Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > SAB Goblin 630/700/770


SAB Goblin 630/700/770 SAB Heli Division 630/700/770 - Goblin Helicopters Factory Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 05:32 AM   #1
Euwan
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Default Bec Wiring

Ok guys I am still so confused about wiring my bec. I know that if I am making the series connection on the esc itself the bec should be wired on the black lead of the esc. The only problem I am thinking is if I want to do any setup the motor will be active.

Now if I make up a series cable where would I wire the bec in that. I would want to make the cable so I would not have to connect it to the motor when I am doing setup, could someone make me a diagram or tell me if I am on the right path I really do not want to fry my electronics
__________________
Waiting for something special
Euwan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:02 AM   #2
alexvan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rome - Italy
Default

The BEC has to be powered in parallel to the ESC. I have an EC3 connector on the wires coming to the BEC. So I can power the BEC without powering the ESC. Both the ESC and BEC wires are soldered (in parallel!) to the same EC5 connector. So normally I give power to both at the same time.
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:09 AM   #3
Euwan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Default

oh ok got it now just place a connector on the bec
__________________
Waiting for something special
Euwan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:26 AM   #4
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,590
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

It's also common to run the BEC off of the first pack in series. This allows you to power the BEC and not the ESC. It also has the advantage of running less voltage to the BEC reducing the thermal load and improving reliability. After a flight you generally see less than 1% difference between packs.
__________________
HeliDirect
Zeal Blades

MSH USA
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:48 AM   #5
gww528
Registered Users
 
Posts: 930
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSnap View Post
It's also common to run the BEC off of the first pack in series. This allows you to power the BEC and not the ESC. It also has the advantage of running less voltage to the BEC reducing the thermal load and improving reliability. After a flight you generally see less than 1% difference between packs.
plus... On some BEC's you get more amp draw at a lower voltage. If it fails less voltage going to the rest of your electronics.
__________________
KBDD Team Pilot
Lynx Heli InnovationsTeam Pilot
gww528 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:24 AM   #6
alexvan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rome - Italy
Default

I prefer connecting the BEC to both lipos. I prefer a balanced configuration in terms of load on the batteries.
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 06:51 PM   #7
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gww528 View Post
If it fails less voltage going to the rest of your electronics.
22V is going to fry your servos etc. just as much as 44 will, though perhaps with less smoke .
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 07:43 PM   #8
gww528
Registered Users
 
Posts: 930
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Default

Ya, but I think just maybe you have a better chance of burning up less stuff at 22v than 44v... but your right. I know too many people have lost all of there electronics to a bad BEC letting all the voltage through... 7.2 volts is a safer.
__________________
KBDD Team Pilot
Lynx Heli InnovationsTeam Pilot
gww528 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:02 PM   #9
Tmiedema4
Registered Users
 
Posts: 374
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lake Charles la.
Default

Wr Hercules bec enough said!!!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk
Tmiedema4 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:12 PM   #10
Long Nguyen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Socal, USA
Default

From an incident last week, my friend had a WR BEC installed incorrectly it was passing 22.2v + 6v ~28.2v to the electronics. Guess what, the vbar scarified first-in-line and saved all the other electronics.

So if you have decided to tap in the series connection and draw power from one of the 2 packs, the BEC's ground must be the same ground as that of the ESC!
__________________
Long Nguyen



Long Nguyen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:47 AM   #11
AcidDrink
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK
Default

I run mine (WR Super BEC) from one lipo, just to be able to arm electronics without ESC - it's also useful for bench testing with one 6s pack. I don't fly hard, the difference between packs after flight is neglible.

BEC ground must be connected to packs ground and (I've seen a couple of people making this mistake) WR Super bec doesn't support buffer packs - they say they will have a small device to allow them very soon.
__________________
TDR/VBar
Logo 600SX 12s VBar
MSH MINI PROTOS/CGY750
AcidDrink is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:34 AM   #12
Luisito
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abilene, Texas
Default

I've heard from other threads about this WR device coming soon. Can someone provide a link to it or at least a link to the announcement?
__________________
Team MikadoUSA - Luis
Luisito is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:18 AM   #13
windwizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 439
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gillette Wyoming
Default

This is my basic setup Euwan,
this also allows the electronics to be armed without
the ESC being powered up.

windwizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:20 AM   #14
Euwan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by windwizard View Post
This is my basic setup Euwan

What is that thing coming off your esc
__________________
Waiting for something special
Euwan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:21 AM   #15
alexvan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rome - Italy
Default

What is the emcotec?
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:21 AM   #16
Euwan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexvan View Post
What is the emcotec?
Yeah what is it
__________________
Waiting for something special
Euwan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:32 AM   #17
windwizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 439
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gillette Wyoming
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Euwan View Post
Yeah what is it

It's a power switch with built in spark arrestor - check it out...




WIZ
windwizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:35 AM   #18
alexvan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rome - Italy
Default

Do you really need it? It's an other possible failure point.
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:50 AM   #19
windwizard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 439
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gillette Wyoming
Default

Yes I suppose, but I like the refinement, it seems more proper.
Just gotta have a little faith!
windwizard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 02:23 PM   #20
esmoglo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,903
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Florida USA
Default

Any photos with the WR BEC installed?
__________________
Angelo
esmoglo is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > SAB Goblin 630/700/770


SAB Goblin 630/700/770 SAB Heli Division 630/700/770 - Goblin Helicopters Factory Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.