Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk

Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

Old 04-03-2012, 04:00 PM   #1
icourier19
Registered Users

Default Shaft or belt driven Tail?

Hi, I am fairly new to CP Helicopters. I have learnt the basic flying skills with a Honey bee CP3. The tail Motor has now stopped responding as it should,after a small accident, new boom and fin, nothing drastic, and the bird is fairly uncontrollable. I have to apply a large amount of right control? Is it the motor or the controller. I have tried all kinds of adjustments but still not very responsive. Thanks in advance for any advice. Ian.
icourier19 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
SQRT(-2)
Registered Users

Ok, the low down on shafts and belts.

Both work just fine.

The belts are a bit more forgiving when your tail strikes the ground or grass gets tangled up in the blades. They also will work if there is a slight bend in the tail. (You really should replace the tail if it is bent, but I am just saying.) They can cause problems with static. But this does not happen to everyone and it is easily fixed by grounding the tail boom.

Shafts are supposed to have less friction and no static. They are easier damaged by striking the tail to the ground or getting grass tangled in the blade. But it is not as bad as some make it out to be, or at least it has not been for me.

Each is a hundred times better than a tail motor heli. Tail motors only work well or really tiny helis where the tail rotor is so small that it can speed up and slow down almost instantly because it has a low mass moment of inertia. This means the MSR and MCPX and the like work pretty good with them, but most just don't work well.