Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2012, 09:10 PM   #21
dannylightning
Registered Users
 
Posts: 14,468
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Default

Well i would pick the lowest jead speed bit that does not matter. No mattrt what head speed the tail adjustment in rate will be the same

Sent from my YP-G70 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
gaui x5,torq, yge, hyperion, v bar,[B][I]
dannylightning is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 06:49 AM   #22
dunkonu23
ALeeS Team Manager
 
Posts: 9,645
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

I usually do it in idle 1, simply because the head speed is constant there. For adjustment, I keep normal in heading hold, idle 1 in rate mote, then I adjust the idle 2 throttle curve to match idle 1's curve and have it in HH mode. This way, if I make a huge mistake during the build (or reconstruction) and the tail goes nuts in rate mode, I can bail to either idle 2 or normal and stop any bad consequences. After I complete the adjustments, I never return to rate mode for flying. I fly in Heading Hold mode. Finally, I go about setting gains (I start at 72 on my DX8) in all three flight modes, which by setting at 72 are all in Heading Hold.

Scott
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Spartan Vortex
Inside, Cyclone Blades, Scorpion Motors

OMG Servos ):>

RCBearings.com Tech Rep
dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 08:42 PM   #23
ReadyToCrash
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Default

i can see the heli rotating as i flip it.
it may well be me, but may also be a compensation problem that could be solved with tail torque precomp, i think.
i tried to activate it on my beastx, but the led is either purple or off.
the red and blue colors never show up.
i wonder why.
thanks.
__________________

Futaba 8fg, Trex600Pro6SVbar, Trex600Pro12SVbar, Trex700EDfcMbx, Logo550SeVbar, Logo600SxVbar
ReadyToCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 11:50 PM   #24
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadyToCrash View Post
i tried to activate it on my beastx, but the led is either purple or off.
You do have a V3 BX? The V2 had only 2 settings for precomp, off and set by computer, AFAIK that was off and purple for the LED.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 06:32 AM   #25
ReadyToCrash
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
You do have a V3 BX? The V2 had only 2 settings for precomp, off and set by computer, AFAIK that was off and purple for the LED.
I have two beastx and one of them is indeed v2.

I never updated because i feared it could mess everything up. After updating to v3 do i have to do all the settings again?

When flipping i notice the heli sligthly rotates the tail and the manouver ends up a little messy. I'm trying to correct it either by adding some rudder gain or by using the tail torque precomp. Do you guys have any other suggestion, please?

Thanks
__________________

Futaba 8fg, Trex600Pro6SVbar, Trex600Pro12SVbar, Trex700EDfcMbx, Logo550SeVbar, Logo600SxVbar
ReadyToCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 03:14 AM   #26
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadyToCrash View Post
I have two beastx and one of them is indeed v2.

I never updated because i feared it could mess everything up. After updating to v3 do i have to do all the settings again?
Yes, a V2 to V3 update resets the beast to factory settings.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 09:52 AM   #27
Stolla
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Elizabeth South Africa
Default

check your precomp (revo mix) direction as described here http://www.helifreak.com/showpost.ph...61&postcount=2
Stolla is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 03:45 PM   #28
ReadyToCrash
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Default

the tail torque precomp works great when the heli is hovering and some pitch punchs are given. however, during the flips my heli still keeps turning clockwise.

are the 'normal' and 'reverse' concepts in step F of Parameter Menu the same 'normal'/'reverse' options of Setup Menu step F?

if i have 'normal' on the setup menu, should i have 'normal' too on parameter menu?

thanks.
__________________

Futaba 8fg, Trex600Pro6SVbar, Trex600Pro12SVbar, Trex700EDfcMbx, Logo550SeVbar, Logo600SxVbar
ReadyToCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:09 PM   #29
dunkonu23
ALeeS Team Manager
 
Posts: 9,645
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

The tail turning during flips possibly indicates three things.

1. Phasing error.
2. Blades not properly balanced spanwise.
3. You adding rudder during the flip.

Could be all of the above or something else, but this is a good place to start. If this only happens in flips, I'd turn off precomp.

What head are you using?

Scott
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Spartan Vortex
Inside, Cyclone Blades, Scorpion Motors

OMG Servos ):>

RCBearings.com Tech Rep
dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 06:04 PM   #30
ReadyToCrash
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunkonu23 View Post
The tail turning during flips possibly indicates three things.

1. Phasing error.
2. Blades not properly balanced spanwise.
3. You adding rudder during the flip.

Could be all of the above or something else, but this is a good place to start. If this only happens in flips, I'd turn off precomp.

What head are you using?

Scott
hi,
i'm using the trex 550 align original fbl head. phasing is not adjustable in this head.
despite of that, the swash ball doesn`t look in line with the blade grips ball, suggesting that there is a little deviation. i can`t fix it though because the 550 head design doesn`t allow it.
i don`t think it is me. it doesn`t happen to my trex 600 and also on the sim.
blades are balanced, but not individually. i mean, gc of each blade may differ slightly, but both blades attached at the holes balance perfectly.
__________________

Futaba 8fg, Trex600Pro6SVbar, Trex600Pro12SVbar, Trex700EDfcMbx, Logo550SeVbar, Logo600SxVbar

Last edited by ReadyToCrash; 06-10-2012 at 07:29 PM..
ReadyToCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 06:58 AM   #31
dunkonu23
ALeeS Team Manager
 
Posts: 9,645
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

Hang the blades from a nut driver, leading edge to leading edge and see if they scissor. If they scissor a lot--more than five or so mm--suspect chord wise CG is off. Span CG can be dead on yet chord be off enough for the blades to cause what appears to be a phasing issue. I had that on my T-Rex 450. I went to different blades and the tail movement was gone.

Scott
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Spartan Vortex
Inside, Cyclone Blades, Scorpion Motors

OMG Servos ):>

RCBearings.com Tech Rep
dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 07:49 AM   #32
Waff
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Are your blade grips leading edge? The blade grip balls should be in line with the swash balls.

Waff
Waff is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 05:06 PM   #33
ReadyToCrash
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Default

hi,
the grips are leading edge.
these pics show what seems to be a tiny misalignment between the grip and the swash plate ball.
i don't know if this amount of deviation can cause a phasing issue.
the problem is that this head doesn't allow me to fix it. the screw holes for the swashout arms are on the main rotor housing, not in an independent collar, as on the trex 600 rotor.

Quote:
Hang the blades from a nut driver, leading edge to leading edge and see if they scissor. If they scissor a lot--more than five or so mm--suspect chord wise CG is off. Span CG can be dead on yet chord be off enough for the blades to cause what appears to be a phasing issue. I had that on my T-Rex 450. I went to different blades and the tail movement was gone.
what is a chord gc? what do you mean with 'scissor'? if they would move in angle like a scissor if i hang both with a rod crossing their holes? i think they would.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 763.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	323775   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 764.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	323776   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 765.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	323777   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	323778   Click image for larger version

Name:	images.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	3.3 KB
ID:	323782  

__________________

Futaba 8fg, Trex600Pro6SVbar, Trex600Pro12SVbar, Trex700EDfcMbx, Logo550SeVbar, Logo600SxVbar
ReadyToCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:22 AM   #34
dunkonu23
ALeeS Team Manager
 
Posts: 9,645
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

I'll try to find a picture to show you what I mean by "scissor".

Edit: Here's a picture that shows what FBL blades should look like:



Hang your blades as shown. Scissoring is when the leading edge of one blade gets really close to the trailing edge of the other blade. Above shows some error in chord wise CG because the leading edge of the front blade is not parallel with the trailing edge of the back blade. This is normal. Blades like this won't generally cause problems. If the scissoring is REALLY obvious, you may get problems like you describe or other problems like pitching in high speed flight. I've flown the blades above with no issue at all.

Were the pictures you took with the transmitter and fbl unit powered on and the collective set to mid stick? If so your links from the servos to the swash need to be shortened some because the swash driver arms are not perpendicular to the main shaft. I don't know if its parallax or not in the picture, but the alignment of the swash to head link looks pretty close to me. Based on your pictures, I wouldn't really stress over this. I'd just try a different set of blades from a different manufacturer and see what happens. Worse thing there is that you end up with a spare set of blades.

Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Scissor.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	324153  
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Spartan Vortex
Inside, Cyclone Blades, Scorpion Motors

OMG Servos ):>

RCBearings.com Tech Rep
dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:52 PM   #35
ReadyToCrash
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunkonu23 View Post
Were the pictures you took with the transmitter and fbl unit powered on and the collective set to mid stick? If so your links from the servos to the swash need to be shortened some because the swash driver arms are not perpendicular to the main shaft.
Scott
hey scott,
thank you very much.
i'd never know what scissoring really meant.
the heli wasn't powered on when i took the pictures. the swash arms are really level when the power is on and the stick is in the middle.
i'm gonna try new blades and see what happens, however i've noticed this problem with diff set of blades already.
i don't think it is parallax. there is a tiny deviation between the swashplate and the grip balls, maybe very tiny to cause any problem.
maybe i'm looking for perfection that doesn't exist or maybe i have an issue hard to solve.
it is not only during serial flips that i see the head kind of wobbling. when i invert the heli with a big loop, it always ends up a little tilted.
__________________

Futaba 8fg, Trex600Pro6SVbar, Trex600Pro12SVbar, Trex700EDfcMbx, Logo550SeVbar, Logo600SxVbar

Last edited by ReadyToCrash; 06-13-2012 at 06:26 PM..
ReadyToCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:18 PM   #36
dunkonu23
ALeeS Team Manager
 
Posts: 9,645
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

If the head is wobbling, you may want to turn down pot 1 just a tad and see what that does for you. I really don't think this is a tail problem because during stationary flips you're not really exercising collective to its limits.

I don't think you're chasing perfection. The tail should remain lined up during flips.

Scott
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Spartan Vortex
Inside, Cyclone Blades, Scorpion Motors

OMG Servos ):>

RCBearings.com Tech Rep
dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com