Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 03:25 PM   #1
Chris_M
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Default Where to get an eneloop pack?

Looking to put an 800mah buffer pack on my jive but where can I fInd these eneloop packs? Also read some people using regular AAA batteries but I didn't think they handle being charged for very long?
__________________


Chris_M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 03:40 PM   #2
fastflyer20
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,540
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Buffalo Area
Default

Eneloops technology was developed by Sanyo, any NiMH saying "pre-charged" uses the same technology.

You can make you own packs (I did for my TX) or purchase packs,
Here is one source using the real McCoy:
http://www.radicalrc.com/category/Re...-NiMH-Packs-19

In my experince, they are way better than traditional NiMH
fastflyer20 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 04:27 PM   #3
DT75
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,104
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Default

You can buy ready-made eneloop packs here:

http://www.overlander.co.uk/batterie...rx-square.html
__________________
minicopter Diabolo, Henseleit TDR, X50e, X50n, Raptor 50
Futaba 2.4 GHz
DT75 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 04:35 PM   #4
bdbrown4764
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tulsa Oklahoma
Default

http://store.batteriesamerica.com/sanyo_3.aspx
bdbrown4764 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 04:47 PM   #5
Chris_M
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Default

Thanks for the responses. I dont really want to use one of those big Spektrum on/off switches if I dont have to, do you know of anything smaller thats easier to hide?
__________________


Chris_M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:19 PM   #6
Luisito
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abilene, Texas
Default

If you go to Radio Shack you can find a battery holder for 4 AA Eneloop batteries and it has a tiny on off switch. That's how I did mine.
__________________
Team MikadoUSA - Luis
Luisito is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:48 PM   #7
wheelyking
Registered Users
 
Posts: 224
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: North East Pennsylvania
Default

What's the purpose for using Eneloop batteries instead of regular NiMH batteries?
Is it just because they hold a stored charge longer? or is there another reason?
wheelyking is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:31 AM   #8
fastflyer20
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,540
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Buffalo Area
Default

They are way better, don't loose voltage in storage and when both are cycled, especially as they age, the eneloop are much closer to rated capacity
fastflyer20 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 06:09 AM   #9
Chris_M
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Default

And do I have to power the rx with the packs first or use the buffer pack or does the order not matter?
__________________


Chris_M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 12:20 AM   #10
NewR
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Default

Regular AA Alkaline WILL NOT work. They have the voltage and capacity but they have LOW discharge rate so they can not provide the current that the servos need.

I have a Nimh pack consists of (4) 1/2 AAA size batts (250mah ea) and they work very well as a buffer pack. Light and small.

I tested it with the following electronics for 3 mins with the heli on the ground (moving both sticks like normal fly) and it was still going when I stoped.

3 BLS451
1 BLS251
2 DSMX Sats
Skookum FBL
1 Cooling fan for ESC
1 Telemetry Unit

You can customize your packs here
http://www.cheapbatterypacks.com/
__________________
Gravity Fighter

Last edited by NewR; 01-30-2012 at 12:18 AM..
NewR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:12 AM   #11
DT75
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,104
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_M View Post
And do I have to power the rx with the packs first or use the buffer pack or does the order not matter?

Either order is fine, it don't matter.

I power up rx first with buffer, let it initialize, then plug in drive pack. In the same order as I would power up a nitro heli...
__________________
minicopter Diabolo, Henseleit TDR, X50e, X50n, Raptor 50
Futaba 2.4 GHz
DT75 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 05:48 AM   #12
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,460
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Take this with a grain of salt, I read it but don't understand nimh well enough to prove.
Eneloop in this application is not the best choice as internal resistance is higher than a conventional pack, it will put excessive load on Jive BEC. Something to due with Discharge profile.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:01 AM   #13
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,054
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

The first question is, what is the purpose of such a battery: j-log.net FAQ

We should not confuse the particular purpose at a JIVE BEC with a different purpose of wanting to make an AR with a battery.

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 05:03 PM   #14
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewR View Post
I have a 1000mah Nimh pack consists of (4) 1/2 AAA size batts (250mah ea) and they work very well as a buffer pack. Light and small.[/URL]
Erm, if the half AAA are actually 250mah then you have a 250mah pack at 4.8V nominal voltage adds in series not capacity. That seems a bit small to me.

As to the internal resistance of Eneloops, it wont hurt the BEC, in fact its likely better for it as if the pack is a bit flat the charge current will be lower. A very small pack my however not be able to power the system should the BEC fail...
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 05:04 PM   #15
KnifeEdgeUk
Registered Users
 
Posts: 344
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

Overlander batteries do eneloops.
KnifeEdgeUk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:17 AM   #16
NewR
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
Erm, if the half AAA are actually 250mah then you have a 250mah pack at 4.8V nominal voltage adds in series not capacity. That seems a bit small to me.
You are absolutely right. I stand corrected. In series, capacity is of a single cell. It seems small but plenty for emergency as a buffer pack. Tested for 3 min like I posted earlier and put back about 110mah. Before this pack, I had the 125mah (4) 1/4AAA and was good for 15-20 sec to auto. 20s for an auto seems like an eternity.

__________________
Gravity Fighter
NewR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 02:08 AM   #17
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,054
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

........ No risk, no fun....

Capacity.... IR is the important thing and so the voltage.

You run a FBL system? Hopefully Vbar and no other, only Vbar comes back in-air after an undervoltage situation, stores the last calibration data for up to 10 seconds after a brownout.

And, there're some funny servos in the world, e.g. Savox, running into an endpoint even by a short untervoltage glitch.

----

JIVE: Short (250ms) voltage blackouts caused by back EMF prone servos (the monitoring processor in the JIVE cuts the voltage) can be filled even by very tiny packs.

Auro support is quite another issue, requires bigger packs of much lower IR.

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:45 AM   #18
Chris_M
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Default

I see that some people are running 4 AAA's as a buffer pack but that only equals 4.8V which is less than the jive bec outputs. Does the buffer pack have to equal the output bec voltage?
__________________


Chris_M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:22 AM   #19
wheelyking
Registered Users
 
Posts: 224
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: North East Pennsylvania
Default

Hi Chris

I'm running a 4 cell AA buffer pack, regular NiMH cells. My 700 has been sitting for around three weeks. I just checked the voltage through the V-bar software and it read 5.4 volts. I have the Jive's bec voltage set for 5.6v When I top off the buffer pack and or fire up the Jive the voltage is 5.6v For me that's a decent voltage to run at.
wheelyking is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:49 AM   #20
Chris_M
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Default

Isnt that overcharging the cells though? If one battery is 1.2V and you have 4 thats 4.8V total. I would think you would need 5 1.2V batteries running on a 6V system or at least be running a higher voltage pack then what the bec is set at.
__________________


Chris_M is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.