Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2012, 09:05 AM   #21
Spunjah413
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,050
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: AR
Default

Any change or update notes?
__________________
MSH PRÔTOS
Rave Ballistic 635
Spunjah413 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:04 AM   #22
scott s
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: malabar fl
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbert View Post
Ow!! The software installation says, I cant have installed BeastX AND AR7200BX Software at the same time. Then it quits the installprocess.

As I have some microbeasts running, AR7200BX is obviously not an option anymore. sad ....
I have beastx software on my computer as I have 2 of them on helis and an ar7200bx on 2 others. I just followed all the directions in the how to and installed the ar7200 update no problem. My computer accepted the update file e-mailed to me and everything else. You must have made an error someplace.
scott s is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:50 AM   #23
hbert
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott s View Post
I just followed all the directions in the how to and installed the ar7200 update no problem.
As written via PM - I cant follow the instructions, as there are none. After the errormessage, the process ends.

just to make sure: I'm not talking about the update process concerning the hardware - im talking about the microsettings software.
hbert is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:22 AM   #24
dribbe
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinois
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasNyman View Post

Attention AR7200BX Users- Micro settings UPDATE NOW AVAILABLE! Click the link below for instructions on installing the Spektrum / BeastX software bundle.

**Allow up to 24 hours to receive instructional email**

http://spektrumrc.com/ProdInfo/Files/AR7200BX_Software_Update_How-To.pdf


As you can see, the update is up...
If I can paraphrase correctly, you need to UPDATE to 3.1 before MICROSETTINGS will interact with your 7200.

This is brand new, and tested well, but we will monitor for any issues that come up....

Regards,
David
__________________
Horizon Hobby Product Development
dribbe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:24 AM   #25
dribbe
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinois
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazinBones View Post
I agree, whats the point of the usb if there no use for it. Been waiting forever for them to come up with something new. Even Tarot yzx gives you full software. . This may very well be tha last year for me with the BX, unless they come out with SL or Bail Out.

For what??? Primarily for having the ability to use micro settings (which is a lot), phase angles, etc. for this release... the ability to do additional things in the future.

David
__________________
Horizon Hobby Product Development

Last edited by dribbe; 08-22-2012 at 12:51 PM..
dribbe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:26 AM   #26
dribbe
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinois
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteffenJ View Post
First of all the good new:

Please visit http://ar7200bx.beastx.com/ to get your Update to 3.1.0 + MicroSettings for your AR7200BX.

Please read and follow the instructions in the "How-To" carefully.

In the past there were some rumours if BEASTX and/or Spektrum are in charge of providing updates for the AR7200BX. I hope now it is once and for all clear, that this is done in close cooperation. This was the first step, the next one will be easier then.

For all the Mac-Users among us, there will be a software-package during this week.

The USB2SYS (BTXA76007) is also fine for the AR7200BX of course. I'm confident that there will be the Spektrum counterpart (SPMA3030) soon.
Hi Steffen,
Thanks for posting and making it clear that we are working together in close cooperation to provide updates! Thanks for your support. This is clearly the first hurdle to cross, and will pave the way for additional updates in the future.

Best Regards,
David
__________________
Horizon Hobby Product Development
dribbe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:29 AM   #27
dribbe
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinois
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasNyman View Post
Do i need to do the setup again if i update the firmware on ar7200bx?
The intent and testing is that the major settings are retained during the 3.1 update... we have tested open stock AR7200, B300 version, B450 version, etc.

That said, always do a thorough control/gyro/function check after doing a software update.

David
__________________
Horizon Hobby Product Development
dribbe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:37 AM   #28
SteffenJ
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Munich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbert View Post
Ow!! The software installation says, I cant have installed BeastX AND AR7200BX Software at the same time. Then it quits the installprocess.

As I have some microbeasts running, AR7200BX is obviously not an option anymore. sad ....
I've just double checked with my Win7 machine at home and it definetly works to install both on the same machine.

Please check if you really downloaded the file:
http://ar7200bx.beastx.com/software/...wareBundle.msi

Would be nice to get feedback on that issue.
__________________
BEASTX Development Team
SteffenJ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:42 PM   #29
hbert
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Default

I downloaded the software earlier today - and it was the old version! It works with the current version.
hbert is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 01:14 PM   #30
scott s
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: malabar fl
Default




HAR7200BX Software Update How-To
Downloading and Installing the Spektrum™/BeastX™ Software Bundle
1. Visit the BeastX website to download the Spektrum Software Bundle.
For Windows®:
http://ar7200bx.beastx.com/software/Windows/SpektrumSoftwareBundle.msi
For Mac®:
http://ar7200bx.beastx.com/software/MacOS/SpektrumSoftwareBundle.dmg
1. Save the Spektrum Software Bundle to your computer’s hard drive.
2. Double-click on the installer and follow the instructions.
Connecting the AR7200BX to Your Computer
1. Power OFF the AR7200BX.
2. Connect the Spektrum™ USB Interface or BeastX USB2SYS to your computer.
3. Connect the servo extension to the USB interface and the BND/DAT slot on the AR7200BX.
4. Power ON the AR7200BX.
Retrieving the AR7200BX Firmware
1. Open the BeastX Updater.
2. Select the appropriate USB-Interface.
3. Highlight and Copy your AR7200BX Serial Number.
4. Visit the AR7200BX product page at http://ar7200bx.beastx.com/.
5. Enter your email address and paste your AR7200BX Serial Number and click Submit.
6. You will receive an email with the latest AR7200BX software.
7. Save the firmware file on your computer’s hard drive.
Updating the AR7200BX Firmware
1. Open the BeastX Updater.
2. Connect and Power ON the AR7200BX.
3. Click "Open File…" and select the new firmware file.
IMPORTANT: DO NOT disconnect the USB interface or power off the AR7200BX during the update process.
4. Click "Start Update…" to install the firmware on the AR7200BX.
5. When the update processes is complete, power OFF the AR7200BX and disconnect the USB interface.
Using AR7200BX Microsettings application
1. Using the AR7200BX Microsettings requires version 3.1.0 or higher.
2. Refer to the updating instructions detailed above to update your AR7200BX to version 3.1.0.
3. Launch the AR7200BX Microsettings application.
4. Click "Connect" to modify the desired Setup Menu or Parameter Menu Settings.
 
5. Please refer to your Spektrum AR7200BX instruction manual for detailed programming.
6. Additional Microsettings features and instructions can be found at www.beastx.com.
©2012 Horizon Hobby, Inc.
The Spektrum trademark is used with permission of Bachmann Industries, Inc.
BeastX is a trademark of Markus Schaack and is used with permission. The Spektrum AR7200BX employs technology exclusively licensed to Horizon Hobby, Inc. from freakware GmbH. Windows® is a trademark or registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation. Mac® is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.
scott s is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 01:28 PM   #31
pgleesonuk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: England
Default

Where do I find my serial number?

Please don't tell me its on the bottom so I have to remove the AR7200BX to find it?
pgleesonuk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 01:33 PM   #32
scott s
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: malabar fl
Default

hbert, apparently you downloaded beastx software not spektrum. On page 3 this thread is the how to. All you can do is download the software as I don't think you have an ar7200 but trust me you can download it with regular beastx on your system. You just wont have a serial number to send to get the update for your ar7200 because you don't have one LOL. At least you will have it. It will show on your computer screen as microsettings with ar7200bx under it and you will also get another beastx updater on your screen . I dont think it makes a difference which updater you use but for microsettings you must use ar7200 for the ar and beastx microsettings for beastx unit. I don't know how to help any more than this.
scott s is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 01:35 PM   #33
scott s
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: malabar fl
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pgleesonuk View Post
Where do I find my serial number?

Please don't tell me its on the bottom so I have to remove the AR7200BX to find it?
read the how to I posted on page 3! It is loaded in your ar7200bx and you need to plug into it after downloading the software bundle and installing on your hard drive.
scott s is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 01:46 PM   #34
pgleesonuk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: England
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott s View Post
read the how to I posted on page 3! It is loaded in your ar7200bx and you need to plug into it after downloading the software bundle and installing on your hard drive.
Ooops, sorry. I assumed it would be a physical label
pgleesonuk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 08:21 PM   #35
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

So I need to buy a 30 dollar usb cable? I guess that isn't bad. I am to new so micro settings make no since to me, lol. I would like to know what versions I have, I have a 450x, bought early upon release, and a brand new 300X.
I guess since I haven't a clue about micro settings, I don't need it?
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:40 PM   #36
ahahn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradharvy View Post
So I need to buy a 30 dollar usb cable? I guess that isn't bad. I am to new so micro settings make no since to me, lol. I would like to know what versions I have, I have a 450x, bought early upon release, and a brand new 300X.
I guess since I haven't a clue about micro settings, I don't need it?
No, you don't need it. You can fly with what you have. A lot of people simply do that, both with the BeastX and the AR7200BX setups. They don't use the micro-settings.

However, you do need the link to apply any future firmware updates.

As far as I understand, this particular AR7200BX update basically allow you to run the microsetting software, but doesn't have any actual performance updates over what comes default with the 450X and 30X (or the bare AR7200BX) units. The default software has been claimed by Horizon Hobbies to be equivalent to the latest BeastX FBL firmware.

Of course in the future, there could be performance updates (like a rumored governor), and then you might consider how "needy" you would be. Of course you could buy the cable then.
ahahn is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:11 PM   #37
johnbs8
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,478
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: roseville MI
Default

I spoke with the spektrum guys aboit the ar7200bx and they confirmed they are working on a gov for this model. Its still a little way out but thats awsome news.
__________________
Titan X50B : YS56sr GP Pipe, Tracx600 FBL, AR7200BX, Ds610 X4, DS650, Pushglo and compass 615mm FBL
Titan X50T : Ys56sr SAB-55 Pipe, Tracx600 FBL, AR7200BX, DS8717 X3, BLS251, Pushglo Radix V2 625mm FBL
johnbs8 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:32 PM   #38
Inverse
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,263
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteffenJ View Post
The USB2SYS (BTXA76007) is also fine for the AR7200BX of course. I'm confident that there will be the Spektrum counterpart (SPMA3030) soon.
Hopefully cheaper than the Bx option.
Hoping for the same price as the AS3X cable but I somehow doubt it.
__________________
Compass 3D+ - OS55 Hyper/Hatori/Vbar
Atom 500
Tarot 450 Pro - AR7200BX
Spektrum DX8
Inverse is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 01:20 AM   #39
WindupRobot
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Francisco
Default

Why the email song and dance? Why not just let people download it. It's not like the download has any value without the physical device to run it on.
__________________
Blade: mCPX2 (x2), 130X, 300X (inbound), 450X
Align 450 DFC, 700E HV DFC - both AR7200BX
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

DX8

Last edited by WindupRobot; 09-07-2012 at 08:59 PM.. Reason: typo
WindupRobot is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com