find someone in your area that knows how to do this.
__________________
Synergy E5s - BeastX - Compass 540KV - EDGE HV 120 - 610 - 8900G
lolramen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:28 AM   #14
Bking1340
Registered Users
 
Posts: 634
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Africa
Default

Maybe someone can chime in on this: After engine are running temp, land, pinch the fuel line as close to carb inlet, rpm will go up slightly, engine must idle 3 - 5 seconds before cutting out. How accurate are this method on the low end?
Bking1340 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:46 AM   #15
DYORD
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philippines
Default

Now it's getting more complicated.... where is this low end needle located?! I hope I'm not messing with the wrong needle..

The bigger gray needle valve that has a "tic-tic" increments is the high-end needle right?! Where's the other one?
DYORD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:18 PM   #16
Ozz58
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,342
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas DFW area
Default

You have an OS50, right? It will only have one needle and idle. The 55 has two needles.

Craig

Here's a link to a pic of the 55.

http://www.hobbyclub.com/images/osmg1957-55HZ-R.jpg
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

T-Rex 600N | T-Rex 500 ESP | T-Rex 500 GF | T-Rex 250 (Love this little bird) | 22 year old Shuttle ZXX
Ozz58 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:11 PM   #17
Cra-Z-1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 363
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US,UT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DYORD View Post
Now it's getting more complicated.... where is this low end needle located?! I hope I'm not messing with the wrong needle..

The bigger gray needle valve that has a "tic-tic" increments is the high-end needle right?! Where's the other one?
Take a look at page 12

http://manuals.hobbico.com/osm/50sx-h-manual.pdf
Cra-Z-1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:33 PM   #18
lolramen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DYORD View Post
Now it's getting more complicated.... where is this low end needle located?! I hope I'm not messing with the wrong needle..

The bigger gray needle valve that has a "tic-tic" increments is the high-end needle right?! Where's the other one?
You got it right on the High end needle. The Idle needle is the one up and to the right (if the motor is in your heli) of the high end needle. It will look like a flat head screw. I wouldn't recommend touching this, as more often than not stock is just fine. The "clicking" high needle is the one you should use to primarily tune the motor.
__________________
Synergy E5s - BeastX - Compass 540KV - EDGE HV 120 - 610 - 8900G
lolramen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:55 AM   #19
DYORD
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philippines
Default

I just change my fuel from Cosmo 30% to Wildcat 15%. What to expect?

Should i lean it out or turn it richer? I'm not a hardcore 3d. Just some sports flying and mild 3d. Will i get longer flight time from this fuel or shorter?
DYORD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:05 AM   #20
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 26,387
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Going from 30% to 15% nitro, you would lean it. Be careful not to lean it too much though.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1, WARP 360 - VX1n
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Nitro Helicopters


600 Class Nitro Helicopters 600 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com