Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Gaui Helicopters > X5


X5 Discussion and support of the Gaui X5


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2012, 12:02 PM   #1
tommeke
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default what to consider

Well, sold my trex 500 to get this beaty. are there things that I need to consider before I fly it? It will be equiped with align servo's and an ar7200bx. Can I get the beastx settings around here somewhere and if not, can you post it please?
Thanks for your help!

realy looking forward to flying this bird
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 12:34 PM   #2
Chris Sexton
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,124
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Default

First off, welcome to the Grin club. The first time you fly it, You will know what I mean.

The Align servos are no problem, although there have been reports they pull more power than the stock BEC can handle. You might think about a separate BEC if you weren't already.

As for the BeastX settings, those are hard to post for you. The beastx settings are Taylored to the the heli. It will have you measure servo travel, check orientation, measure cyclic throw. All things that are going to be different from one heli to another.

I recommend just following the manual step by step. The first time through will seem a little intimidating, but once you do it once, it will be a piece of cake.
__________________
Synergy Factory Specialist / Rail Blades / Team Scorpion
Chris Sexton is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:26 PM   #3
tommeke
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdsexton View Post
First off, welcome to the Grin club. The first time you fly it, You will know what I mean.

The Align servos are no problem, although there have been reports they pull more power than the stock BEC can handle. You might think about a separate BEC if you weren't already.

As for the BeastX settings, those are hard to post for you. The beastx settings are Taylored to the the heli. It will have you measure servo travel, check orientation, measure cyclic throw. All things that are going to be different from one heli to another.

I recommend just following the manual step by step. The first time through will seem a little intimidating, but once you do it once, it will be a piece of cake.
what happens if the servos draw too much power?
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:28 PM   #4
Wh1teAfr1can
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,694
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL
Default

you have a brown out and the heli will crash. or in the best case scenario it will just glitch but the long term effect will be burning out the esc eventually and causeing a fire and or a forced auto.
__________________
Richard Zappe
Team Kontronik Team minicopter
Diabolo Kosmik 200, Pyro 750 - 50 Comp, Diabolo S #RZ, Diabolo 550 Jive Pro 120, Pyro 650-103 Comp
Wh1teAfr1can is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:46 PM   #5
tommeke
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default

isn't there a switch on the besc to let through more power?
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:53 PM   #6
newbheliusr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,821
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mountlake Terrace, Wa
Default

You can adjust voltage, but not amperage. So no, you can't change a switch and get more power. A separate BEC, or a more powerful ESC/BEC is your only choice.
newbheliusr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:57 PM   #7
tommeke
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default

have guys used them with succes?
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:58 PM   #8
Chris Sexton
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,124
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Default

I used the stock ESC/BEC with the stock GAUI servos, and I still had a brown out. I am currently running a WR Mini BEC, problem solved.
__________________
Synergy Factory Specialist / Rail Blades / Team Scorpion
Chris Sexton is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:59 PM   #9
tommeke
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default

damn, again extra costs :p
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:04 PM   #10
newbheliusr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,821
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mountlake Terrace, Wa
Default

I use a CC BEC Pro on mine, along with a CC Ice 100. Separate BEC always adds a bit of security IMO
newbheliusr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:25 PM   #11
tommeke
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default

if you use a seperate bec, will you need a LiFe pack or can you run it fram the normal pack?
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:56 PM   #12
newbheliusr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,821
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mountlake Terrace, Wa
Default

I run it right off the flight pack.
newbheliusr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:57 PM   #13
Chris Sexton
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,124
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Default

That is up to you. I tied mine into the flight pack, less weight. No measurable decline in flight times.
__________________
Synergy Factory Specialist / Rail Blades / Team Scorpion
Chris Sexton is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 03:14 PM   #14
tommeke
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default

are there cheaper bec's than WR?
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 03:25 PM   #15
Chris Sexton
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,124
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Default

CC BEC Pro V3, 38.99, works great on 6S.

Just don't get the blue BEC by Castle, it's weaker than the stock ESC.

http://www.experiencerc.com/store/ca...ro-p-9891.html
__________________
Synergy Factory Specialist / Rail Blades / Team Scorpion
Chris Sexton is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 03:34 PM   #16
helidude71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,957
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommeke View Post
are there cheaper bec's than WR?
Keep in mind what will happen if your BEC fails.
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Mini VBar 5.3 Pro, S.Bus, YGE 100LV
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 03:46 PM   #17
dodgeboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,515
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: slidell, LA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdsexton View Post
CC BEC Pro V3, 38.99, works great on 6S.

Just don't get the blue BEC by Castle, it's weaker than the stock ESC.

http://www.experiencerc.com/store/ca...ro-p-9891.html

+1
i have it on my 12s fusion 50 and it works just fine
__________________

Empire Hobby/ Team Gaui USA -- Rcbearings.com
-- Cyclone Blades -- Team KDE -- A-Main Hobbies -- OMG servos
dodgeboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:08 PM   #18
newbheliusr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,821
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mountlake Terrace, Wa
Default

Just don't run it off 12s. Run it off 6s max.
newbheliusr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:14 PM   #19
tommeke
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: waregem, Belgium
Default

it's for an x5 so it will be 6s
tommeke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:26 PM   #20
newbheliusr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,821
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mountlake Terrace, Wa
Default

I've got mine setup, and it works great.
newbheliusr is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Gaui Helicopters > X5


X5 Discussion and support of the Gaui X5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.