Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand


bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Factory Sponsored Bavarian DEMON and HeliCommand Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2012, 08:43 PM   #1
reefbum
Registered Users
 
Posts: 56
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Default HC-3SX - DX8 - TX Gain Settings

Spektrum DX8
HC-3SX - firmware .114 / Manual - ver 5 / PC Software ver 5.0
2 x DSMX satellites direct to HC-3SX
Align TRex 700E v2 FBL
Head = Align 700DFC FBL
Motor = 510kv 700M
ESC = Castle Ice2 HV160


I have been successful in doing the basic setup for hc-3sx.
Swash is level and all servos moving correctly and adjusted to proper endpoints in Diagnose page.

The gain settings is what I am stuck on, do I set gain in the TX or in HC software?
What would be the best starting settings for these? right now it is -100 0 +100

I was able to hover today but has wag in tail and with solid green light on HC it would not hold position (is this whats it supposed to do?)

Regards
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RC.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	298060   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trim.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	298061   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mixer.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	298062   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tail Gyro.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	298063   Click image for larger version

Name:	RIGID.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	298064  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Horizon.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	54.4 KB
ID:	298065  

Last edited by reefbum; 03-11-2012 at 09:02 PM.. Reason: add screen shots
reefbum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 11:24 AM   #2
DEMONjoe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 681
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Default

First of all: no, there is no position hold, "only" horizontal stabilisation.

For the gains, it is highly recommended not to start with the max, but let's say 35-40% is a good value. Always start low and increase, as with too high gains you may loose your heli (worst case).

The only gain that needs to be -100% in the end is the Captain Rescue gain setting (hor+collective), once you enable the Hor function and want to use rescue mode.

Joachim
__________________
CAPTRON Electronic GmbH
- bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Support Team -
DEMONjoe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 11:47 AM   #3
reefbum
Registered Users
 
Posts: 56
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Default

Thanks for reply

Start with gain set lower around 40% ?
This is for both tail and head gain ?

Is the gain for tail set in the TX (DX8) or set in the HC software?
Is the gain for head set in the TX (DX8) or set in the HC software?

The screen shots I have in 1st post are the settings I have now.
Any advise on any needed changes?

Also I am noticing that every so often the servo's "jump" it does this on bench and in flight.
During 6min hover only flight this morning the servos jumped 4 times causing rapid accent/climb of heli. I was unprepared for the first "jump" and almost lost the heli by being surprised and over correcting the sticks.

2S 3800mha RX pack with HV servos with no BEC.
If I remove satellites from HC-3SX and connect in Spektrum AR8000 RX I do not get this servo "jumping"
Is this to much power direct to HC-3SX unit to cause this jumping or do I have some setting wrong?
Could this be caused from TX switching between the RX satellites?

Regards
reefbum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:35 PM   #4
helizen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 61
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: switzerland, India
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reefbum View Post
Also I am noticing that every so often the servo's "jump" it does this on bench and in flight.
During 6min hover only flight this morning the servos jumped 4 times causing rapid accent/climb of heli. I was unprepared for the first "jump" and almost lost the heli by being surprised and over correcting the sticks.

2S 3800mha RX pack with HV servos with no BEC.
If I remove satellites from HC-3SX and connect in Spektrum AR8000 RX I do not get this servo "jumping"
Is this to much power direct to HC-3SX unit to cause this jumping or do I have some setting wrong?
Could this be caused from TX switching between the RX satellites?

Regards
I am struggling with similar issue with satellites..i have tried several things so far..my last attempt is relocating my satellites..just check my threads posted here few days ago..'servo jumping and tail wag' ...let us all know if you have any finding here..thx
helizen is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand


bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Factory Sponsored Bavarian DEMON and HeliCommand Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com