START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > CAD/CAM

CAD/CAM R/C Helicopter CAD/CAM

Old 04-18-2012, 08:33 AM   #1
xfactor6
Registered Users

Default How?

I am just researching this for now but as a complete beginner with no knowledge at all about cnc/cam/cad. if i wanted to make extra parts from my helis, how would that be accomplished. would i need to measure every single part of one piece then put it into auto cad then cam then mach3 and that would cnc the part for me? is there something i could simply take a picture of the object and then i would put dimensions into and cnc it? totaly new dont know anything about this so i would appreciate any help.
i have access to getting autocad so im going to start learning about it through utube videos if i can find some just to start.

Thanks,
xfactor6 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:04 AM   #2
banditpowdercoat
Registered Users

My HF Map location

Unfortunately you gotta do the steps. Measure. Cad. Cam. Then mill. It's time consuming that's why there isn't a lot of people doing it. Then there possibly mounting fixtures and jigs to be built depending on part and how it needs to be machined etc. One off parts on CNC can be real time consuming and not worth it. If you plan on making lots then it's the way to go

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
"Tri-Flow"
I put that S*** on everything!"
banditpowdercoat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 06:22 AM   #3
flyingmike
Registered Users

I make parts for my helis starting from the CAD to the finished part on cnc machines. I guess the best way to look at this is that we do it because we enjoy designing and making the parts not because we need a replacement part .

You can sometimes buy replacement parts cheaper that the stock material cost

For simple parts its much easier just to program in gcode as a .txt file through mach3. In most cases you wont exceed the 500 lines of code so you can use the free version.