Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2012, 05:16 PM   #21
acrow
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltrousers View Post
Hi there!

Throttle hold is working fine. Haven't checked it doing a bailout yet though because the power I'm getting in general is so disappointing.

I'm running the latest firmware, the one before the 4.0 Beta.
Is throttle hold working in that it doesn't power up the motor OR did you properly set the value by running it on the ground without blades and then reducing the value until the motor stops running? They are not the same. You need to do it the second way for it to work properly. We set it initially with the main blades removed. After that, put the blades back on and check how long it takes to regain full speed after disengaging throttle hold. Adjust the Head Speed Change rate to give you the value that works for you.

By the way, when throttle hold is set up for bail out, the ESC won't arm if powered in throttle hold because the ESC doesn't see zero throttle. I use this as an extra safety feature and don't arm it until I am at hte pilot position and ready to fly.

Sorry to highjack your thread but picked it up from your settings. It might help others too.

Regards


Acrow
acrow is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 01:26 AM   #22
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Acrow: Woah ok I think maybe I need to set up the throttle hold again!!


Blackbeard: The thing is I'm running 12degrees of pitch and you've seen the log but it still doesn't feel powerful. Headspeed sounds significantly slower than with my old ESC and when compared to other people I fly with who have the same heli and less powerful batteries. I suspect what the log is showing is what the motor thinks it's doing but that's not translating into speed at the head.

The guy from Castle that I've been emailing (VERY VERY VERY helpful guy!) said that it looks like I have something slipping, oneway bearing, pinion, motor shaft etc etc so I'll have to check that out before strapping the other ESC back on!

rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:19 PM   #23
blackbeard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 82
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mississauga ont canada
Default

MMmmmmm: Ok do what you have to do.. Have you ever calibrated the throttle stick to the CC esc. And what is the other esc you are talking about.
blackbeard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:45 PM   #24
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Hi Blackbeard! haha of course I calibrated the throttle stick on the CC. I wish it was as simple as getting that wrong! Had to go back to 50% travel and come up from there until it beeped and then 2 more clicks starting with high throttle..... then low all done on a linear 0-100 curve.

Old ESC is a KDS 120A, exactly the same as a hobbywing platinum?

I really want this sorted. I'm going to resolder my connectors tonight just in case....
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 06:20 PM   #25
blackbeard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 82
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mississauga ont canada
Post

LoLOlol HHAAA Well do what you have to do .... Are you willing to try it in GOV MODE. If you are try this ( I input your spex in my cc link this is what i got.. In gov mode (hight) set your batt then set your motor/gearing Inf. Below that the 3 box. Box 1 is normal set 1800 throttel 1;522ms(about 52.8%) flat curve. Thats 0-52.8 -- -- --. Box 2 is IDL up 1 thats 1900 throttel 1.553ms(about 56.7%) flat curve 56 56 56 56 .And box 3 is IDL up 2 thats 2000 1.580ms(about 60%) flat curve 60 60 60 60. To me thats a nice setup for f3. But what ever HS you use use a tac on the head. For the gov will shot down if you overspeed the gov seting.) PS: When you input setting in cc link do not forget to prass the update. ; )
blackbeard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:39 PM   #26
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Cheers for the help!
My to-do list for the weekend:
Get new oneway bearing. Get new EC5 connector.
Install oneway bearing.
resolder all connectors.
testfly.
testfly with blackbeard's settings.
reinstall old esc.
testfly.
heli in rubbish bin.

haha
I'll keep you posted!
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:26 PM   #27
blackbeard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 82
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mississauga ont canada
Talking

LoL
blackbeard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:07 AM   #28
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

<Update>
My to-do list for the weekend:
Get new oneway bearing CHECK
Get new EC5 connector CHECK
Install oneway bearing CHECK
See if motor shaft is secure CHECK
See if pinion is secure CHECK
Resolder all connectors.
Set up ESC again.
Set up endpoints again.
Testfly.
Inspect graph
Testfly with blackbeard's settings.
Reinstall old esc.
Testfly.
Heli in rubbish bin.

rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 05:09 PM   #29
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

<Update>
My to-do list for the weekend:
Get new oneway bearing CHECK
Get new EC5 connector CHECK
Install oneway bearing CHECK
See if motor shaft is secure CHECK
See if pinion is secure CHECK
Resolder all connectors CHECK
EC5 wrong polarity CHECK
Shortcircuit battery CHECK
Vapourise half of a connector CHECK
Change underwear CHECK
Set up ESC again
Set up endpoints again.
Testfly.
Inspect graph
Testfly with blackbeard's settings.
Reinstall old esc.
Testfly.
Heli in rubbish bin.

rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 07:49 PM   #30
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Set up ESC again CHECK
Set up endpoints again CHECK
Testfly CHECK
Inspect graph.

Flight seemed to have more power. I was flying into the wind which was the same as the weekend when I first found I didn't have a lot of power to spare.

Esc and Motor were warm.

Graph attached.

I think I'll go for a proper fly later this afternoon and see how it goes....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	31MARCH.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	303378  
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 11:24 PM   #31
blackbeard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 82
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mississauga ont canada
Default

Ok what setup did you use and what kind of blade grip and blades is on the heli. I see that the current is down good. And CC ESC all about the tweeking.
blackbeard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 04:53 PM   #32
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Standard Blade grips. Align 550 blades.
Been running 93% flat in idle 1 and 97% in idle 2.
Here's the log from yesterday. I don't believe it's getting the head speed it says.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1APRIL.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	303677  
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:29 AM   #33
blackbeard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 82
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mississauga ont canada
Talking YES THATS UP THERE

Ok (Standard Blade grips is metal) (And blades is not wood.) Yes the HS is up there try to keep your headspeed around 2250/ 2350 and are you running in GOV MODE for it will try to keep your HS. SOoo how is the power now is it getting better.
blackbeard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 12:48 PM   #34
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Yeah metal grips, carbon blades.

I'm using fixed endpoints at the moment and the head speed is very constant. It feels like there's no pop or explosive power at all, everything is gradual now. Heli is still reasonably fast but not really what I'd expect with 50-90c batteries and a nice esc.

Castle link says that it can't really govern propperly unless it's down at 2100 or maybe 2200. I don't think there's much point in investigating that until I've changed the gearing slightly.

I've ordered a 15, 16, 17T pinion so I can run the curves slightly lower so the ESC has some headroom to govern properly.....oh and I also ordered a KDE600XF-1175 motor lol
Should have the torque to do the job better than the KDS motor!

rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 05:28 PM   #35
blackbeard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 82
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mississauga ont canada
Default

You ever try it with a smaller batteries like 2450 30c .
blackbeard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:26 PM   #36
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Those batteries would be lighter but I'd only get 2min flights. The sluggishness doesn't feel like a weight thing, it's a headspeed thing I recon.
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 08:57 PM   #37
blackbeard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 82
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mississauga ont canada
Default

Ok then look into a smaller main gear like a 130 the 1175 kv motor 16 tpinion you will see headspeed 2900 to about 3400.
blackbeard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:01 PM   #38
eagleridge
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,258
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florence, Ms.
Default

I experienced the same thing today.. I've been running the Align ESC on my 550 and just installed the Ice100. Headspeed was def down and didn't have the power as it did before.. Same exact throttle curves as before also. Not Governed.. Fixed 98 flat Idle2.. The heli seemed a little sluggish and bogged in fast aileron tic tocs.. Very strange.. Kinda makes me want to put the Align back on lol
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kevin Williams
Major Equipment Sponsor--AdventureRC--OMG Servos ):>
Cyclone Blades
Rcbearings.com Tech Rep
eagleridge is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:24 AM   #39
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Yeah that sounds like my situation too. There must be some logical explanation!
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 02:08 AM   #40
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Upgraded to KDE motor and 16T pinion. Seems great so far!
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com