Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Model Helicopters > Odin and 3D+


Odin and 3D+ Compass Odin and 3D+ Model Helicopter Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2012, 04:50 AM   #1
frypan
Registered Users ):>
 
Posts: 1,718
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Midwestern Florida.
Default Beastx users need pics.

I would like to find out where I can mount a beastx. It looks like I could mount on the CF tray. But I've seen in here you cant. Are people using it on the cf tray, that would be easier than putting on the servos for sure.
__________________
On break, Building up a s13/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Dan
frypan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 04:04 PM   #2
Down Low
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,162
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Default

I can't post a pic right at the moment, but mine is on its side just above the right servo (from rear) The corner of the BX where the frame angles down is exposed and off the frame, but there is still plenty (more) that is stuck to the frame and solid. I got the idea from Skunkworx, his is the same as far as I know.
Works good! no issues. I've been thinking of mounting out back on the CF tray but I really don't feel like running wires the length of the frame.
__________________
Airtronics SD10G, SK540
Synergy N5c, Novarossi .57 3DS
MAAC #85462
Down Low is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:23 PM   #3
pete best
Registered Users
 
Posts: 230
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clayton, NC USA
Default

I have it mounted on the carbon gyro tray up top with no problems. With the stock canopy it clears just fine. Now the wierd thing, I have a plain white canopy from Nankin, so I was assuming that they are the same canopy from the same manufacturer. Spent two weeks airbrushing it after work, got it out to the field, mounted it for the first time and it wouldn't clear. Bummer. I don't know which one is wrong. I think I'm going to do the vertical mount on the side of the frame, above the rudder servo now. The battery tray where I had it for a while is to flimsy and seemed to pick up strange vibrations. I have also been thinking of cutting down an Align 600N battery tray to fit in it. They seem to be a little more rigid.
__________________
Greg Short
Compass Field Rep
Compass Odin 90 fbl, Compass Atom 5.5, Compass 3d+
Compass 7HV, Compass 6HV.
pete best is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 02:09 PM   #4
alexmit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,773
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete best View Post
I have it mounted on the carbon gyro tray up top with no problems. With the stock canopy it clears just fine. Now the wierd thing, I have a plain white canopy from Nankin, so I was assuming that they are the same canopy from the same manufacturer. Spent two weeks airbrushing it after work, got it out to the field, mounted it for the first time and it wouldn't clear. Bummer. I don't know which one is wrong. I think I'm going to do the vertical mount on the side of the frame, above the rudder servo now. The battery tray where I had it for a while is to flimsy and seemed to pick up strange vibrations. I have also been thinking of cutting down an Align 600N battery tray to fit in it. They seem to be a little more rigid.
Take the canopy mount and move it to the outside of the canopy underneath the nose. That often allows for the clearance needed for a front mount.
__________________
Atlanta RC Club, The only club inside the city.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SAB USA Team Pilot/Field Rep. Canomod USA Field Rep. Pulse Battery USA Field Rep.
alexmit is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:30 PM   #5
skunkworx
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,132
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA, USA
Default

I have both of mine mounted on the side as Down Low said. I will be putting an AR7200BX on one of them though because I feel that the wires running through the frame on my "little" one is causing some interactions. The "Big" one has the top aileron servo mounted incorrectly so there's a lot more room behind it to fit the wires and it doesn't have the same issue. (Yeah, yeah, yeah....I'm too lazy to correct it , but it does fly ok with it like that. It just has binding on some of the links).

I don't think I have any pics available otherwise I'd post them. Hopefully I can get on the AR7200 swap from my 6HV done this weekend and I can show both side-by-side.
__________________
Tim - Atom 500, 6HV, 3D+, eAurora
KBDD TEAM PILOT
Compass support/ProStarHobby.com
--Si vis pacem, para bellum--
skunkworx is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:14 PM   #6
Ruby
Registered Users
 
Posts: 15
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmit View Post
Take the canopy mount and move it to the outside of the canopy underneath the nose. That often allows for the clearance needed for a front mount.

Thanks Alexmit, I has the same problem with clearance and your suggestion work quite nicely. I will try it tomorrow to see if I still get tip over tendecies due to vibration.

Thanks Again
__________________
like planks but love rotors
Ruby is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:21 PM   #7
Inverse
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,281
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Australia
Default

Why don't you flip your electronics tray (on the nose) upside down and mount it there?
__________________
Compass 3D+ - OS55 Hyper/Hatori/Vbar
Atom 500
Tarot 450 Pro - AR7200BX
Spektrum DX8
Inverse is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:21 PM   #8
Ruby
Registered Users
 
Posts: 15
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverse View Post
Why don't you flip your electronics tray (on the nose) upside down and mount it there?
When you invert that nose tray, the plastic is not that stiff. I had so far three tip overs because of that location. One with a 3GX and two with the BeastX.
__________________
like planks but love rotors
Ruby is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:55 PM   #9
Inverse
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,281
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Australia
Default

So yeah, don't listen to me, Dan.
__________________
Compass 3D+ - OS55 Hyper/Hatori/Vbar
Atom 500
Tarot 450 Pro - AR7200BX
Spektrum DX8
Inverse is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 08:39 PM   #10
pete best
Registered Users
 
Posts: 230
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clayton, NC USA
Default

Here's a couple pics of mine. I have it mounted on the gyro tray. I ordered a new white canopy and have plenty of room. I also moved the lower canopy hook to the outside just for some added room. I did have it mounted up front with the battery tray flipped without problems myself. I only moved it after a self induced crash and had to fly for a few days with a cracked battery tray. I have ended up leaving it where it is now because I like it better this way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	beasttop.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	206.1 KB
ID:	344114   Click image for larger version

Name:	beastside.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	177.6 KB
ID:	344115   Click image for larger version

Name:	3dpluscanopy.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	234.3 KB
ID:	344116  
__________________
Greg Short
Compass Field Rep
Compass Odin 90 fbl, Compass Atom 5.5, Compass 3d+
Compass 7HV, Compass 6HV.
pete best is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:56 PM   #11
skunkworx
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,132
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA, USA
Default

Now that's using the 'ol noodle! I never would've though of that. Might make mounting the canopy up a lot easier because you can aim it easier from the side instead of looking down and through the skids/frame. I wonder if it'd help me fit my batteries in the 6HV better too? Well, got plenty of extra half-trashed lids sitting around I can experiment on!

One quick note though: Looks like your MBX is twisted a little in that pic. Might want to straighten it out as best as possible or you could end up with something akin to a phasing error because the axis is off-kilter to the frame axis. Just a helpful hint in case you didn't know already.
__________________
Tim - Atom 500, 6HV, 3D+, eAurora
KBDD TEAM PILOT
Compass support/ProStarHobby.com
--Si vis pacem, para bellum--
skunkworx is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:40 AM   #12
pete best
Registered Users
 
Posts: 230
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clayton, NC USA
Default

Yeah it's twisted a little bit. It helps me do funnels better. LOL. I noticed it Saturday when I was flying. I straightened it but the tape went back to crooked after sitting in my car in the heat. I will be retaping it tonight. Thanks for looking out.

You are correct on the bottom mount being easier to line up too since you can see it.
I need to change the mount on my 6hv also. My batteries clear fine but I'm having a little trouble finding the best place to tuck the wires. A 12 ga. "Y" connector with 3 EC-5's can take up a lot of space.

Greg
__________________
Greg Short
Compass Field Rep
Compass Odin 90 fbl, Compass Atom 5.5, Compass 3d+
Compass 7HV, Compass 6HV.
pete best is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:46 AM   #13
Ah Clem
Registered Users
 
Posts: 15,950
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

I mounted the BeastX to the radio tray up front, on the Odin II.

As the top of the tray slopes, I cast a mount out of JB Weld, in place, on the tray. The top of the mount is perpendicular to the main shaft, so the BeastX sits square with regard to the helicopter.

I will try to get a photograph, later.
__________________
KBDD-Team Pilot/ Team Compass/ ProStar Hobbies/ Team JR Americas/ Gens Ace Field Representative/ Robird Demo Pilot / Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50
Ah Clem is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:59 AM   #14
skunkworx
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,132
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete best View Post
My batteries clear fine but I'm having a little trouble finding the best place to tuck the wires. A 12 ga. "Y" connector with 3 EC-5's can take up a lot of space.
Not sure if you've ever seen how mine works, but it's worth a look: http://helifreak.com/showpost.php?p=3030076&postcount=5
__________________
Tim - Atom 500, 6HV, 3D+, eAurora
KBDD TEAM PILOT
Compass support/ProStarHobby.com
--Si vis pacem, para bellum--
skunkworx is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Model Helicopters > Odin and 3D+


Odin and 3D+ Compass Odin and 3D+ Model Helicopter Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com