Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flybarless Helicopter Systems


Flybarless Helicopter Systems CSM Cyclock, Helitronix Multi-mixer, Spartan AP2000i, Firmtronix Digimix-3, Gyrobot, SK360and AC3X


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
lmcwilli
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default ZYX dead after firmware upgrade

Today I attempted to do a firmware upgrade of my Tarot ZYX 3 Axis Gyro (ZYX20210314) so that I could use the features of the ZYX 3.0 software.

I downloaded ZYX-S3.0EN.rar from the Tarot website (www.0577mx.com).

http://www.kingwjg.com/tool/ZYX-S3.0EN.rar

Using the v3 software, the firmware update ran successfully.

However, now the gyro does not initialize: no lights at all!

It appears that I used the ZYX-S firmware upgrade rather than ZYX firmware (I didn't know there was a difference).

What should I do? Is my gyro hosed?

Thanks
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:39 AM   #2
Mikej
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Default

Re-flash it with the latest version for the non-S ZYX http://www.kingwjg.com/tool/ZYX2.5EN.rar
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:24 AM   #3
lmcwilli
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default

The problem is, I don't know how to get the ZYX reconnected to the software.

When I power up, no lights flash on the ZYX. When I press the set button, the red light flashes but then the ZYX goes dark.
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:13 AM   #4
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 449
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

Is this a ZYX-S or a ZYX ? Did the program open a window at end of upgrade saying something like..."upgrade successful" and did you see a green bar at bottom of PC program? If it did not give a clear message of success then read the the PDF that came in the 3.0 software..
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:25 AM   #5
lmcwilli
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default

My gyro is a ZYX---not ZYX-S. Yesterday, when I did the firmware upgrade, I wasn't aware that there was a -S model. So, I mistakenly updated my ZYX gyro with ZYX-S firmware. That update process was "successful". I got an update completed message. And, a bar at the bottom confirmed the transfer of so many bytes to the gyro.

The problem is that loading the ZYX-S firmware appears to have hosed my ZYX. My gyro neither initializes nor connects to the ZYX software.
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:41 AM   #6
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 449
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

OK... The number ( ZYX20210314) you posted made me think it was a ZYX-S instead of a ZYX. My ZYX does not have a number on the side of it but the ZYX-S does..... You could try this program and firmware for ZYX and see if it will connect and then load the firmware upgrade for the ZYX.....

The program is.....http://fbl.net.nz/download/25

The firmware is....http://www.kingwjg.com/tool/ZYX%20ROM.rar
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:46 AM   #7
lmcwilli
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default

OK. I'll give that software a try. But, the problem I'm having is that I can't get any lights on the gyro---not even when I press the set button.
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:52 AM   #8
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 449
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

When you dowload the firmware, you have to move it out of the chinese languge folder for it to work... Also the FBL program should be able to force upgrade the ZYX without following Tarots instructions..I have never had to do this so far so not sure on the exact procedure.....
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:05 AM   #9
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 449
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

There`s lots of information on RCGroup.... One good place is here..http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1568592
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:26 AM   #10
lmcwilli
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default

I would think that I need to connect to the ZXY before I can do a firmware upgrade. My problem is that I can't get a connection.
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:44 AM   #11
Mikej
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmcwilli View Post
I would think that I need to connect to the ZXY before I can do a firmware upgrade. My problem is that I can't get a connection.
not if you use John_NZ's software that IFHELI linked to, try this
* download the 2.5 software http://www.kingwjg.com/tool/ZYX%20ROM.rar unpack it and load the .bin file onto your desktop
* Download John_NZ's software http://fbl.net.nz/download/25 check that it runs, then close it
*insert the USB dongle, then start the FBL software again
*connect your ZYX (not switched on yet)
* power up the ZYX with the set button pressed - you should get the red flashing light, go to the Firmware Upgrade box, select it and then click on the >bin file that you loaded onto your desktop, then hit the upgrade button - it shoul dnow load the firmware, when it says that it has been loaded successfully power everything off.
* now power the ZYX again - all of the lights should come one - you will need to re-initialise and reset al of the settings.

Good luck,
Mike
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:46 AM   #12
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 449
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

You should be able to turn on Tx and connect battery... Then connect usb dongle, open FBL porgram, select correct com port, open zyx.bin, and hit upgrade.... I believe these are good steps. I have never had a failure / problem with ZYX`s so I`m not sure of the exact steps... I don`t think you have to hit connect button in the FBL program for this to work
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:49 AM   #13
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 449
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

MikeJ steps do sound better... I have never been in this position....
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:07 AM   #14
lmcwilli
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default

Thanks for the specific directions. I'll give them a try.
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:57 AM   #15
lmcwilli
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default

Mikej's directions worked! Whew. I was afraid i was going to have to buy a new gyro.

Just in case some other hapless person wanders into this swamp, following is a slight re-write of Mikej's directions---indicating what I actually did.

1. Download the 2.5 software http://www.kingwjg.com/tool/ZYX%20ROM.rar unpack it and load the update .bin file onto your desktop

(I downloaded from: http://tarot-rc-heli.com /ZYX_3_Axis_Flybarless_Gyro_ZYX?filter_name=zyx)

2. Download John_NZ's software http://fbl.net.nz/download/25 check that it runs, then close it

3. Insert the USB dongle, then start the FBL software again

4. Go to the Firmware Upgrade box, click OPEN, browse to the .bin upgrade file (that you loaded onto your desktop), then click OK

5. Connect your USB dongle to your ZYX (not switched on yet)

6. With the set button pressed, power up the ZYX (I used a paper clip to make sure the button is pressed)- you should get the red flashing light

7. While the red light is flashing, go to the "Firmware Upgrade" box, then click on UPRADE. As a result you should see an upload progress bar.

8. When it says that firmware has loaded successfully, disconnect power to the ZYX.

9. Now power on the ZYX again - all of the lights should come one - you will need to re-initialise and reset all of the settings.
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:19 PM   #16
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 449
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

Good to hear you got it back
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:37 PM   #17
lmcwilli
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US,Maryland,Frederick
Default

Thanks for your support Keith.
__________________
Blade 450X, Witespy 450 Quad, Gaui X3, Gaui X5
lmcwilli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:29 PM   #18
Mikej
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Default

Glad you got it sorted willi - it's frustrating when it's "bricked " isn't it
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 02:32 PM   #19
2Drum
Registered Users
 
Posts: 39
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikej View Post
it's frustrating when it's "bricked " isn't it
Nothing more true has ever been spoken!!!
__________________
Doug

The opinions expressed here are merely that, opinions, so keep your feathers down.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2Drum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 02:34 PM   #20
2Drum
Registered Users
 
Posts: 39
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmcwilli View Post
Mikej's directions worked! Whew. I was afraid i was going to have to buy a new gyro.

Just in case some other hapless person wanders into this swamp, following is a slight re-write of Mikej's directions---indicating what I actually did.

1. Download the 2.5 software http://www.kingwjg.com/tool/ZYX%20ROM.rar unpack it and load the update .bin file onto your desktop

(I downloaded from: http://tarot-rc-heli.com /ZYX_3_Axis_Flybarless_Gyro_ZYX?filter_name=zyx)

2. Download John_NZ's software http://fbl.net.nz/download/25 check that it runs, then close it

3. Insert the USB dongle, then start the FBL software again

4. Go to the Firmware Upgrade box, click OPEN, browse to the .bin upgrade file (that you loaded onto your desktop), then click OK

5. Connect your USB dongle to your ZYX (not switched on yet)

6. With the set button pressed, power up the ZYX (I used a paper clip to make sure the button is pressed)- you should get the red flashing light

7. While the red light is flashing, go to the "Firmware Upgrade" box, then click on UPRADE. As a result you should see an upload progress bar.

8. When it says that firmware has loaded successfully, disconnect power to the ZYX.

9. Now power on the ZYX again - all of the lights should come one - you will need to re-initialise and reset all of the settings.
Excellent post
__________________
Doug

The opinions expressed here are merely that, opinions, so keep your feathers down.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2Drum is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flybarless Helicopter Systems


Flybarless Helicopter Systems CSM Cyclock, Helitronix Multi-mixer, Spartan AP2000i, Firmtronix Digimix-3, Gyrobot, SK360and AC3X

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com