Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters > 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters


600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 11:59 AM   #41
Mike A.
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,656
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Leesburg, Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 350Z_Al View Post
Anyways, let's keep this on topic and try to solve his problems..
I wasn't talking about the latest fashion trends...we were talking about lipo performance which is probably his issue.
__________________
Trex 600EFL - KDE 600XF-530 - All the other KDE Goodies
Mike A. is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:13 PM   #42
Gaza-Davies
Registered Users
 
Posts: 552
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: wales
Default

That video I provided of 600e was in gov mode at 2300rpm

i am currently running 100% flat fixed curve

which did increase the performance of the heli but doesn't hold the its head speed on hard fast tic tocs

I can preform large tic tocs known as a rainbow without no effort

tail down tic tocs hold perfect head speed doesn't drop and I can do those as fast as the heli can withstand but with aileron its a different story its so sloppy and bogs down perhaps its my collective management but then again i have seen videos of the 600 with more power and more aggressive
Gaza-Davies is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:56 PM   #43
fastflyer20
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,142
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Buffalo Area
Default

What about your CC settings? There is also a way to measure true kv and plug that into CC, for some it has made a big improvement.
fastflyer20 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 01:27 PM   #44
Gaza-Davies
Registered Users
 
Posts: 552
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: wales
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastflyer20 View Post
What about your CC settings? There is also a way to measure true kv and plug that into CC, for some it has made a big improvement.
here is my settings

################################################## #####
# Castle Link Data File
# Created: Tuesday, July 10, 2012
# Do Not Edit This File By Hand
################################################## #####
Hex55: 85
Brake Delay: .6 sec (Delayed) (*)
Brake Ramp: Immediate (*)
Motor Start Power: 59
Direction: Forward (*)
Brake Strength: 0
Current Limiting: Insensitive (140A)
Power-On Beep: Enabled (*)
Motor Timing: 5
Data Log Enabled: 255
Vehicle Type: Helicopter
Throttle Type: Fixed-Endpoints
Throttle Response: 5
Governor Gain: 15
Initial Spool-Up Rate: 5
Head Speed Change Rate: 8
Auto Rotate Enabled: True
Governor Mode Type: Simple
Vehicle Setup - Battery Type: LiPo
Vehicle Setup - Number of Cells: 12
Vehicle Setup - Battery Voltage: 44.4000
Vehicle Setup - Gear Ratio: 8.615
Vehicle Setup - Motor Kv: 510
Vehicle Setup - Motor Number of Poles: 10
Desired Head Speed 1: Optional
Desired Head Speed 2: Optional
Desired Head Speed 3: Optional
PWM Rate: 12 Khz (*)
Sample Frequency: 1 Sample / Sec (*)
Cutoff Voltage: Auto Li-Po (*)
Auto-Lipo Volts/Cell: 3.2 Volts/Cell (*)
Voltage Cutoff Type: Soft Cutoff (*)
Current Cutoff Type: Soft Cutoff (*)
Link Live Enable: Disabled (*)
Gaza-Davies is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:31 PM   #45
davehour
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaza-Davies View Post
here is my settings

################################################## #####
# Castle Link Data File
# Created: Tuesday, July 10, 2012
# Do Not Edit This File By Hand
################################################## #####
Hex55: 85
Brake Delay: .6 sec (Delayed) (*)
Brake Ramp: Immediate (*)
Motor Start Power: 59
Direction: Forward (*)
Brake Strength: 0
Current Limiting: Insensitive (140A)
Power-On Beep: Enabled (*)
Motor Timing: 5
Data Log Enabled: 255
Vehicle Type: Helicopter
Throttle Type: Fixed-Endpoints
Throttle Response: 5
Governor Gain: 15
Initial Spool-Up Rate: 5
Head Speed Change Rate: 8
Auto Rotate Enabled: True
Governor Mode Type: Simple
Vehicle Setup - Battery Type: LiPo
Vehicle Setup - Number of Cells: 12
Vehicle Setup - Battery Voltage: 44.4000
Vehicle Setup - Gear Ratio: 8.615
Vehicle Setup - Motor Kv: 510
Vehicle Setup - Motor Number of Poles: 10
Desired Head Speed 1: Optional
Desired Head Speed 2: Optional
Desired Head Speed 3: Optional
PWM Rate: 12 Khz (*)
Sample Frequency: 1 Sample / Sec (*)
Cutoff Voltage: Auto Li-Po (*)
Auto-Lipo Volts/Cell: 3.2 Volts/Cell (*)
Voltage Cutoff Type: Soft Cutoff (*)
Current Cutoff Type: Soft Cutoff (*)
Link Live Enable: Disabled (*)
I believe the "Brake" should be disabled, but the way it looks above could be because you're using the newest firmware and not v3.27, the one I'm using at this moment.

I use 8 KHz in the PWM Rate, and the timing at "Normal". I don't recall if 5 is the "Low" setting. If it is, changing PWM to 8KHz and timing to "Normal", will make a noticeable difference.

Did you calibrate the throttle as instructed in the Castle software help?

Have you checked the logger for Power Output vs. Head RPM? This will let you know how hard the ESC is working to keep the actual headspeed you're running. This tells you much about the batteries, wiring, actual throttle calibration and gearing.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:59 AM   #46
Gaza-Davies
Registered Users
 
Posts: 552
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: wales
Default

Brake is disabled

i also changed to 8khz

when you say it will make in noticeable difference ... in what way head speed or power (torque) ?


i got my settings of forums people saying 12khz was fine
Gaza-Davies is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:45 AM   #47
fixedwing71
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA, Garner, NC
Default

I used MaxAmps batteries when I started in electric flight years ago. Once they forgot about the airborne crowd and shifted their complete foucs to the car world (and inflated their prices to ridiculous levels), I switched to Hyperion batteries and haven't looked back I've got some batteries that are on their third season and still put out great power. Granted I don't beat on my batteries very hard and I'm extremely meticulous about their care. I highly recommend Hyperion. Not the cheapest battery out there, but I'm one satisfied customer.

Make sure your batteries are always at storage charge (~3.85 volts/cell) if they aren't being used. It's okay to charge 'em the night before you fly, but if I don't fly the next day I will put them back at storage charge. I also don't let my batteries get too hot... my workshop is insulated but it still gets to 90+ degrees in the summer. I store my batteries in my house in ammo cans in the summer but return them to the shop once the weather cools down.
fixedwing71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:01 AM   #48
davehour
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaza-Davies View Post
Brake is disabled

i also changed to 8khz

when you say it will make in noticeable difference ... in what way head speed or power (torque) ?


i got my settings of forums people saying 12khz was fine
I've read that from the ones who have switched the timing from low to normal.
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:47 AM   #49
Gaza-Davies
Registered Users
 
Posts: 552
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: wales
Default

Ok Cheers dude i will try that out tomorrow if weather fine...

also just a question as I only have a cheap charger at the moment could this also effect the lipos in performance I am waiting on a Hyperion EOS 1420iNET3 charger so I am stuck with the cheap ones for now
Gaza-Davies is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:20 PM   #50
davehour
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaza-Davies View Post
Ok Cheers dude i will try that out tomorrow if weather fine...

also just a question as I only have a cheap charger at the moment could this also effect the lipos in performance I am waiting on a Hyperion EOS 1420iNET3 charger so I am stuck with the cheap ones for now
As long as the charger doesn't overcharge (>4.20V) the cells, and balance them within at least 0.010V, you'll be ok. This is assuming the calibration of the charger display (if any) is accurate enough.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 06:26 PM   #51
Gaza-Davies
Registered Users
 
Posts: 552
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: wales
Default

Ok I have made a video today showing the tic tocs on the heli nothing much as it was a windy day

but you guys were correct my lipos are the problem .. this was the second flight i had which infact was a good amount of power in this flight bogging weren't so bad but ! ... the first flight i had was bogging right down ! so the problem that would be would be lipo's


here is the video let me know what you think .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3Yegh8VM3o
Gaza-Davies is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:36 PM   #52
xseeker
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Beale AFB, CA
Default

Great video, looks good. Funny thing about your thread. Today I went ahead and did some small adjustments to my 3gx settings on mine and the difference was crazy. So much more feel and direct. But that also caused my ELEV ball link to snap in half while practicing tic tocs. I managed to land it but ya.
xseeker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:35 AM   #53
Mike A.
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,656
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Leesburg, Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaza-Davies View Post
Ok I have made a video today showing the tic tocs on the heli nothing much as it was a windy day

but you guys were correct my lipos are the problem .. this was the second flight i had which infact was a good amount of power in this flight bogging weren't so bad but ! ... the first flight i had was bogging right down ! so the problem that would be would be lipo's


here is the video let me know what you think .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3Yegh8VM3o

Looks good, what kind of batteries are you using now? In your video description it says you changed some esc settings. What settings did you change?
__________________
Trex 600EFL - KDE 600XF-530 - All the other KDE Goodies
Mike A. is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:35 PM   #54
Gaza-Davies
Registered Users
 
Posts: 552
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: wales
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xseeker View Post
Great video, looks good. Funny thing about your thread. Today I went ahead and did some small adjustments to my 3gx settings on mine and the difference was crazy. So much more feel and direct. But that also caused my ELEV ball link to snap in half while practicing tic tocs. I managed to land it but ya.
wow man you manage to land with no damage ? ? welldone
Gaza-Davies is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:39 PM   #55
Gaza-Davies
Registered Users
 
Posts: 552
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: wales
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike A. View Post
Looks good, what kind of batteries are you using now? In your video description it says you changed some esc settings. What settings did you change?

i am using same lipos as posted earlier ( turnigy nano tech 3000mah ) i changed the khz to 8 instead of 12 and set the timing to normal
Gaza-Davies is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:00 PM   #56
xseeker
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Beale AFB, CA
Default

I have no idea how i did it to be honest. Had to constantly keep it under control. The main blades were wobbling I dont get how they didn't explode heh. But decided to take everything apart and check just in case. Swapped thrust beatings and main shaft bearings etc just to be safe.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaza-Davies View Post
wow man you manage to land with no damage ? ? welldone
xseeker is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters > 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters


600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters 600 PRO Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com