Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > KDS Helicopters General Discussion > KDS Electronics


KDS Electronics KDS Electronics Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 06:23 AM   #1
joshwat
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Default flymentor

does any one no if the fly mentor can be used for multi bladed heads or is just meant for 2 bladed set ups ? i have a 4 blade head that i want to put on my rex and then install in a ah64 apache fuse thanks in advance
joshwat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:03 PM   #2
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Sorry no it can't.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:16 PM   #3
777flyer
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK London
Default Help

Hi

After reading some of your posts I was wondering if you can help. I have a blade 450 3d with a flymentor system installed, everything seems to work according to the manual until I try to take off, nothing happens and I am at a loss as to what I have done wrong. I have checked and re-checked reinstalled etc etc to no avail.

I have written to so many RC shops to see if I can pay to get this system working but no luck. Without wishing to sound cheeky would you be able to help (obviously I would pay) I am just so frustrated with the whole thing and now after 7 weeks am at my wits end

777flyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 08:54 AM   #4
KDS Wes
Registered Users
 
Posts: 88
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mission,BC,Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 777flyer View Post
Hi

After reading some of your posts I was wondering if you can help. I have a blade 450 3d with a flymentor system installed, everything seems to work according to the manual until I try to take off, nothing happens and I am at a loss as to what I have done wrong. I have checked and re-checked reinstalled etc etc to no avail.

I have written to so many RC shops to see if I can pay to get this system working but no luck. Without wishing to sound cheeky would you be able to help (obviously I would pay) I am just so frustrated with the whole thing and now after 7 weeks am at my wits end

Hey 777flyer, I had a similar issue with my KDS 450sv. Assuming you have spin-up of the motor.Have you checked your full throttle pitch angle with your pitch gauge? Correct me if im wrong Ivor, but shouldn`t it be at least 9 degrees min. 11 degrees max at full throttle for any succesfull lift off. I personally could not correct it myself. Some great help came from my Friday Nights flightclub here in Mission,BC. The knowledge they have is necessary for correct set up, they spent 2 hrs adjusting those servo links until she lifted off perfect and had a nice stable hover. Ask for help at your local flightclub and a wealth of knowledge awaits,(hey that sounded like Ivor,hahaha)
__________________
TRex 600 EFL Pro Custom CF 450 Heli with Hughs 500E Scale Fuselage, Align Trex 450 Sport ,KDS 450SV, 200mm ZMR Quadcopter, MCPx V2 all aluminum head, MSR Alum swash & grips, Hubsan X4,Blade 120 & CX2 (for my Grandson) all on Spektrum DX8 TX
KDS Wes is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:06 AM   #5
renemay24
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: pembroke pines fl
Default FLYMENTOR

THIS IS A GREAT POST
renemay24 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:40 PM   #6
abyssal20
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Default No lift off...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 777flyer View Post
Hi

After reading some of your posts I was wondering if you can help. I have a blade 450 3d with a flymentor system installed, everything seems to work according to the manual until I try to take off, nothing happens and I am at a loss as to what I have done wrong. I have checked and re-checked reinstalled etc etc to no avail.

I have written to so many RC shops to see if I can pay to get this system working but no luck. Without wishing to sound cheeky would you be able to help (obviously I would pay) I am just so frustrated with the whole thing and now after 7 weeks am at my wits end

Well, first off, disconnect your motor and power up. Run your collective up and watch whats going on with your rotor head. Flymentor only controls cyclic NOT collective (it's just garbage in...garbage out). You just have to use process of elimination. Check your endpoints in Flymentor. I got in the habit of saving different configs to disk so I could always back up and start over. And for shsss 'n giggles, check your radio again and be sure your pitch curves are right. If you did what I did, I saved my orig. config and created a new one just for the Flymentor, all based off my default program. The only problem I had with setting it up was getting everything going the right way. After DAYS of frustration, I backed up and realized "forget my radio" and get the Flymentor working first (ie, reversing), Because I knew after that was working right, I could reverse my radio output to correspond. I was trying to configure everything at the same time.
abyssal20 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 10:09 AM   #7
Madryan
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Default Gyro back to front

Hers a good one...mine arrived and i couldnt get it working right no matter what... so i shelved it for a year then pulle dit out..i worked out teh damn gyro had teh arrow sticker pointing teh wrong way on it !!....ok so i got it working...stablisation woked pretty good ...very good actually...the manual is oncorrect about color codes..the setting for the three modes of flight...you are best having a TX like a DX8 with a dial knob so you can adjust the gain easily in flight ...one way does ground hold ..teh other stabilises... ground hold does not work !! well it does but its not good on a small heli..and only works close to the ground...no point unless you are learning to hover and its designed to self hold...so not good for learnign either...stabiliser works great for learning tho... head oscilates a little ...teh silly thing is that it helps stabilise for a learned but you need to be an expert to figure it out from teh daft manual...and no it is definotely not a FBL equivilent no matter what anyone says you need a flybar...i tried it on multi rotor just for kicks... no such luck ... just my experience..hope that helps

cheers
Madryan is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > KDS Helicopters General Discussion > KDS Electronics


KDS Electronics KDS Electronics Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.